Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Houston High School 1

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
This school's a.p. staff are terrible. If they do not like a student on a personal level, yes they brig personal feelings into play. They will almost stalk your child around the school just so they can catch them doing something they do not approve of. Like what? Having a hat on or a backpack. You can not carry a backpack in high school? It's not like the students don't have school work and books to carry. That is outrageous I think high school is when a backpack is needed most. Idiocy.

South Houston High School 1

Posted June 25, 2013
- a student
Lame, the principals are rude,some teachers don't want to stay after school and help the student, in class when asking for help the get upset and say we were not "paying attention" when they really suck at teaching sometimes. If they do try to help your even more confused than you were before.


South Houston High School 1

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
I attended this school over a decade ago and it was fairly decent. The education was up to par. Older siblings attended over two decades ago and it was even better then. Now the new generation of family is attending and I have to say that the level of education has hit rock bottom. Not only is there no more diversity among students but the grammar of these kids is horrible. I have met with some of the teachers and they are either (a) fresh out of college or (b) just don't care. If the teachers are not organized how do they expect the students to be. It seems that this school has declined tremendously over time. I am highly dissatisfied with the school and its curriculum/teachers.

South Houston High School 3

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
As a 1981 Graduate of SOHO, I would like to say that living in the area, I have seen many changes in the area which can't help be relected in the schools. There was a time when parents parented their children and were involved in what was going on at school. But the area has changed and the culture has changed and now the majority of the students at SHHS were not taught the smallest amount of respect for each other but worst of all no self respect. The staff of the high school has a limited time with the KIDS and thats what they are they are children whom will soon be released into the world. If parents would do their job then perhaps the dedicated staff of SHHS could also do theirs instead of having to deal with BS from the fringe few whom have no respect for Education

South Houston High School 4

Posted May 16, 2010
- a student
I couldnt be any more proud of being a trojan & a Jannette dancer, C/O 11'. The school itself may need some repair, but the teachers are pretty good. Of course, not all of my teachers have been the best. But if I ever have a problem in learning something, I find a way out of it; look for a great teacher to go to during tutoring, there's many at this school. I've succeded academically so much. I love South Houston HS & I'm going to miss it very much after I graduate.


South Houston High School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a student
I currently attend this school and it's amazing!!!!! The teachers are the best that I have ever had the priveldge to be teaches by .they care about their students and main goal is to see the student body succeed!! The student body might not be the best but we accomplish things ..I couldn't Be more proud to be called a south Houston Trojan !!! GOtrojans!!!:) our community pride and joy

South Houston High School
no rating

Posted March 26, 2010
- a student
Hmm well this school is okay , but i love the fact they help you if your behind on your credits , like PLATO

South Houston High School
no rating

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
Sadly, this is a school where the primary goal is to control the students. The teachers are not a team as well.


South Houston High School 5

Posted May 30, 2009
- a student
I absolutely love this school! It is the high school that i graduated from and they have the best teachers and it's just a great support system. Go Trojans!! C/07!!

South Houston High School 5

Posted January 05, 2009
- a parent
i think that many parents should be proud of this school. beacuse it has many programs that are helpful to the students and helps them succed to go to college. the people there are also very nice.many teachers are very very helpful to all of the students.

Nearby schools

South Houston High School
3820 Shaver Street, South Houston, TX  77587
(713) 740-0350
Last modified South Houston High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top