Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jack D Johnson Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 528 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 20, 2014

Excellent school.We moved from Trophy Club and I can see the difference.it is one of the best school and I am happy that my kids go to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

Love this school. We moved from Keller last year and it was a huge difference. My daughter's teacher was amazing. Thank you Miss Little!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2012

We had three children attend Johnson Elementary. To this day, they all 3 indicate this was their favorite school and they have excelled academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

Fantastic School!! I have had two of my children here, and it has been nothing but a great experience. The staff, as well as the administrators, are top notch---we are so happy to be a part of Johnson and looking forward to moving through the other schools in our district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

first elementary school in southlake! it was built in 1970! i went to johnson 2003-2008 loved it! this summer they tore down the front of the libary to add on :( i liked it the origanal from when it was first built. I am at CMS now and one of my teachers ( shes like 40) went to Johnson too! southlake is awesome


Posted May 18, 2010

Teacher has bad communication skills and does not really seem to care!!! Private school here we come ...even in Southlake public school is sub par
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

Excellent school. We've been here for 4 years and have never had a bad experience. The teachers really love what they are doing, and the administrators are very caring about the students and the staff. I am also extremely impressed with the parental involvement. WE LOVE JOHNSON!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

Wonderful staff and teachers! Truly care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

My grandson goes to school there...Great students, great teachers.


Posted February 27, 2008

Fabulous school and fabulous teachers. Johnson Elementary really emphasizes that the education of a child ins't left just to the teacher. They demand parent involvement. The team effort between the teacher and the parent definitely pays off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2005

Johnson is an all around great school in a wonderful area. The administration and teachers are dedicated to excellence in allaspects of the school. Parent involvement also tends to be quite strong. The special education program uses a blended programs of special children mixed with typical children. I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a top elementary school in the Dallas / Fort Worth area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

My daughter has been here since Kindergarten (4 years). You will not find a happier place for your child. The school is well run, the teachers are happy, and the activities are enriching. My parents are lifetime school teachers and have been in many districts across the state. Both have stated unequivocally that they have never been inside a better school, EVER. The staff's ability to match your child with the best possible teacher is incredible and I trust them beyond a shadow of a doubt with my daughter's education and self esteem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2004

My kids (3) went to Johnson Elementary for 2 years and loved the school. They push the kids to accelerate in all subjects. They diagnosed my daughter with Dislexia and worked hard to get her the help she needed. She met with Mrs. Yanaralla 2 times a week and was really progressing. (Until we had to move to another state and they did not have the staff that we had in Jack D. Johnson. The staff was very helpful and I look forward to moving back!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

135 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

133 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

138 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

138 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

133 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education89%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students95%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education67%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female100%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education89%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students91%
Female98%
Male84%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education50%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students89%
Female98%
Male81%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education50%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 13% 4%
Hispanic 12% 52%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Black N/A 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 2%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 45%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • LORI ALLISON
Fax number
  • (817) 949-4545

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 North Carroll Avenue
Southlake, TX 76092
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 949-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Clariden School
Southlake, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT