Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Reagan High School 3

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
Academics do not prepare students for college unless you are on the AP track. Also, girls basketball program is not a cohesive program nor does it strongly support academic excellence.

Reagan High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
The teachers who choose to be effective are effective those that chose not be aren't. Unfortunately there isn't an incentive to be effective.


Reagan High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
If not on the AP track little homework is given and therefore not all of the information covered in AP is covered at other levels. It's not a matter of the amount of detail covered the material isn't covered at all.

Reagan High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
Students are not uniformly held to a high standard regarding there conduct between peers or towards administration.

Reagan High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
There are numerous volunteer and service organizations. In addition to the numerous charity campaigns the school continues throughout the year.


Reagan High School 1

Posted April 08, 2015
- a student
I'm a sophomore currently and honestly I have nothing good to say about this school. Its horrid. It's way too competitive and the stress levels are very high. Having an 95+ average won't even get you into to the top 10%. The fine arts department doesn't get the funding it deserves. Paying for sports or any other athletic activity is so much money; almost $1000+ depending on the sport you play. The lunches are disgusting & the other students are very quick to judge. Getting into a good college is tough if you're not in the top 10. Even teachers support being super competitive. This school is not what it seems to be.

Reagan High School 4

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
I meant Basketball Team! Sorry, That one was full since last year , lots of new awesome kids went to try outs and didn't get to the team . My son made it for other sports like track, soccer but he love and misses basketball,... He's new and enjoying a lot the school. Great teachers. He says Sharyland was harder.

Reagan High School 4

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
Not true about school having there teams picked out. My daughter is new to this school she comes from a private school. She tried out for the swim team and made it. She knew no one and know has plenty of good friends and loves the school. Her classes are even harder then private and is learning a lot. She really enjoys going to Reagan, especially being part of a team.


Reagan High School 2

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
It's not a terrible school but clearly not a GREAT one. Especially for the average student that's also new to SAT. The distractions are huge and extremely overwhelming to a child that wants to fit in socially. My advice; know your child first before enrollment. Your child must be very independent and extremely secure within themselves to THRIVE at Reagan. We had to remove our child from NEISD to a school system that takes the time to understand and develop each child while also providing the right level of support and guidance parents expect every child to receive.

Reagan High School 5

Posted August 13, 2014
- a student
I am currently a sophomore at Reagan and have gotten to know the school pretty well. Although I do love Reagan, it does have some flaws. This school is very competitive, many teachers do choose favorites, extra-curricular activities are expensive to the point many people who want to do them can not,etc. I also have experienced Pre-AP classes, although I have switched some to regular classes because the lack of attention from some teachers and the expectation of perfection among teachers(mostly English teachers). I understand that not everything can be perfect and that Reagan does have flaws, but I wouldn't choose any other school to attend. RATTLER FOREVER!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Reagan High School
19000 Ronald Reagan, San Antonio, TX  78258
(210) 356-1800
Last modified Reagan High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Reagan High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. Top