Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Christian Schools

Private | PK-12 | 950 students

CCS offers a full-spectrum curriculum with STEAM emphasis, fine arts & athletics
 
 

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $199,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 14, 2009

My children absolutely love attending Cornerstone. We have had a very positive experience. This school has a spirit of excellence in all they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

Last year was my daughter's first year at a private school and I must say that as a parent I was very disappointed with CCS. Their lack of communication with us parents and the attitudes we recieved from the office staff anytime we needed help. Not to mention the unexusable lack of discipline of the students and teachers as well. I would never recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

i love this school i go there and ever since they got there new administration our academics and athletics have progressed greatly. i highly recommend this school especially if you are looking for scholarships and excellent colleges. our school has gotten over 2 million dollars in scholarships in the 08-09 school year
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2009

As a teacher at Cornerstone Christian Schools, I have to say that the changes being made in all areas of the school are amazing. The school is definitely headed in the right direction. Specifically, fantastic changes are being made in the academic programs. The school will soon implement a version of S.T.E.M., and special education and technology coordinators have been hired. The special education program will serve minor learning disabilities for the first year, and then it will be reevaluated to see what else can be included. The boarding program will house only international students whose sole priority is a quality christian education. All in all, choosing Cornerstone is a fantastic choice for families. I am proud to be a member of the CCS family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 25, 2008

I have 2 sons, one in elementary and one in middle school, they love this school! We moved to San Antonio in Aug.07 and my children had never gone to a private school, so they were very nervous. The other students welcomed and embraced my boys. They made A-B's in public school and they continue to make A-B's at Cornerstone. They tell me that they'll never leave! They are not outstanding sportsmen, but they play many sports and have never been treated unfairly because of their skill level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

I have two children attending CCS elementary school. The oldest started in K-5 and is now in his 5th yr at CCS. With God's blessing both my children will be graduates of CCS. I would definitely recommend CCS to any parent desiring a excellent education in a Christian environment. Academically: Great School. The curriculum is demanding. It does prepare the children for college. Homework is assigned a min.of 4 days out of the week. The children are taught above their grade level. Extracurricular activities: Great. Excellent Music teacher. The kids have every opportunity to participate in various sports. Art is also part of the curriculum. Parent involvement: Outstanding. You can guarantee a full house at any of the events throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2006

As someone who is not a parent of a Cornerstone student, but as a former employee of Cornerstone, I have very little good to say about this school. I think that most of the teachers have good intentions, but are thwarted by the lack of respect behind the scenes. I am ashamed to admit that I ever worked for Cornerstone.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 9, 2006

There focus is on the sports program! Do not send your child to this school, you will soon regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

I am a parent of a first grader at cornerstone. We have been there since pre-k. There have been a lot of changes. The teachers are more concerned with behavior than academics this year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

Good students and teachers with small class sizes. Overall a good experience, but you may have to deal with a bunch of politics.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 12, 2005

Although everyone seemed extremely nice, the feedback I received was more about the obedience of my child than educational progress. Since my child had no obedience problems, this wasn't what we were looking for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2005

I have been attending CCS for 10 years now, and there's no way my parents could ever convince me to leave. There have been teachers every year who has given me a hard time, but CCS has an excellent staff in general, and they are always willing to help. Their programs for athletics, academics, and extracurricular activities are of the highest quality, as are the school's facilities. It really is a perfect school to go to for twelve years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2005

My child attends Cornerstone and I have been disappointed in the administration. There has been several teachers released during the school year without any type of notice until they were gone. I see that the sports are only reserved for the highly gifted and talented and those who want to participate aren't allowed. I will not be allowing my child to return for another year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2004

I love Cornerstone. My kids go there and they love it. They love being able to go to chapel and being able to be touched by God everyday. Being in a christian enviornment has changed my life as well as thiers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2004

I am a single mother with two children enrolled at CCS. Everyday I thank God that my children are able to attend such a fine school. They have each been at CCS for over 6 years. The teachers are dedicated and knowledgeable for the regular students. The teachers have high expectations of the students and parental involvement as well. The school is also very organized and well run. Most of all, CCS is a school that provides a exceptional Christian environment for the students. It is not a school that specializes in special education for those needing extra help, maybe someday it will be. Thanks CCS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2004

My son atteneded from kindergarten thru part of third grade. They do not offer help for kids who have trouble academically or need tutoring. I was basically ignored as I sought for help and solutions, I had to take him out despite not wanting to because of lack of support and help. I loved having him in a christian environment, and now that he's not, I can really see the difference but his self esteem was plumeting because he could not keep up. I thought being a christ centered school they would show more concern and see the need to address this problem. I was very disappointed and my son greatly misses the school and friends! P.S. I took him out in 2001
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

My son has been at CCS for 2 years now; and in my research about the school, I have discovered there are no opportunities for the advanced or help for the one who does not excel; there are no average stats or numbers on the children's performance and the academic resources are very limited. My son is very bright, but he is not challenged. I am not very happy, but I keep my son there because he does excel academically, and mostly, because Jesus Christ is the foundation of all their learning. I'm a very concerned parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I am a parent, but not to a student there. I attended cornerstone from the year it opened until I graduated in 2000. I have seen it transform into a great school. I walked away with more than a diploma, but life long friends, great memories, and above everything else, a relationship with God.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 51%
White 25% 31%
Two or more races 23% 2%
Black 9% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Flag girls
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
  • Vietnamese
  • multiple others
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College Fair
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • Summer college prep programs
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Jerry Eshleman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • Website
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (210) 979-0310

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Internships
  • STEM
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
  • Vietnamese
  • multiple others
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • Industrial / graphic design

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College Fair
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Flag girls
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Marching band
  • Missions
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Teen Advisory
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Booster Clubs
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We invite you to discover the Cornerstone difference! Students are invited to shadow current students in order to truly understand the life of a Warrior. CCS is a safe, loving environment that also provides the finest in Christian education the areas of science, technology, engineering, art and math. We are excited to offer a Kinder Campus in the Stone Oak area, located at 18755 Stone Oak Parkway.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
875
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
1000

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
Summer college prep programs
College Fair
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4802 Vance Jackson Rd
San Antonio, TX 78230
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 979-9203

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jackson Middle School
San Antonio, TX



Antonian College Prep
San Antonio, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT