Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

7-12|Private
185 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Winston School San Antonio
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Ms Samantha Bos for making my son want to get up and go to school every morning - her ability to teach him how he needed to learn enabled him to enjoy class and thrive in a positive learning environment.

The Winston School San Antonio 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Provides a positive learning environment that allowed students with different learning styles to thrive in a nurturing academic environment.


The Winston School San Antonio
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
All the teachers are exceptional, dedicated and with a depth and breadth of knowledge of their students and their learning styles that is second to none at this world class and unique school for kids with Learning differences. I have spent the most time this year with Katherine Johnson who has decades of experience and who has a knowledge of my child that only a parent would usually have...I adore and appreciate everything she has done for my son and all the kids in her care this year. He has changed beyond words and belief. THANK YOU!

The Winston School San Antonio 4

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
My son started at Winston as a bright child who had been beaten down by an imperfect public school system. Despite his obvious intelligence, he was not thriving in an academic environment where 24 students to a class is the norm. Winston has provided him with an intimate setting that nurtures his abilities and champions his successes. His confidence in himself has grown exponentially through the support and encouragement of a gifted team of educators who actually get to know each student and can take the time needed to ensure that needs are met so that challenges then can be met and overcome.

The Winston School San Antonio
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 13, 2016
- a parent
They area seasoned, exceptionally qualified teachers for kids with a variety of Learning differences with theabilityto teach for all the differences. My Son now ranks outside teachers/tutors or coaches on their teaching abilities and if he gets one that teaches "like they do at Winston" he knows he is in great hands. The Winston teachers are Kind, caring, compassionate, patient and gifted teachers who will know your child to the depth that only a parent would - never before have we experienced this from a school environment - it's outstanding what they provide to their students.


The Winston School San Antonio
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 13, 2016
- a parent
Homework is no longer a 3-4 hour battleground since joining Winston. My son is now able to pursue his own interests which were all on hold during term time in prior schools because he was unable to do both and school came first.. His interests are often academic growth and pursued after school with teachers. He chooses to do additional academics now rather than being stuck with hours of tedious repetitions from homework.

The Winston School San Antonio
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 13, 2016
- a parent
An unequivocal YES! Deomonstrated daily since starting at The Winston School and the prof is in the dramatic turnaround in grades! Thank you Winston!

The Winston School San Antonio 5

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
I am a parent of The Winston School of San Antonio, which is a school of excellence almost beyond words. My eldest son (14) has ADHD and CAPD and will say, with great relief "mom, I don't know what I would have done if you hadn't found Winston for me". He has gone from starting to fail at middle school, to thriving beyond our wildest imaginations for him. He is strong in STEM with a serious curiosity and love of all things electric, lighting, mechanical, computing or robotic. After a short time at school he had confidence to sign up to the Robotics club and the soccer club (he has NEVER attended an after school event before Winston). He has this zest for learning that is remarkable and something we haven't seen in him since pre-school. He also plays on the school soccer team and had a great time with lots of practices and games. At Middle School, Dr Karulak assists with the soccer team and it is amazing to see him with the kids. He instinctively knows what each kid needs, whether it is a high-5, a hug or arm slung around the shoulder and a quiet word. The exceptional nature of the staff here, starts right with him. My son cannot wait to start football in High School next school year. My son was always bright, looked to be underperforming in school and struggled with nightly homework. The change in him is beyond words and the gratitude I feel to the Winston School and the way they have worked with not only my son, but my entire family tells you so much about the warmth, dedication and experience of these seasoned teachers. If you have a bright child with a learning difference or suspected learning differences, I recommend The Winston School of San Antonio. My experience is: that after my son had time to heal from prior school experiences and with the positive, nurturing, all encompassing teaching styles - that he has grown fast academically not only to his strengths, but also building his confidence and abilities in the areas that are hard for him such as reading and writing. After being at Winston for less than a yr he takes genuine pride in his academics and achievements, something that is new for us and pours over into all aspects of his life. He is thriving.


The Winston School San Antonio
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 15, 2015
- a student
Bullying is extremely common, when reported the school staff typically said it was none of their business.

The Winston School San Antonio
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 15, 2015
- a student
Students frequently bully other students, teachers openly gossip with other students about student and faculty.

Nearby schools

The Winston School San Antonio
8565 Ewing Halsell Drive, San Antonio, TX  78229
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (210) 615-6544
Last modified The Winston School San Antonio is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Top