Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Antonio School For Inquiry & C 4

Posted March 03, 2016
- a community member
I have seen a huge improvement in my daughter's attitude, attendance. Her grades have aslo improvement.

San Antonio School For Inquiry & C 1

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
My daughter spent a happy two years here, then administration changed and things went downhill fast. The elementary kids are now all crowded on a campus that was just meant for grades K-2. 4th and 5th graders using that tiny furniture is ridiculous. The teachers are actually fabulous and care very much, but the administration does not seem to back them up. My daughter had enough bullying issues with a particular student yet he was still in class to torment her another day. He should have been out the school. I withdrew her due to bullying and the principal didn't even have a word to say to me. You'd think she would have been apologizing for me feeling like I needed to pull my daughter who was a fabulous student and not a behavior problem, but she didn't say a word. The teachers were supportive. I hope the school turns things around because they do have great teachers there that could make it a great school if the administration worked out.


San Antonio School For Inquiry & C 1

Posted November 12, 2015
- a community member
It breaks my heart that this school has deteriorated in such a short time. The passing of Dr. Deleon and the loss of her great administrators have left this school in disarray. I can't tell you the countless phone calls I have received from parents regarding where they can take their children. It is so sad to hear about the constant threat of expulsion that is delivered to so many students; simply because the new staff has no clue what to do with kids that need a little extra help. This is not a school, but has turned into a vulture's pit. They should remember the child always comes first!

San Antonio School For Inquiry & C
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
They can not handle these delinquents. Students from before are ignored to deal with sooooo many problem children.

San Antonio School For Inquiry & C
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
Fear never allows anyone to grow. Again they attracted a horrible incoming of bad influence children.


San Antonio School For Inquiry & C
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
Kids are not safe. No monitoring the play ground. Lots of name calling and bullying. Teachers are not respected. Kids do what they want 5-9 grades are the worst. You child with come home speaking street slang and curse words.

San Antonio School For Inquiry & C 1

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
This is now an alternative school with juvenile delinquents. Even the elematry school has been affected. They were so desperate to grow fast they marketed and attracted a horrible incoming of delinquents. New students have created many safety issues. The old administration had a lot problems, they lacked structure and school was poorly run before. Now the front office at the high school and elematry school are run a million times better. But safety continues to be a problem this year. These problems never existed before. New students ruined the school not the new staff.

San Antonio School For Inquiry & C 1

Posted August 11, 2015
- a community member
I was enrolling my child at the art school, with the belief that he was going to become educated in this unique environment. After speaking to many current and many past teachers, the new Superintendent is reverting back to the ole' school system.. Might as well look at the reputable charters now.... I thought my child would be going somewhere unique..... Sent via email - so sad.....


San Antonio School For Inquiry & C 1

Posted July 29, 2015
- a community member
The new school management currently cutting all the programs that it is so well known for. It was a wonderful art integrated, technology driven school with the latest technology and the best teachers. Most of the teachers have left or been fired by the new management and I understand that most of the programs are being cut from the curriculum. It is reverting to your basic 3 r's school. I would not enroll my child here.

San Antonio School For Inquiry & C 2

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
This school has teachers that genuinely care about their students and provides decent education in arts and music to high schoolers. That being said, the special education department is SEVERELY out of compliance and needs to be audited immediately. If you have a child with special needs and think they will benefit from the small classes and close-knit community, think again. You would do much better to send your child to a different school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Antonio School For Inquiry & C
4616 San Pedro Avenue, San Antonio, TX  78212
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. (210) 738-0020
Last modified San Antonio School For Inquiry & C is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top