Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Seguin High School 3

Posted May 27, 2014
- a teacher
This school has quite a few good teachers and students. It gets a bad rap because of certain students who don't care about their schooling, but for the most part, these students are capable of success. The teachers that I observe work REALLY hard to motivate these kids and help them to learn. The principal probably is hard to get a hold of because she is doing her job monitoring the schools' progress. Yes, SHS has flaws, but what school doesn't? It is not as bad as it is made out to be.

Seguin High School 1

Posted February 17, 2014
- a parent
This school is a joke! The teachers don't care enough to put grades in on time, so you really can't use the Parent Serve to keep up with your students grades. When you email them, they never reply. The Principal in my opinion seem to be more concerned with how he looks then what's going on in the school. Every time you call to he seems to be in a meeting or off campus! The dress code is never enforced. There are fights all the time! This school needs some major help!! They take seniors out of class for over an hour to learn how to order senior rings. what a joke! They need to be in class learning! The PTSA is a Joke also! If your child is suppose to go to this school, my advice is ...move, transfer, home school, do what ever you have to, but what ever you do, don't let them go to school here!!!


Seguin High School 1

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Seguin high school seems to fail every year, changes are never made. If a problem occurs on campus with grades ,teachers or possibly anything that your student can come across you won't be notified until last minute. Teachers are overall great, mainly it's the people in the office who seem to be more rude and the lease helpful sports seem to be a main priority and still lack the prober help. Not a recommended high school.

Seguin High School 5

Posted May 03, 2013
- a community member
it was the best school i have ever been to i loved it more than the school i am at right now

Seguin High School 2

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
My daughter graduated from Seguin last year. Throughout her time there, most of the teachers acted like they were too busy to spend any time working to get her to come out of her shell. The rest acted like high school students should have everything in order and did not proactively initiate contact with parents. They have Parent Self Serve to monitor grades, but most of the teachers either didn't update it regularly or entered 0s for everything until they entered the real grades at the end of the grading period. We never knew for sure if there was a problem until it was too late. My daughter complained of violations of dress code and fights and felt that too much emphasis was placed on sports. I was an approved volunteer but didn't hear about any volunteer opportunities until the last month of the last year of my daughter's time there. The best things about the school are the dual credit classes at TCC and the Latin and Orchestra teachers.


Seguin High School 2

Posted May 26, 2012
- a parent
Seguin High School has many great teachers, however the administration suffers from a continual lag from dealing with failing grades, changing testing standards, and an at risk population. This has contributed to the administration to use fast and expediant measures to try and make the school look good. Reducing the numbers of teachers, reducing class time, allowing students to correct tests as a "reteaching tool" creates a perfect storm that passes on students without the tools necessary to suceed. They also impliment draconian methods of police ticketing student's behavior as well as even tazzing. They lump students as "equal" to quickly handle disciplinary issues, enforcing a non-Texas standard of "zero tolerance" giving up responsibility in reviewing student behavior ora willingness to work with parents to efficiently review policies. There needs to be a greater presence of citizens at school board meetings in order to instill a greater sence responsibiltyto the community and rectify a lack of accountability. Most board meetings have little to none community involvement.

Seguin High School 2

Posted May 25, 2012
- a student
This school is scary. I came from a smaller town in another state and found unwelcoming students and staff that are oblivious of how students treat one another. They have police walking around because a fight breaks out nearly every day, the first week of school this year a kid got tazed. It does offer good programs to get enough credits to graduate or get ahead, and the new prinicpal is rumored to make some much needed changes, however I will not be attending this school next year because of the students. I feel unsafe and judged while walking the halls, and I don't think that's something that will be changed anytime soon. It feels like a prison, and honestly, it smells really bad because of the mold and mildew that is not taken care of. I would not reccomend this school to anyone.

Seguin High School 4

Posted July 28, 2009
- a teacher
There are issues at this school...however, there are so many opportunities and wonderful teachers for students that want to learn.


Seguin High School 1

Posted January 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Seguin High School 2

Posted October 23, 2008
- a parent
Not a safe school. Still trying, but I worry daily about my two children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seguin High School
815 Lamar Drive, Seguin, TX  78155
(830) 372-5770
Last modified Seguin High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Seguin High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top