Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Northwest Hills Christian School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2008

An awesome school with high standards, which is what you expect from a private school. Director, staff and teachers are caring and loving. Glad my children are attending a great school and learning in a Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

Thank you to the Director, The office and all the staff. Your work is appreciated. This is a great school . The standards are excellent. The Christian environment is wonderful for all children.


Posted May 29, 2008

If you want your children to not end up in a pychiatrist's chair when they get older avoid this school like the plague! I have had children in this school for several years now, and have to say that there is absolutly no accountibility. The focus is compltly off Christ and cmpltly on pushing the kids to act and do work at a college level. 2 hours of homework a night is unaceptable! Go with public school. you pay the taxes! and go to a good bible preaching church.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

My son has attended this school for 4 years. I am shocked reading the comment about 'perfection'? The standards are high but why shouldn't they be? If you choose to pay for your children's education (even though you still pay public school taxes) you should expect higher standards. The teachers and administrators know all the students by name. The children learn respect and self control and they learn about God. My son loves his school and teachers and I love that although no one is ever perfect, he tries hard and does his best. GREAT SCHOOL. I am very proud to be part of this school and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

Horrible! If your children aren't perfect, then you better think twice! The Director has no people skills what-so-ever and their Teachers are no better. I was hoping my child would benefit by attending this school but unfortunately, it was a complete nightmare!


Posted February 14, 2008

My son attended from K - 8th grade. Best thing we ever did. He is now graduating with top honors from a private high school, thanks to the ABeka curriculum. Teachers are excellent with their first priority are their students. Highly recommended
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2006

My children attended this school for several years and the curriculum is excellent for PK-5, but falls short for students from 6-8. School is so small, the library is no larger than a closet & there is no science lab. Anyone can participate in sports, however, teams are completely non-competitive. Lots of favoritism with teachers/students. No talking allowed in the lunch room or in P.E., not much socialization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

Northwest Hills Christian School has high standards for its students. Unfortunately the standards are up around 'perfection,' with not much room for error. High expectations would be fine, except that the teachers, themselves, do not even meet such standards. As a teacher at another school, and as a guardian, I have to say that what I have observed of this school is that they teach by testing. This is the Middle School I am referring to. The students are required to figure things out for themselves with little or no modeling of new concepts or techniques. The Middle School A Beka reading program, I am convinced, exists only to zap all the joy out of reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

Outstanding organization and wonderful transition for my son who went from public to private for several issues. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2005

The staff is knowledgable and the facilities are well-equipped
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2004

I attended this school for only 3 months and I have to admit that it was a great expirience. I not only learn about school, but also about life and God. I thank Mrs. Coleman and Ms. Janice for giving me the apportunity to assist this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 51%
White 37% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Black 7% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
  • SBACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8511 Heath Circle Dr
San Antonio, TX 78250
Phone: (210) 522-1102

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Elrod Elementary School
San Antonio, TX


Connally Middle School
San Antonio, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT