Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Seabrook, TX
Students enrolled: 1,000

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Seabrook Intermediate School 5

Posted December 10, 2014
- a parent
My daughter was accepted to the science magnet program, and she has been thriving this year. I have had a child in Omega at SCIS, in WAVE at WIS, and now one at SIS. While all three schools have lots of positives and a few negatives, I have been pleasantly surprised by the warmth and friendliness to be found at SIS. My daughter loves working with the animals at the LMC, and has made friends from all over the district. She has really enjoyed going to middle school at SIS, and the transition to middle school has been much smoother than expected. She has really blossomed into a happy, enthusiastic young lady. So far, I have enjoyed this middle school experience the best.

Seabrook Intermediate School 1

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
Many instructional practices out of date. Labor intensive busy work and copying assignments keep focus off critical thinking. Pre-ap classes focus on loading kids with more lower level work instead of higher level critical thinking curriculum. Kids are "advised" to drop the these classes when they struggle to meet heavy busy work demands. When parents question, teachers load kids withmore work, pencil with them with grades, and make them feel bad about themselves until they finally quit. Antiquated mindsets are leaving many kids with potential behind. When confronted about they way they treat kids they don't deny anything. Their position is, "yeah, that's what happened.... and... too bad..."


Seabrook Intermediate School 5

Posted July 04, 2014
- a community member
I went to this school when I was in middle school. I absolutely loved it. I am now 38 years old. They did not have a science magnet program back then, but they did ready you for high school.

Seabrook Intermediate School 1

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
Special education is very ineffective: don't follow protocol, don't follow ARD recommendations, and they will suspend your child in or out of school to avoid providing services. Get ready for tickets if you have disciplinary infractions from not doing an assignment to curse word in halls--CCISD is famous for ticketing! Teachers rarely respond to emails. Grades don't get updated regularly and paradoxically rigid with students following instructions to the T. Move to Space Center Intermediate if you can!

Seabrook Intermediate School 5

Posted August 30, 2012
- a parent
Had three kids go through SIS. Had a problem with one teacher that was quickly resoved. Otherwise, can't say enough about the faculty and principal. My kids were better prepared than most for high school.


Seabrook Intermediate School 5

Posted January 04, 2012
- a parent
I love this school and I think the people who work in the office are wonderful and very helpful!!

Seabrook Intermediate School 4

Posted October 06, 2011
- a parent
I agree withe the last parent that some of the office staff are rude, but the school is a great school especially the Science Magnet.

Seabrook Intermediate School 3

Posted August 17, 2011
- a parent
Some of the office staff are kind of rude; especially the person who answers the phone all the time and they do NOT enforce the rules against bullying....AT ALL.


Seabrook Intermediate School 5

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
I have to say the science magnet program is awesome. Combined with the Omega program and wonderful teachers this school is worth all the hard work!!

Seabrook Intermediate School 4

Posted September 24, 2010
- a parent
Livid. School called demanded that I disclose the information regarding her race. Because she has more than one background, none of the little 'boxes' applied. They claimed they couldn't even give me a reason why they needed to know, either. Does the race of the child determine how they will be educated? How they should be treated? She's an American. She was born American. Both her parents are Americans. Grandparents on both sides are American. Why do they need to profile the children?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seabrook Intermediate School
2401 E Meyer Rd, Seabrook, TX  77586
(281) 284-3100
Last modified Seabrook Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Seabrook Intermediate School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top