Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Frontiers Charter School

Charter | 4-5 | 134 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 28, 2012

Any "teacher" at NFCS who "cannot imagine working at any other school" or cites "administrative support" and "constructive feedback" is either privileged enough to be favored by administrators at this school (and this is often a fleeting status, as the pendulum often swings due to those in charge making professional decisions based on emotional reactions), or I have to seriously question the legitimacy of these statements. While there are some passionate and dedicated teachers and staff working here, unfortunately, they lack the necessary support and resources, which should be provided to them by knowledgeable supervisors. Unfortunately, the motto here, which is echoed quite frequently by administration, is that the staff here "wears many hats," setting their employees up for failure due to their thinly stretched capacities and lack of acquired resources and support for these arduous "hats," or rather expectation, which the staff face. While campus administration often stresses a student-centered philosophy, they fail to realize that key to their role as an efficient manager of staff, employees must feel supported and reinforced/acknowledged for their efforts as well.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2012

I teach at New Frontiers and cannot imagine working at any other school. At NFCS we are a family that is dedicated to seeing every child on the campus reach his or her full potential. My colleagues and administrators support me daily by sharing resources and ideas, and helping me grow as a professional. The learning community within which I work helps me grow and improve as a teacher, and ultimately helps me help my children. The leadership on our campus is in our classrooms frequently, guiding and coaching the teachers, and often interacting with the kids. It is the teamwork you find at NFCS that makes the difference!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2012

The teachers and staff at New Frontiers pride themselves on providing an individualized education for students from the community. Since 1998, New Frontiers embraces families from the surrounding area, and supports student development in a variety of capacities. Parents and community members are an integral part of the team and are encouraged to be involved in the education of the children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2012

San Antonio needs more schools like New Frontiers! I enrolled my child and then we moved. I had to take my student out of the school because they do not have buses at the school. After going to my sons new school I brought him back to New Frontiers eventhough it is far away. The teachers and principals and secretaries love my child and know that education is important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

I have worked at New Frontiers for many years. I love this place and consider it my home away from home. The students, parents and staff are a community that cares for one another, and it shows. Our students have an abundance of opportunities to grow both academically and as leaders. These opportunities include Athletics, Choir, Drama, Student Council, NJHS, Mariachi and the list goes on and on. We pride ourselves in teaching our youth the importance of giving back and engag them in those types of opportunities. The administration is amongst the best there is, for they provide their staff with unparralled support and constructive feedback to be the very best that we can be for our most precious commodity-our students of NFCS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 2, 2012

Run as fast as you can away from this place. The administration and staff are extremely unprofessional, many programs are never followed through with. Some of the administrators do some very ethically questionable things and you are evaluated subjectively. Evaluations do not happen until the last few weeks of school and sometimes not at all. I remember once last year admin coming in to my class for 10 minutes and they based my entire year evaluation off those ten minutes. Admin plays favorites and if you are lucky enough to be in their lunch group then you'll get the choice teaching assignments and comfort of knowing you will not be bullied by them. They only hire young teachers because older, more experienced teachers scare them, because more experienced teachers know that how they run things is so far from ethical and efficient it is scary. The turnover rate is astounding but yet no one in central office stops and asks why is everyone leaving? central office, is a joke and i could go on and on about how ineffective their senior leadership is.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 12, 2012

This is my daughter's second year at New Frontiers and all I can say that this school has far exceeded my expectations. My child has shown such progress. The teachers are involved in every aspect of the child's scholarly journey, also they teach the kids that a road of education does not end just at high school but to lift their expectations and get them on the road to college. The school itself is small and everyone knows everyone. At times it does not even feel like a school, it feels more like a family community. I cannot recommend this school enough!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2010

This school truly cares about the students. They go above and beyond to make parents and kids feel welcome. The new administration has done a great job improving the school. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants a school who looks at their students as more than a number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

The leadership of the school puts more emphasis on money than they do on the children. The principal does not care about the children. The district is top heavy, spends too money on a district office and none on the school. The school does have some great teachers, but the Principal and Assistant Principal do not take their jobs seriously. Both are unprofessional and will retalliate against a child to get back at a parent for speaking up. Many parents fear speaking out about issues at the school in fear of what they will do to their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

