Advertisement
Advertisement

River City Believers Academy

Private | K-12 | 149 students

 
 

Living in Selma

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $166,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 8, 2014

We love this school. Originally we started one of our children here after they were having issues at their old school. After about two months, we were blown away at the difference between RCBA and the former Christian school. Our child blossomed as edification of the individual is celebrated here. They don't try to shove every kid into a "go along to get along box" but instead, teaches them how to use their God given personal traits to the fullest of their abilities. The classes are small. The teachers care and get to know every child. We had our other child shadow in his junior year. Most kids would want to stay at the school they had gone to since K4, but after spending a day here, we asked what his thoughts were. He said "I forgot". When we inquired what that met he said " I forgot that people could be nice and mean it". He also now attends RCBA. Great school and a true blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

I have 2 in school here and have been very impressed with the curriculum and achievements of my children's education. If you are looking with a school with values and morals and a sense of community then this school is for you. I prayed long and hard for the right school for them and found RCBA. My child in K is reading and the other one is very advanced in Math. i am very happy and impressed with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

I have been teaching at the school for 8 years. I have watched students grow in the truth and love of Christ. What greater reward can a teacher ask for.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2011

This school has small classes and really works with individual students the way larger schools cannot
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 27, 2011

I have a daughter in first grade at this school. I am very pleased with the education she is getting, but more happy about the way she has grown to love God while attending here. She has an amazing teacher, she has made wonderful friends and she now loves going to school. Her class is small, they are like a family instead of a classmates. This is how education should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

What I love about this school is the heart of their teachers. They will put a lesson on pause, when a teachable moment arises for character development, but in the end they do not allow academics to suffer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2006

I've been very happy with Believers Academy. My daughter has attended since kindergarten, and will graduate this year. (K-12) The tuition is very reasonable compared with other Christian schools here in San Antonio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

I am not a parent.. I am a senior at this school and have been there since kindergarten! I used to hate the idea of private schools but as time has gone on, I wouldnt give this school up for anything in the world. The teachers are caring, the sports program is amazing.. Especially basketball! And I love how close you can be with the other students, my class is like a second family!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 1, 2006

We attend are acquainted with dozens of students who have or are currently attending Believers Academy. The school is superior academically and spiritually. The school offers very strong spiritual teaching and encourages students to adhere to a biblical worldview in all areas of life. BA offers a number of activities (several sports, student council, a developing band program, etc.) and its athletes regularly make it to TAPPS 1A state playoffs. Many of BA's graduates are unusually spiritually and emotionally mature. An unusually high emphasis is placed on discipline (including paddling -- even of high school students) and heart issues are regularly addressed -- all with the goal of increasingly conforming students to Christ-likeness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

Believers Academy is a school with God-fearing, hard working teachers where Christian truths are taught and withheld to. I was very blessed to go to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2005

I was a student at Believers Academy. Sometimes the academics were a little tough, but I am so glad I was so prepared for college and beyond - indivdual attention and strong Christian influence.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 19, 2005

Parkwood Hill Intermediate is a wonderful school with caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 37%
Hispanic 20% 47%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
Black 3% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Shane Land
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our host Church, River City Community Church, just moved to a new 110 acre site at former Verison Amphitheater for the starting fall 2012.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16765 Lookout Road
Selma, TX 78154
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 656-2999

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Olympia Elementary School
Universal City, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT