Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
4-6
Public charter
San Antonio, TX
Students enrolled: 181

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dr James L Burch Intermediate School 1

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Terrible. I wish I didn't have to give it the one star required to leave this review. If you love your child and their well being is a concern do not send them here. The teachers aren't even required to be certified. Note the positive reviews come from teachers. That shouldn't even be allowed.
1 person found this helpful

Dr James L Burch Intermediate School 4

Posted May 27, 2014
- a teacher
I've been working at Burch Intermediate for several years, and although we've had our ups and downs the staff and students have a way of adapting. I believe Burch is a great school for children to attend. The staff really cares about the welfare of each student both academically and emotionally.


Dr James L Burch Intermediate School 1

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
Rate this school with one star. No academics or professionals present. This is a poor example of education for students. I would not recommend this school to anyone's family member.
1 person found this helpful

Dr James L Burch Intermediate School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a teacher
Burch Intermediate is a great school with caring teachers and a great principal. Students are encouraged to do their best every day.

Dr James L Burch Intermediate School 1

Posted April 12, 2012
- a parent
I posted the review below with a one star rating because for whatever reason it wouldn't let me proceed without rating it. THIS SCHOOL ACTUALLY DESERVES NO STARS!!!! IT DESERVES A WRECKING HITTING AGAINST THE BUILDING TO BE TORN DOWN FOR GOOD!! i should also add that if you want your kids to be around ghetto kids then this is the place to send your kids to!!! The poor kids that attend this school are typically the ones that have no guidance what so ever at home and so at school they act like a bunch of foul mouthed tyrants!!!! It's kinda like a VERY LAST RESORT you would send your kids to. THIS PLACE IS HORRIBLE!!!! And again it asks you to rate this school. I had to click one star..but IT REALLY DESERVES NO STARS!!!!


Dr James L Burch Intermediate School 0
no rating

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
As a parent I am very disappointed with the way the school and staff operate. What is advertised to be a quality education is not what your children will recieve!! Warning!! Warning!! Foul mouthed children all over. Low income school demanding way to much excellence when it is a poorly staffed education program!

Dr James L Burch Intermediate School 5

Posted May 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Dr James L Burch Intermediate School 0
no rating

Posted November 01, 2007
- a parent
The teachers and staff are very helpful and for the first time my son actually enjoys math. Math has been a constant struggle for him so I am glad to report that he is really being challenged and enjoys his teachers.


Dr James L Burch Intermediate School 1

Posted November 30, 2006
- a parent
I am very disappointed with the low level of quality expected from the students. My kid has not been academically challenged but ignored because he/she does not represent the majority of the kids that this school was marketed to. I think that the whole school would benefit from challenging kids academically. Also, the administration 'must' bring higher quality academics. The academic work is not acceptable. They need a talented specialist who can implement a better curriculum. Not enough to cater to all and not only to a majority ignoring the needs of others. Very disappointed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dr James L Burch Intermediate School
5703 Blanco Road, San Antonio, TX  78216
(210) 431-9881
Last modified Dr James L Burch Intermediate School is a Charter school that serves grades 4-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dr James L Burch Intermediate School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top