Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fairview Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a teacher
The "motto" of our school is, "once a Fairview Falcon, always a Falcon". We have high school students who return as teacher interns and PALS who tell us, they loved Fairview and they knew "Fairview" loved them. The teaching and instructional staff are the best in the world. I have grandchildren attending here and I can't think of a better school for them. The staff is loving and caring about the children. We have a mentoring program where community leaders and school staff are used to mentor students who are in need to extra guidance or curriculum help. We were the first in our school district to implement this program. It has been such a success, that several schools in our district are now using this with their students. Fairview is a one of kind school - when the bell rings at 3:00 to dismiss, doesn't mean school is over for the day. Many of our teachers and staff stay after to tutor students who need special help, many of them for a long time. They don't get paid for this monetarily, just with love from the children. "Fairview Falcons are the greatest in the land - we are proud of Fairview School".

Fairview Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2010
- a parent
Both of my children attended Fairview Elementary. It was an excellent learning environment. Great teachers and staff. The current principal and assistant principal are both true advocates for children.


Fairview Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
Both of my children attend Fairview and I cant praise the school enough. They really seem to work with each child on thier level. I am truly glad we came to this area.

Fairview Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2006
- a parent
I love this school. My daughter goes to Kindergarten there and I am on the PTA. The teachers are wonderful and the principal is great. I highly recommend it and I am very picky when it comes to my daughter.

Fairview Elementary School 3

Posted October 05, 2005
- a parent
This school has struggled over the last few years due to a problem with the previous principal. However, the new principal as of this year seems to bring a promising new future. The teachers seem motivated once again and the organization of the school is better. I feel the curriculum could be better planned as some teachers are better at presenting it than others. (They are all suposed to be on the same page with it.) We have the promise of a new building in the future too, which we really need for the kids. Most parents are pretty involved and easy to get along with. But as you know, every town has their own select few who are difficult to deal with. Services for those in need of special-ed may require alot of pushing from administration, but there are caring teachers at this particular campus.


Fairview Elementary School 2

Posted August 24, 2005
- a parent
My twin boys are here and I'm not happy with one of thier teachers. She sends a note home every day with him stating he has the worst behavior. Last year in HeadStart in another school district I was told I had good boys, no problems all year. I plan on finding a way to get them out of there and into another school, even if I have to move. This teachers behavior has caused him to physically get sick. He is so anxious about school he is vomiting.I have tried to call the school to speak with someone about this but no one answers the phone.

Fairview Elementary School 1

Posted July 19, 2004
- a parent
I had a special needs child at Fairview and had the absolute worst experience at this school. I did not leave a parent/teacher/principal meeting without being in tears! I received no support from any staff and was made to feel like I was a 'problem'. I constantly relayed to them that I would do anything to help in anyway. They obviously did not want my help or my child in their school. Being there and being involved only irritated them. They couldn't treat your child how they wanted to if you were involved! I also had a child there that was a model student. Things were very different with that child. I soon learned that if your child was perfect they had no problems. If your child had any concerns then thay perferred them to be medicated robots! I have since learned from veteran teachers that Fairview is the 'stepchild' school.

Fairview Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2004
- a parent
Our daughter attended Fairview from Kindergarten through fourth grade. As the child of a teacher, I am acutely aware of educational issues. We found the staff at Fairview to be exceptional. The teachers are innovative in their techniques and open to flexible methods, which vary by child. The physical education department is amazing; their annual Jump Rope for Heart efforts have resulted in the school ranking in the top 25 for the state for the past four years running: quite an accomplishment for such a small school! The arts department is also impressive; each class performs an exceptional play every year. The school recently changed principals, as our previous leader was promoted. However, over all, the staff has been exceptionally stable over the years that our daughter has attended.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fairview Elementary School
501 West Taylor Street, Sherman, TX  75092
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (903) 891-6580
Last modified Fairview Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top