Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Reagan High School

Public | 9-12 | 2955 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $241,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,130.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

It's not a terrible school but clearly not a GREAT one. Especially for the average student that's also new to SAT. The distractions are huge and extremely overwhelming to a child that wants to fit in socially. My advice; know your child first before enrollment. Your child must be very independent and extremely secure within themselves to THRIVE at Reagan. We had to remove our child from NEISD to a school system that takes the time to understand and develop each child while also providing the right level of support and guidance parents expect every child to receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2014

I am currently a sophomore at Reagan and have gotten to know the school pretty well. Although I do love Reagan, it does have some flaws. This school is very competitive, many teachers do choose favorites, extra-curricular activities are expensive to the point many people who want to do them can not,etc. I also have experienced Pre-AP classes, although I have switched some to regular classes because the lack of attention from some teachers and the expectation of perfection among teachers(mostly English teachers). I understand that not everything can be perfect and that Reagan does have flaws, but I wouldn't choose any other school to attend. RATTLER FOREVER!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2014

Reagan is an awesome school. As a current junior there I have experienced very much of the school. The teachers work very diligently to teach and get the job done. Although, some departments are completely ridiculous. The computer science (pre AP/AP) program is hysterical. As a current student in the pre AP course I can honestly say that me and a very large portion of just my class, and all other classes have not learned one thing and are typically given answers by the teacher beforehand. A 5th grader would perhaps do just as good on one of our "coding" tests as I would, because it would be a matter of who is a better guesser. Also, another issue is the foreign language department. This is not Reagan's issue but simply the districts. I took 4 years of Spanish from middle to high school and if I were to visit a foreign country I'd feel more comfortable doing sign language then attempting to speak Spanish. The department is very unfunded, with teachers who barely speak English themselves and assume you already know Spanish! About the only thing you learn is vocabulary and how to form verbs into past, present, and future.. Not how to form sentences or actually carry on a conversation.


Posted October 1, 2013

Reagan High School is the best. There is a lot of parent involvement. The band is great. Colorguard is spectacular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

Reagan is an excellent high school. It is a place where kids do not have to be the most popular to be successful, where the arts programs are very good, and the Advanced Placement courses are outstanding. Prior to moving to San Antonio, we lived in Fairfax County, Virginia, and the Cerritos / Cypress areas of Southern California. We have high academic expectations. Our son will take a total of 20 AP exams at Reagan. He not found these AP classes overcrowded, and he has always received the level of attention and support he has needed to be successful. The reasonable level of homework and the more balanced lifestyle here in South Texas means that he gets more sleep and has less stress than he would have in Virginia or California. Since the athletic programs are strong at Reagan, I was concerned that there might be negative stereotypes for academic kids. Not true. My son has a wide range of friends from the athletes to the artists. As I write this review,, our son has been admitted today to 2 top Ivy League colleges, and he is very well prepared to be academically and socially successful. I can think of no better place for him to have attended high school than Reagan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

I moved to the area from Schertz so my daughter could attend Reagan when she decided she didn't want to stay in her private school. Great school and I think it's just as strong or stronger than private schools (academically). It is tough though. You need to be in AP courses with high A's if you want to have a chance to be in the top 10% of the class. I think it will prepare my daughter well for college, but she isn't going to be in the top 10%, which may keep her from attending the school of her choice. At any other high schools in the San Antonio area she would be in the top 10%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2012

This is a school for the masses. Academic competition is so high that my son feels bad for having a 92 average and poor class rank. Teachers clearly encourage the competition to the point where it is only a competition to see who can cheat the most efficiently, or who is willing to run themselves ragged, losing hope of a well rounded high school experience. The student body as well as faculty/staff are quick to judge/profile. Don't expect individualists to thrive here. Fine arts programs are not up to par with Texas standards, and have fallen from what the once supposedly were. School leadership was essentially non existent in my experience. If you are looking to give your child a useful high school education, instead of a forced competition unrealistic numbers, alongside almost no personal attention (due to massive student population), I would recommend looking elsewhere. The "AP" classes are so full, the teachers are unable to teach to critical thinkers. Reagan high school is a prime example of the need for reform in the American educational system. A strong football program and flat screen TV's in the cafeteria, on the other hand, seem to be the schools essential strengths.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

The Best H S in San Antonio!! Excellent staff & Challenging academic programs. That prepares students well for college. My son graduated in 2011 and is attending to UT Austin. And my daughter a senior this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

When we moved to San Antonio in 2007, we were looking forward for the EXCEPTIONAL characteristics that Reagan H.S. has advertised nationwide, statistics are excellent every website searched on. Yes, it has full academic curriculums, all kinds of activities, athletics very important for those who are competitive by nature; everything you're looking for your child, they have it. Our experience is with Special Education; not quite exceptional as I expected. My child experienced a lot of bullying every single year he attended, academically my son didn't progress; he even forgot all multiplication facts due to lack of usage in the class, assistant teachers were too busy taking care of the regular students than the ones with special needs. Oh, don't expect regular students hanging out with yours if he has a disability. Labeling is quick! Other than that, they do have great football team, they have a huge PTA where the same parents are involved all the time, no room for others to take lead, competition is high in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

Reagan High School is a well rounded school with something for everyone. If you are considering this school I would HIGHLY recommend it. Other schools in the district are nice yet none stand out as much as Reagan.The acdemics are great. You can have a 100 average and not even be in the top 10% because everyone is so smart. Also football was amazing this year from being district champs to making it into the 4th round in play offs. Reagan has pretty much every sport you can think of from volleyball to lacross. And they are very good in those sports as well. The Reagan campus is quite pretty for a school.This year they passed a bond for them to build a new wing / building and redo the athletic building. I'm not sure when they will construct that but it will be very nice. One of the only cons of Reagan is that the school is so large with 2600+ kids. But it is nice in ways because there is so many people to meet. Reagan tends to get a repatation that they are rich snobby kids but I go here and trust me everyone is normal. Also stone oak is an amazing area to live in. Everything is pretty much new and beautiful. I hope that you will choose to live in stone oak area and attend Reagan:)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2010

I moved to SA from Houston. My children entered Reagan based partly on what many had sid about the school. As a teacher myself, I was shocked to see how far behind it is from other places that we know. I found the staff, parents and students very resistent to new ideas. When presented with new technology or teaching practices, I seaw that the staff would actually refuse to accept that things could be done any better than at Reagan. We ended up moving back to our old school. I feel Reagan could be so much better. But there have to be many 'upgrades.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

Reagan High Scool is an outstanding school with excellent teachers that care about students. The principal leads a school that is built around the needs of the students and parents and truly cares about what happens at Reagan High School. Parent involvemnet is outstanding. We have the largest PTA in the state. It is rare that you are lucky enough to have a child in a school as good as Reagan. My son is a senior this year and will attend the college of his choice all because of the preparation he received at Reagan High School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

Our daughter graduated from Reagan in 2003 and our son attended Reagan 2006-2008 and we've just moved out of state so he won't be graduating there. I've said many times if the incomes of some of the students bother you and bother your child,then maybe Reagan isn't for you. But certainly most of the students come from middle income families and they don't live in mansions. Our experience is that those with the means open up their homes to everyone- have the teams come over and the parents for BBQ's and they share with everyone. My kids never had a car in high school and no one thought anything of it. There are 3000 + kids and you will find all kinds there, but generally kids there do well and are expected to do well from college educated parents. I recommend the school for anyone serious about a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

My child transferred to Reagan in his junior year after spending 10 years in a private school. I was very pleasantly surprised at the level of professionalism and the eagerness of the staff to do all things with excellence. Reagan offers academics for everyone -- basic courses with daily tutoring and an ever-present resource center as well as AP and dual-credit courses that will challenge the smartest of students. There are gobs of extra-curricular activities and terrific sports programs that lead to many college athletic scholarships. My son just graduated from Reagan and I can say that he wholeheartedly loved it. The only caution is one I would give the parents of students at just about any large public school: get acquainted with your child's friends and the friends' parents. Some parents shun alcohol, many look the other way, and some actually provide it for kids at parties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2008

Excellent academic facility. Although involvement in extracuricular activites is based upon financial status, the school's triumph rests in the ability of the majority of its faculty. The English and Science departments are second to none.. Mrs. Richards, Mrs. Lippincott--- wonderful student/teacher interactions.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2008

RHS is the best high school in the San Antonio Area, not only in athletics, but it is also very strong academicly


Posted April 9, 2008

My daughter is a senior at RRHS. She has been accepted to her 1st choice private university and has done very well there. As in all HS, you must be an involved parent, know all your child's friends and their parents and never think they have it all under control. They don't! Keep your child in a Bible teaching church and make sure they have support at home to stay away from all the bad influences in the world. These are teens we are talking about, they need all of these things to keep on the right path no matter what school they go to. The teachers are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

This school focuses on promoting wealthy children, their extracurricular interests, and stroking their parents. If a child is not as affluent as the rest, they will be lost in the shuffle, ignored, and labeled, with no chance for an academic future, nor a chance to participate in spirit groups since they can't pay for daily dance/cheer lessons at a neihborhood studio. The spirit program is unfair, academically a broad range of courses is offered, but success is dependent on affluence, not intelligence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

This is one of the most challenging high schools and prepares students extremely well for college and AP exams. The teachers are concerned for your success and the students are motivated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2007

Ronald Reagan High School has accomplished a lot in the few years it has been open. Most of the kids are over achievers, but they support and encourage each other. The teachers and programs are great! My son is a Junior at Reagan and he says the students really do not care about the overcrowding. The high quality of the education makes up for the crowded classrooms and hallways.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

753 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

745 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

696 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

687 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

687 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

685 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

706 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

708 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

709 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

705 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African American96%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African American96%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students99%
Female98%
Male99%
Black or African American96%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African American96%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

400 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

784 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

619 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

771 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

779 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

705 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
62%
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

706 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
49%
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

698 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

7 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

782 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

688 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education84%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American97%
Asian98%
Hispanic98%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education87%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)81%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students99%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education90%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Black or African American89%
Asian94%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education52%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students88%
Female91%
Male84%
Black or African American81%
Asian92%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education44%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)24%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Black or African American94%
Asian98%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education79%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students81%
Female86%
Male76%
Black or African American61%
Asian96%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education38%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African American96%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
Multiracial93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education81%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African American92%
Asian98%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education77%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)81%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
Black or African American89%
Asian98%
Hispanic90%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education77%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 29%
Hispanic 40% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Black 4% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 2%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • BRENDA SHELTON
Fax number
  • (210) 482-2222

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19000 Ronald Reagan
San Antonio, TX 78258
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 356-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harvest Schools
San Antonio, TX





Johnson High School
San Antonio, TX


Churchill High School
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT