Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Durham Intermediate School 5

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
The new principal has made a world of difference! He is positive, available, has a great demeanor with the kids. The teachers are loving and invested and the kids are happy to be there. They are learning so much! Durham is now a top choice school. I had been concerned after hearing the feedback about the previous principal but they chose the perfect person for the job now! Amazing how much strong leadership can do for a school.

Durham Intermediate School 1

Posted July 13, 2011
- a community member
I hated it here! SO MUCH KATY GIRL DRAMA! ive been in southlake schools sence kindergarden, i LOVED Johnson Elementry and LOVED Carroll Middle School but this DIS is terribal!


Durham Intermediate School 3

Posted July 04, 2011
- a parent
The new principal at this school is a poser and a joke. She never really is into the best for the kids. Additionally she needs training in diversity. At this school, only white kids excel and the kids of ethnic group do not? I wonder why that is when the same group can excel at other schools in the same area.

Durham Intermediate School 5

Posted May 19, 2009
- a student
I love this school so much! Im in my last year there and im going to be so sad when i have to leave. the teachers are awesome (well most of them) and we try our hardest to be nice to the new kids! the new kids are popular and everyone welcomes them! go here!

Durham Intermediate School 5

Posted April 12, 2008
- a student
i love this school so so so so much great teachers great staff and great kids i totally recomend this school


Durham Intermediate School 5

Posted August 26, 2007
- a student
This school has taught my daughter so much! She got commended on every one of her tests. This school will teach your kid so much. The teachers there are so funny and entertaining.

Durham Intermediate School
no rating

Posted August 18, 2005
- a teacher
CISD has experienced some tought financial times over the past few years, but this school continues to offer great programs for the kids. The teachers are great!

Durham Intermediate School 3

Posted February 02, 2005
- a parent
Durham has struggled with leadership changes and rotating faculty, but there are many outstanding teachers here. Some of the class sizes are large compared to elementary. Students change classes independently, but stay with same team of teachers in part to help teachers identify and work with struggling students. The school recently added more science lab teachers because students weren't doing as well on tests. Art and music (apart from band) are mediocre and there's no Spanish except an after-school class taught by the elementary school's former Spanish teacher.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Durham Intermediate School
801 Shady Oaks Drive, Southlake, TX  76092
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (817) 949-5300
Last modified Durham Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 5-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top