Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Blanco Vista Elementary School 2

Posted November 10, 2014
- a parent
I'm not impressed. There is a huge amount of teacher and staff turn over from year to year. This leaves the students with a majority of teachers and admin support staff that have little to no teaching and/or educational experience. Communication is severely lacking. Students are being asked to complete an insane amount of homework every week. If our students are going to have so much homework, what are they doing in class? I am not against homework, but my student is doing homework 7 days a week and my child is not below grade level. If you are an English speaking family looking at the dual language program, I wouldn't bother. The support given to native English speakers to learn Spanish is no where near the support given to the native Spanish speakers to learn English. No need to take a stranger's word for it, check out the upper grade levels retention of native English speakers. The program begins with an equal number of native English speakers and native Spanish speakers. By fourth and fifth grade, only a few native English speakers remain.

Blanco Vista Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a teacher
I have been teaching for 11 years and this has been one of the best years of my career! This was my first year with Hays CISD, and my experience as a teacher and as a parent were positive. My class was an amazing group of students, and the parents were very helpful and understanding throughout the whole year. I also have two children that attend Blanco Vista with me we have all had a positive experience.


Blanco Vista Elementary School 2

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
Not a good school if you're child has an iep. They are very judgmental. I am so unhappy with blanco vista that I have chosen to move. The staff will never apologize for any mistakes of their own. They are far far from a nurturing staff. For the life of me I don't know why their score is so high. When my son enrolled there from another school they changed everything on his iep. Which I know now they are not suppose to do that.
1 person found this helpful

Blanco Vista Elementary School 2

Posted September 17, 2012
- a parent
Being a stay at home mom, I visit the campus all the time, lunch time mainly. The lunch room is very loud and disorganized, plus no discipline when children eat other kids food, especially home packed lunches. The main problem is getting help for my child, student teachers plus the counselor are not well taught in seeing signs of learning disabilities. I see and am discouraged by the lack to no support in the school system for learning disabilities. If your child has even a mild case of some type of disability, skip Blanco Vista, you will just be talking to a wall of muted school board elects.
1 person found this helpful

Blanco Vista Elementary School 1

Posted October 24, 2011
- a community member
If your child is naturally smart this school is fine but if you kid is smart but needs more one on one teaching...this school is a bad move...had to move my niece out of this school district all together..
1 person found this helpful


Blanco Vista Elementary School 4

Posted June 06, 2011
- a parent
This is a great school! Our son has been in the dual language program for 2 years now and he loves it. He is learning a ton of Spanish. The teachers are great and the surrounding community is really nice.

Blanco Vista Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
This school is great! We previously had our daughter in a high dollar private school. We were concerned about putting her into a public school but BVES has removed any concerns. Our daughter loves the teachers and school very much and she is doing better than she was in private schools. Thanks to the staff and wonderful people at BVES.

Blanco Vista Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Blanco Vista Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 09, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school. My child is a student in the 3rd grade and we followed the principal, Mrs. Davis, from Tobias Elementary when she opened our this new campus. The teachers are dedicated to every student making progress, and the diversity in student populations is very appealing to me. They even have a dual language program that is the envy of others.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blanco Vista Elementary School
2951 Blanco Vista Blvd, San Marcos, TX  78666
(512) 268-8506
Last modified Blanco Vista Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Blanco Vista Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top