Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carroll Senior High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
Yes, it does, but not without an expense in monetary aspects or at the expense of others / fellow students.

Carroll Senior High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
Respect for themselves and their posessions is very highly regarded, but respect for others is not a priority.


Carroll Senior High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
The focus is so much on money the family has, what students drive, clothing and "how big is your house" that students are not concerned with bigger issues such as learning to cope with real-0life situations.

Carroll Senior High School 3

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
This district is over-rated - and seems to carry a "better profile" than surrounding schools due to the amount of money Carroll's demographic has compared to nearby districts. The football organization is completely unprofessional and looks to promote those students that come from money or background over those with true talent. The academic program is average, and other nearby districts offer so much more to students with GT advancement, Special Education needs, and programs that are geared toward more challenging careers. I was relieved to move my son from the district!

Carroll Senior High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
There are some good teachers in the district, however there are great teachers everywhere, and there are bad teachers as well.


Carroll Senior High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
The focus on academics is definately second to the focus on athletics. Nearby districts offer more of an academic challenge.

Carroll Senior High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
iF THE STUDENTS COME FROM MONEY.... THEN YES. OTHERWISE, NOT AT ALL. rEVERSE DISCRIMINATION RUNS RAMPANT IN THE DISTRICT.

Carroll Senior High School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
Both of our daughters have attended Southlake schools since elementary school. The reputation for the highest academic rigor and competition is, in my opinion, correct. However, my children thrived in this environment because they had such strong peer groups whose parents also had high academic expectations for their children. Both girls have now progressed with many AP classes and many hours of college credit (with lots of school activities) and have been accepted to many of the high ranking national schools throughout the country. I give a lot of the credit to the preparation given to them by Southlake-Carroll.


Carroll Senior High School 5

Posted February 14, 2012
- a student
I grew up in the CISD and went to Carroll Senior High School. I can honestly say that CSHS was more rigorous and academically challenging than my undergraduate years. CSHS prepared me in every way possible to be an academician. I am now a law student at the George Washington University Law School.

Carroll Senior High School 5

Posted July 30, 2011
- a student
This is truly one of the best schools in the state. After coming in 2nd place in the Lone Star Cup (only 13 points behind The Woodlands) the stats don't lie about this school. The boys swimming/diving and soccer teams won state in 2011 along with the girls drill team, the Emerald Belles. Being a one high school town, sports are very competitive, however the results are obviously in favor of this school. School spirit is HUGE in Southlake! The fine arts are among the best in the state. Carroll band and choir participants are among the highest at Solo and Ensemble competition. AP classes are rigorous, but extremely beneficial in the end. Even regular classes at Carroll are demanding. If you don't want to work, Carroll is not the school for you! The senior high is one of the older CISD campuses, but is in the final stages of a make over. The overall teacher/administration quality at the senior high is better than the high school, however, both schools are amazing. I have family all over the state of Texas and in comparison to my relative's schools, they don't even compare to Carroll. After going to CISD schools since 3rd grade, I am proud I got to attend Carroll schools. Go Dragons!!

Nearby schools

Carroll Senior High School
2400 North Carroll Avenue, Southlake, TX  76092
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (817) 949-5800
Last modified Carroll Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 11-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top