Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Royal Point Academy

Private | PK-5 & ungraded | 2014 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $134,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2014

This school is an absolute blessing for our child and our family! We originally were looking for a daycare but our friends told us to check the school out. Not only is it favorable for our budget, it's a great place for our child. Their curriculum is advanced and our child has learned sooooo much! We feel like the teachers are part of our family and trust them completely. If you are shopping around for a school or daycare(ages 3 and up) you should definitely visit or call royal point academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

This school allows my children to learn in a small classroom setting giving my child the attention he needs to excel in a challenging academic curriculum along with Christian values. The teacher are supportive and the cost definitely favorable for most family budgets and is worth the investment for what you get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

This schoool has a small classroom setting giving my child the attention he needs. it does have a challenging academic curriculum, but what parent doesnt want thier child challanged. The teachers are supportive and the cost definitely great for tight budgets. Chapel or bible time is a strong belief as this is a church based school, but the Pastors and prinicpal and teachers are awesome. i know that i can 110% trust them with my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2014

Royal Point Academy was such a blessing to find. I have two kids enrolled at the school. They love going to school every day. The teachers are amazing. They are loving and caring and teach with passion. My kids have learned so much more than I hoped for and it's fun for them. The parents are always kept involved in all they do. The student to teacher ratio is small and that gives them more personal attention. I reviewed and/or visited other private schools, charter schools and a public school and this was by far the best option. They teach them morals, respect and manners on top of a great school curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2014

Ever heard of diamond in the rough? This is that school!!! My daughter has gone there for 2 years and couldn't have been happier than the care and education she received there. Teachers are very caring and loving and really look out for the well being and children's best interest. Class sizes are pretty well proportioned with student teacher ratio. The Abeka program is great and my child has adapted to it well. I really feel that this experience is a great start for her =) Thank you teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2014

This is a fabulous private Christian school located in the city yet maintaining a small town charm. We fell in love with it after enrolling our 4 year old in preschool. He's already writing in cursive, reading basic words and learning addition. Every day he comes home with new lessons learned both in school and about the Bible. The classrooms are small enough that the students are all close and the teachers have ample time to spend on their individual learning strengths and weaknesses. I am so happy to have found this quaint school and can't wait for my other kids to enroll once they get older.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2014

I have been so happy with my son's development and learning since attending Royal Point Academy. This school lacks of the drama and issues found in larger facilities such as large classroom sizes, politically-focused teachers and rampant bullying among students. Royal Point's dedication to the Bible and Abeka Curriculum is seen in my son every day. His ability to communicate, play, socialize and learn has grown in the school's simple setting. I would highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2013

A GREAT school has Excellent teachers; Strong Principal/School leadership & challenging academic programs; RPA has all 3 & above all else they are a BIBLE based Christian School with the love God being instilled into my child every single day! We couldn t be happier with academic program that is being taught, my 3 year old is exceling in phonics & writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

My child has been attending Royal Point Academy for years and I have been nothing but pleased! The classes are small which gives more time for the one on one that is needed and I really believe that this has helped my child in many ways. The teachers & staff love my child as it she was their own and go over and above to make all the children feel accepted and special. They stand firmly on their christian beliefs which is communicated to us parents before the child even begins attending the school. Before my child was attending my family and I were not serving the Lord. After a year of seeing such a huge difference in my child we decided to visit their church and I am now proud to say that we are now still attending and are very involved there. i thank the Lord for leading me and my family to Royal Point Academy and I am looking forward to many more awesome years!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

This is the third year that my child has attended this school. At 4 years old he was reading. He has the best cursive writing I've ever seen (child and adult)! He's thrived since he's been here. The staff are great & always keep me informed. They do expect alot from your child, but I don't see anything wrong with that--so do I! This is the place to enroll your child if you want him/her to excell spiritually and educationally!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2011

I feel my children's education is lacking. I never feel well informed on the studies of my older child. I have the same teacher teaching my seventh grader and fourth grader because earlier in the year the fourth grade teacher was let go. The teacher just yesterday got upset with my fourth grader because she states he cannot read and follow instructions and per my fourth grader the teacher got upset with him and squashed his work in her hands and threw it in the trash in front of him and then later takes it out of the trash and attached a warning slip to the work that is now all crumbled stating that at this rate he runs the risk of not passing if this is not corrected and we only have two and a half weeks left of school. Everyone in the administrative office is not on the same page. I have found that as long as you don t disagree with the staff everything is fine but once you do the majority of the staff turns against you. With this friction, I fear for the education and care of my kids. Are the teacher and staff treating my children any different just because of a disagreement with me as the parent?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

You need to be careful the school has the children do what they call soaking. Sometimes this last until 10:30. They push their beliefs on the children. Be careful before you send your kids here. Ask a lot of questions if you do and show up a lot in the mornings to see what they are teaching for bible. Also some of the teachers do not know how to treat children. Some of their rules are outrages; they like to give 1st and 2nd graders detention. They take recess time from your child if the parent does not sign the steno this is in prek-6th grade. Who has heard of punishing a little child for what a parent did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

My son spent a half year at this school. His teacher treated the children like they were in highschool. They take recess from your child if the steno is not sign by the parent. Will give a 1st and 2nd grader detention for not completing homework. They aslo give detentions if your child is tardy in prek-6th grade. I dont think it is right to punish the child if they are tardy because of the parent. The also paddle your child. I believe a child should be obedient but this teacher took it to the limits. His teacher was rude and mean to the children. I agree with the other person. Please pray that the lord leads you to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

Parents please beware of this school. Things look great on the outside, but there is alot of things that go on during the day that you dont know about. Please, Please pray that God will lead you to a different school.


Posted May 24, 2010

What a wonderful private school. Student ratio is about 8-10 per class. The teachers are amazing. They go above and beyond. My 4yr old can quote memory verses, he is writing in cursive, can count to 100, and is already reading. The school goes on quarterly field trips like the rodeo, the zoo, the pumpkin patch, and the movies! They have a before and after school program for the kids. And ony charge $250 a month!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

This school is an A+ school. If you are wanting a warm, loving, Christian environment that is structured and disciplined, this is the school for your children. My children have been there since Kinder and we love it. It is affordable and the teachers are wonderful. I will not send my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 51%
Black 32% 13%
White 26% 31%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9965 Kriewald Rd.
San Antonio, TX 78245
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 674-5310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fisher Elementary School
San Antonio, TX





Glenn Elementary School
San Antonio, TX


Behlau Elementary School
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT