Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Private
San Marcos, TX
Students enrolled: 296
 

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

15 reviews of this school


San Marcos Baptist Academy 1

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
Don't place your child in this school if you have hopes of a college beyond Texas State. They will be exposed to peers that are criminals, have records, have babies, among other things. The school doesn't know how to be responsible without being dogmatic. They have hired at least one employee that is a registered sex offender. They hire an intern counselor to deal with emotional formative teens. They hire dorm staff that have anger management problems and struggle dealing with teens and adults. Don't place your child in this school if you value your child. Admissions has an excellent sales presentation. Beware!

San Marcos Baptist Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
Best part of this school! Administration and staff need to let them do their job and not make life difficult for them or their students.


San Marcos Baptist Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
Most of the teachers have a good handle on educating. There are some inexperienced and non-certified teachers that won't provided a good education, not from lack of trying but they haven't received the training and don't have experience. They are hired because they are cheap hires for the school. It is amazing how little the school pays their professionals.

San Marcos Baptist Academy
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
Because of the environment the school provides the students learn to be persistent and determined or they are squished by the administration and staff. Many students are bitter, feel people are out to get them, and they don't have a healthy self-esteem due to the treatment received from the school environment.

San Marcos Baptist Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
The employees at the school don't respect each other. They have definite cliques within the employees and gossip openly, in front of parent and students, about other employees. They employees put the students in the middle and pass the buck and none of them take responsibility.


San Marcos Baptist Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
The dorm staff and administration are very dogmatic. They follow the guide line of, "my way or the highway." Many of the dorm staff is not qualified to hold their position and several have anger management issues which isn't healthy for the students. Many of the faculty members are compassionate and want to see the students succeed.

San Marcos Baptist Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
Students and parents are treated differently based on how much control the school is allowed to have over the boarding students. The school prefers the student is dropped off and the school is given complete control without any parental intervention. The school make up things and when the parent asks for specific information they say they can't share because of privacy. The parent is entitled to know about their student! The use physical punishment, often when punishment isn't deserved. There are many babies that have been created on this campus and there are many students that court-ordered to attend there. The school does not share this information when asked directly. This is not a religious environment. There are not religious programs for the students or a faith leader. They say the religion teacher is the faith leader. Other religious school have a separate faith based person to help students without bias because they are part of the faculty.

San Marcos Baptist Academy 5

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
The Academy has been an awesome experience for all 3 of my children. My oldest graduated in 2010. He was a fine arts student that never would have achieved so much in the public school system. He is now a Navy airman and a great source of pride for our family. My second and third child still attend the Academy. In addition to great academics, roles of leadership, they have also obtained a great resume for college athletics in their future. I credit a great teacher/parent communication, the student/teacher ratio, and the commitment of Christian faculty and staff to not only teach, but to mentor these young people by investing in their lives.


San Marcos Baptist Academy 1

Posted January 22, 2014
- a community member
I went to high school here and all I can say is there is a HUGE bullying problem. I was bullied relentlessly, and I remember like yesterday when I went to the teacher she just laughed and called me the "nickname" all the spoiled rich kids had given me. She never stopped the bullying in class either. I hate this school it destroyed my self esteem.

San Marcos Baptist Academy 5

Posted July 29, 2011
- a parent
Transferring to San Marcos Academy was the best decision we ever made for our child. I only wish we would have known about the Academy sooner so that we would have had several more years here. The staff, teachers and coaches are kind and the most supportive you will find anywhere. The structure of the School is preparing our child for College, therefore, we feel the transition will be more smooth. The School does so much for the student body and the extras will amaze. The extra activities are fun and truly based on what the students want to do. We love having the foreign students on campus so everyone can learn about their culture.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Marcos Baptist Academy
2801 Ranch Road 12, San Marcos, TX  78666
(512) 753-8041
Last modified San Marcos Baptist Academy is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
San Marcos Baptist Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top