My 4 kids are attending NFCS for the first year. It is truly a good school 1 of of my sons has progressed greatly since switching from public to charter. The teachers are very good. They let you know how your children are doing whether it's good or bad. They will continue to go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

The Special Education Staff is awesome. My son has done a complete turn around. His teacher Ms. Guerra has lots of patience. I don't have to worry anymore, he has stability at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

I am amazed at the creativity of the teaching staff. They are constantly trying new things to interest their students and improve their learning. Reading and math nights are offered to bring parents into the loop about the TAKS and what our children are facing. Principal's coffee and PTO meetings are available for parents to air out issues. Parents are also welcomed and encouraged to attend board meetings. The school has come very far and is continuing to improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

NFCS has done wonders in the short period it has been operating. Those of us who watched it change management, curriculum, staff and student population can attest to grand gains. Within the last four years with the input of the leadership team, students have made academic progress, found outlets for their talents beyond the classroom and done it all in a safe and nurturing environment. The heart of this school is the people -- a lot of hard working people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

New Frontiers has continually made efforts to better the all around situations at the school. Test scores show that. All I can say is 'you can't please all of the people all of the time.' And that goes for any school. And to the the person who posted in Aug 2005 and said that they are forced to adhere to public school regulations with private school funding...you're wrong. There is no private school funding at NFCS, did you pay for your child(ren) to go to school here? In my experienct the teachers are professional and always helpful. I feel that the school has come a long way in the 6 years we've been there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2006

This is going to be great one day, but at this time all I can say is teachers are great. It is that they do not have the computers or enough teachers for the childern. I hope in the future they do well. Thank to the teachers. Happy Mom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2006

New Frontiers is making great progress and challenging area public schools with comparable, if not better, tests results with creative teaching strategies. The fact is that the gains in test scores that this school has experienced is a tribute to the teachers that have been successful and the guidance they have received from both peers and school leadership. New Frontiers continues to strive to address the needs of it's students first and endeavours to recruit the very best teachers that San Antonio has to offer. New Frontiers has made great strides in spite of a few weak links and will continue to provide a wonderful educational experience.....Scoreboard!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2006

The schools superintendant(s) seem to be there for the paycheck and not the children (as they profess to be). They also have alienated themselves from the campus as they are rarely seen on campus. The children have no place to play except on a hard top. Classes have about 2 computers per room. Technology is lacking, moral of teachers is low, and they dont seem to care about that either. Parents complain to Principal and nothing gets done. They have to complain to the Vice Principal to get the job done.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 10, 2006

New Frontiers has endured it's ups and downs like most charter schools. However, the school is poised to make great strides in its endeavours to provide an outstanding education in a safe, nuturing, private school based setting.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted August 22, 2005

I know that the teachers are very caring and work very hard at providing a quality education at New Frontiers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

I tend to feel that this school is lacking in the most important aspects. While it advertises the 'private school' education at the 'public school' price, it is quite misleading. This statement simple means that they are forced to adhere to the public school regulations with the funding of a private school. Parents, do your homework... and stick to your district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

65 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

64 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

63 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

67 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

68 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

65 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Female63%
Male63%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education20%
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English61%
Non-migrant63%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students75%
Female73%
Male76%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students68%
Female69%
Male68%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant68%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female89%
Male88%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English88%
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female91%
Male88%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English91%
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students83%
Female85%
Male81%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English85%
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Female56%
Male48%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special educationn/a
Not special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted53%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students31%
Female36%
Male22%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Special educationn/a
Not special education30%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English28%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted31%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students37%
Female47%
Male21%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Special educationn/a
Not special education39%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English37%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant37%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted37%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Female73%
Male59%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students49%
Female59%
Male40%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Special educationn/a
Not special education49%
Limited English proficient (LEP)13%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted49%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students57%
Female62%
Male53%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Special educationn/a
Not special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)38%
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 93% 50%
Black 5% 13%
White 1% 31%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Melissa Holguin
Fax number
  • (210) 533-5077

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4018 S Presa St
San Antonio, TX 78223
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 533-3655

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Early Childhood Academy
San Antonio, TX


Riverside Park Academy
San Antonio, TX




Steele Elementary School
San Antonio, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT