Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lewis Elementary School 2

Posted June 21, 2014
- a parent
I expected more from this school. Kinder kids have nap time! there is so much to learn and yet they have to sleep during school hours! The last time my child took a nap he was a toddler. My 1st grader came home saying he watched T.V sometimes. My first grader seemed to be doing kinder work while my kinder kid seemed to be in day care! We came from a different state (military fam) from another public school, and the difference in curriculum is drastic. We actually moved to this neighborhood because of the great-schools ratings and was so disappointed on how their first year turned out when it came to their curriculum... On a positive note, the principal is nice and the school is clean. They got straight E's on their report cards, but sincerely, they are behind in some subjects and now i will have to work with them this summer. The kids do like the school and the number 1 reason why, "it's so easy!" as they would say.

Lewis Elementary School 4

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
Wonderful School! My daughter had GREAT teachers. They really care about the students. Overall it is a great enviroment for a child to learn and grow!


Lewis Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2012
- a parent
Just enrolled my 5 kids here! and so far so incredible!!! My kids are loving it and are excited to go in the morning!

Lewis Elementary School 1

Posted January 19, 2012
- a community member
My child hated this school.....was glad to leave!!!!! Employees are able to cater to their own child when they are suppose to be teaching...

Lewis Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2011
- a parent
I love love love this school! My son is in 1st grade, and he's been going here first for speech and than pre-k through 1st. The principle is fantastic and so are the staff. They are so personable! I love it! I'm going to miss when we move.


Lewis Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2011
- a parent
I have absolutely loved Lewis! My son has loved his teachers. The Principal is on the ball and very caring. She is involved in all things Lewis. I was on the PTA and that's when I realized how much she cares about the students and how much effort is put into this school. Parents are extremely supportive and they have lot's of fun activities.

Lewis Elementary School 3

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
Great school but why is it that employee are allowed to warm up their child food when others students have to have food from home cold? Why are employees allowed to talk to their child during the child s lunch when they should be in there classroom. I say several employees go and hug their own child during lunch duty.

Lewis Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2010
- a parent
Great school, and I'm no fan of public education. Teachers are involved and everything is modern, etc. Can't get much better for Elementary. I don't think I'd send my kid to public school on the High School level on San Antonio, but for Elementary, it's great.


Lewis Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 18, 2009
- a parent
The teachers there are awesome and really care about the students. The staff is always looking for ways to enhance their learning opportunities with hands on, real world experiences!

Lewis Elementary School 3

Posted November 11, 2008
- a parent
Not a bad school, but the principal needs to be more 'in the know' of what the teachers are doing. One thing that bothered me is that some teachers allow the children to watch t.v. when they could be reading to them. Also, there needs to be more emphasis on continuing to challege the children who excell and finish thier work as there is on helping those who are behind.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lewis Elementary School
1000 Seascape Drive, San Antonio, TX  78251
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (210) 397-2650
Last modified Lewis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top