Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Castle Hills First Baptist School

Private | PK-12 | 424 students

Our school is best known for the college prep curriculum and Bible teaching.
 
 

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 27 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

65 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2011

Our family has been at the school for 8 years. We have had a daughter graduate and attend college. She was well prepared for her college courses and is doing great in college. We have two children still at CHFBS and we are very happy with the challenging curriculum, the Bible teaching, and the elective and sports options available. There is a warm and friendly family environment every time I walk in the door and the students enjoy spending time at the school. The teachers spend time getting to know the students and are faithful in teaching them their identity in Christ. This is an amazing school and we look forward to seeing our other two children graduate from Castle Hills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

I have had one of my children at CHFBS for five yers. I have found a very caring, loving, CHRIST centered faculity and staff. They are very supportive and communicate well. You know that your child will be educated and exposed to only positive influences while being nutured in Christian values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

My oldest son first attended CHFBC preschool and has been at CHFBS from Kinder and is now in second grade. The love that the teachers have for the students, for learning, and for God makes the school a fantastic place. My son is a high achiever and has been kept challenged and stimulated in all areas of study. Sometimes he is ahead of the class and then the teachers slightly modify the assignment to be more challenging. My youngest son is moving from the preschool to Kinder in 2011 and we are so excited to have him start in this great school. The new superintendant is fantastic and has great vision of where God wants him to take the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

We love this school! This school is the best choice for our family. Our children are getting first class education plus an excellent spiritual foundation that correlates to the spiritual foundation at our home. This school builds character with leadership. The administrators and teachers are dedicated and first rate and the athletic department is superior!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

I am so proud of the beautiful job they are doing by instilling the three R's and the love of the Word of God. I am blown away by the charisma and ideas that our brand new superintendent has for evolving CHFBS into one that abundantly exceeds my expectations. Mr. Pinkston has a vision for GREATNESS! He is so passionate and inspiring. I am thrilled about what CHFBS currently is, yet I cannot wait to see what is to come! I am a public school science teacher, have taught at some of the "best" public high schools in town, and know what programs are available. I also know the dangers that lurk around every corner for the hearts, minds and bodies of my students. However, what CHFBS has to offer in Spiritual education and protection is eternally priceless, beyond the rigor of academia. My daughter HATES to EVER miss school. She is treated with love by her teachers and has excelled in everything she does. She can read almost anything and is only at the beginning of her Spring sem. of 1st grade. She s taught about honor, character, kindness, obedience, attentiveness, initiative, etc. She has a breadth and understanding of the love of God that most adults I know do not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

I attended Castle Hills Fist Baptist School from Kinder garden all the way to my Senior year back in 2007. I had the choice in going to other schools but I really liked Castle Hills and I loved the education and care that the staff gave me and my fellow peers. I have Dyslexia and Castle Hills helped me over come my condition. I m now finishing up my Senior year in college and doing a part time Marketing internship on the side. If it were not for my roots I would not be so fortunate, Castle Hills gave me a lot and the least I could do is write this brief review.


Posted November 5, 2009

I attended Castle Hills First Baptist School from the time I was around 18 months old until my freshman year of high school. Although I would agree that the spiritual aspects of the school are enriching, the overall control of the student body is more than a little chaotic. With staff constantly changing from year to year and very inexperienced teachers, this school seems unstable to say the least. Many classes are taught by teachers that either do not seem to have a passion for teaching or simply do not have an extensive background in education. I would recommend CHS for it's elementary school program because it does to lay the solid Christian foundation desired from a private Christian school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2009

During our first year here, my daughter was in 1st grade and we have seen her grow into a confident, happy and excited to learn little girl. This was after a disappointing experience the previous year at a Catholic School where she attended Kindergarten. New to San Antonio coming from Dallas, I picked CHFBS because I knew that if my daughter first built a solid Christian foundation of principles then the right wisdom of knowledge would follow. I immediately felt she would get that in my interview with the Administrative staff who welcomed us with open arms knowing we were always going to have a watchful eyes on the school. The administrative staff is great because they are truly an example of what the school's vision is for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

Great School. Right on target with teaching a biblical worldview. Teachers love the kids. Great preparation for college!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

This school lacks life skills. I have a son in middle school and he comes home every night with more homework than my daughter who is in HIGH SCHOOL!


Posted January 1, 2009

The best school for a christian family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2008

Horrible school. If you graduate and can get into a decent college, you won't be able to follow the curriculum because the CHFBC curriculum hasn't prepared you for the real world of math or science, nor even history or social studies. You probably won't get into college anyways, because the curriuculum is so lacking. Doesn't anyone out there care that our students aren't even getting a BASIC education in anything at this school? No wonder we can't compete in the modern world, if math and social studies isn't being taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

1. High turnover of teachers. 2. Teachers unable to control their classrooms. 3. Inexperienced teachers. 4. Poor communication between administration/teachers and parents. 5. Unfriendly teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

I am an alumni of CHFBC and Concordia University graduate. I can say that the faculty are the most caring educators! I would strongly encourage parents who are deciding on a good moral foundation for their children is to enroll them into Caste Hills First Baptist. CHFBC instilled in me a sense of moral value and a desire for success!


Posted May 7, 2007

As a recent student of Castle Hills and just finishing my first year of Baylor University. Castle Hills taught me great social skills and a great spiritual foundation. I have great morals thanks to CHS but academics could improve and there is few athletics.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 4, 2007

This was my daughter's first year at CHFBS. The small student to teacher ratio has given her the opportunity to have the positive attention that she needs. The school has a very loving and nurturing environment. I feel that my child is getting a strong biblical and educational foundation. Parent/Teacher communication has been excellent this year. Even in Kindergarten the students are exposed to so much! They have Spanish, computer classes, as well as music twice a week. She will be returning in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2007

Our academic programs are still lacking, NHS has fallen through and has yet to recover. We are still lacking in a football team, baseball team, and our soccer team may soon disappear. High school parents rarely attend school functions or school prayer meetings. Fortunately, this is not the case with our elementary parents. Though these comments may seem grim, we must remember that things could quickly change for the best if our management improves.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2006

My personal view is that of a student, who sees many areas, which are in desperate need of improvement.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 19, 2006

This is by far the best school I know of to send children of Christian families. The faculty is supurb.They are an extremely loving and dedicated group of Christians that treat each child as an individual responsibility. Those that have children of their own send them here. I can hardly get over how much love and respect the children have for each other. I am proud that we are a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

K-4 is wonderful program. It's a perfect mix of strong academics and preschool-appropriate fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 31%
Hispanic 29% 51%
Black 7% 13%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Christian PreSchool
Other Christian Schools
Public Schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 13% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 87% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Robotics Award (2010)
  • Math Olympics (2013)
  • Speech Meet (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Career Day twice a year
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Michael Pinkston
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ABS
  • ACSI
  • SBACS
Fax number
  • (210) 377-8473

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Career Day twice a year
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Athletic Booster Club
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Castle Hills offers a Christian education and a college prep curriculum with highly qualified faculty and staff. Our mission is to lead students, in partnership with parents, to know Christ and to make Christ known. Students have the opportunity to excel in the fine arts, academics and athletics and to participate and serve in their school and in the community. The Academy of Excellence and Leadership Development offers a school within a school where students learn servant leadership.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
100
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
150
Students typically come from these schools
Christian PreSchool
Other Christian Schools
Public Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Career Day twice a year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 13%
4 year college - 87%
Military - 0%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2220 NW Military Hwy
San Antonio, TX 78213
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 377-8485

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Antonian College Prep
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT