Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
250 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
54 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northwoods Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 28, 2016
- a community member
Depends on the specific and individual teacher. Some are effective and some are less effective.

Northwoods Catholic School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 28, 2016
- a community member
Lack of leadership and standards from the school administration. Ongoing incidents of bullying. No active work to develop these characteristics.


Northwoods Catholic School 1

Posted January 28, 2016
- a community member
As a parent of a child who has attended over the last three years (since 2013), I continue to be disappointed at the ever-increasing downfall of the school. Ongoing difficulty retaining staff and class sizes now exceed 28. Administration is very focused on business performance in lieu of academics. In addition, they are dealing with an epidemic of bullying at the school. The administration refuses to address this.

Northwoods Catholic School 5

Posted March 22, 2015
- a community member
I am a Grandparent of a Northwoods Catholic School student and a recent retired public school teacher. I am extremely impressed with the education provided by NCS and it's much more advanced than that of public schools. The other, and most impressive to me, is their "Integral Formation". No other Catholic school provides such a comprehensive approach to educating the whole person. I have also been impressed with the way Northwoods Catholic School has been able to support itself. Knowing that it is one of only two private pre-k thru 8th grade schools, in the Houston area, I can only imagine the financial difficulties that could arise. Parish schools receive funding from their Parish and the Archdiocese while a totally private Catholic schools must depend on parents, family, businesses, etc. God's Blessings to you Northwoods Catholic School. I'm impressed with your academics, methods and total formation. Thank you.

Northwoods Catholic School 3

Posted March 06, 2015
- a parent
Average Catholic school, similar to others in the area. Better than some, not as good as others. Academics aren't as high as public school but we like the smaller environment and we supplement academics outside school to make up the difference. Convenient location. Teachers have been caring and dedicated. Administration is questionable. Getting a good principal would be a step in the right direction.


Northwoods Catholic School 5

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
This is our second year at Northwoods and we are so pleased with the education and faith formation that our children have received there. The class sizes are small and the teachers and staff make the effort to get to know each child individually. My children have grown in faith and often have theological conversations amongst themselves. Some grown ups cannot do that! The school could use more technology in terms of computers, but the education we have received is on par with other schools in the area. Highly recommend!

Northwoods Catholic School 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a teacher
Northwoods Catholic School is absolutely excellent. It helps the children to make good choices now and later in life. Most of our graduates are able to attend the private and public high schools of their choice. We had one student make a perfect score on the SAT test (that attests to our academics). Other students have told counselors of high schools just how much Northwoods has helped them exceed and achieve. We have a former student who will attend Yale in the Fall of 2015. Our school is above excellent

Northwoods Catholic School 3

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
We've been at this school for over 5 years. At one time, the school was excellent with advanced curriculum and small classes. The curriculum is probably still the same but the classes are large now and the new administration is unorganized and ineffective. Textbooks are outdated, there is no technology curriculum and the only extracurriculars left are a few sports. We can't justify paying such high tuition anymore when there are less expensive Catholic schools in the area with more to offer.


Northwoods Catholic School 1

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
After pulling my children from the school I have discovered that the education is not even on level with that of the local school district, Klein. Eight thousand dollars a year for an education that is not even equal to the local public school is absolutely unacceptable in my book.

Northwoods Catholic School 5

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
We moved from Illinois to Texas. A huge transition. We chose Northwoods Catholic School for the private, catholic education. We made a great decision! Our son is learning at a very good pace. There is constant growth weekly in all academic subjects. He is happy and cheerful. He has friends in the small classes and in the greater school community. There are events that parents are very involved with. You can also speak directly to any teacher or the Head of School, due to a small school community and easy access to these very important school leaders and educators. We are extremely happy and content that we made the choice to put our son in this school. He is very well behaved because of the school as well. He speaks to us about "making good choices" in life.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northwoods Catholic School
5500 FM 2920, Spring, TX  77388
(281) 350-0300
Last modified Northwoods Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Northwoods Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. Top