Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Metzler Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 856 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2014

Metzler is a wonderful school. The principals are terrific and very accessible and attentive to parents and propsective parents. My children are amazingly happy. The PTO is first class and does an amazing job supporting students and teachers and fostering school spirit. I cannot imagine sending my kids anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

Metzler has had some growing pains but with the new principal and assistant principal as well as the amazing teachers I just have to disagree with the negative comments on here. The school events are a pain to check in with the office and the lines but ultimately it is to protect our kids and I am 100% grateful for that. The school is clean, my children are challenged academically, and the teachers send newsletter emails that keeps me on top of all they are doing. I also feel that the PTO is awesome. The staff and parents work together to do some really neat activities for the kids. I moved into our new house specifically to stay in this school and refused to leave because the same zone has Hildebrandt and Klein Oak all which are amazing schools with lots of community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

My son and now my daughter attended Metzler since it opened. Love the school and the teachers. This school looks new every day I walk in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

My child attended Kindergarten at Metzler last year. The class size was way too large (28-30 children) until right before Christmas. There did not seem to be consistency throughout the Kindergarten classrooms. The teacher my child had not only never worked with my child one-on-one, but she was not held accountable to work with my child because no one was checking. I think a change needs to be made, not only with the teachers, but also with the administration. The school has already dropped from a score of 9 on greatschools.com to a score of 7, within the past year. We have recently moved because we are very disappointed and will not be returning to Metzler.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

kids love it had no issues with school,. Teachers are good. I have another going in a couple of years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

We attended Metzler for several years. We will not be returning. The school has definitely declined. The school has serious bullying problems (from students as well as some teachers) that are not being adequately addressed. I would not talk to my dog the way some of those teachers talk to their students. I know several people who have left the school over the past couple of years due to this problem/issue. Academically I was not very impressed with this school either. Communication at the school is terrible. I didn't even know when my child was having tests. There are numerous problems at this school that thus far have not been addressed. I hope for the kids that still attend that school that they get it together, but I am not optimistic. I would encourage anyone who has children that attend Metzler that you listen to your kids and ask them about your day. If you hear anything that doesn't sound right I would notify the administration AS WELL AS the superintendant as soon as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2012

My son attended only 1 year of school at Metzler (kindy) & then we moved to another area of town &, thus, a new school, so my review of Metzler is limited to just that 1 year experience, but, I can say that I have mixed feelings about this school. Academically, Metzler is strong, but also a little "intense" with it's students. I was shocked at how much homework my kindergartener had & compared to his new school (in the same district) the difference was huge (tons daily vs. almost none daily!). His grades remained high and he didn't seem to suffer acaemically for the difference in volume of homework. Additionally, I didn't find Metzler to be very welcoming to parents in general. Anytime we came to special events at Metzler it just felt almost a little intimidating to have to deal with the front office as they were not friendly & sometimes acted almost annoyed w/ those checking in. Lastly, my son's grades had been fine all year, no probs noted on progress reports, etc., and then WHAMMO, his last report card comes & he had a low grade in math! I had to chase down his teacher to get an explanation as to why & never got a satisfactory answer. Disappointing experience, in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2012

I agree with the previous post. My son has ADHD and was in 5th grade this pass year. I tried to inform his teacher at the beginning of the school year of his learning disability, but every time I tried to contact her, she wasn't there...even for open house! They kept giving me the run around when I tried to tell them about placing him into smaller groups so that he could learn to the fullest of his capability, but was also unsuccessfully. When I finally received a meeting with the counselor and teachers, it was in March/April...when school was almost out. Also, after he switched teachers in the middle of the school year, I asked his new teacher how he was progressing and if he needed a tutor, she said he was doing okay and don't worry about it. You tell me, if a child is doing okay, then why is he still receiving D's and F's and has to attend summer school. In a nutshell, learning really depends upon the teacher because last year, he also attended Metzler and received A-C's. His teacher, Mrs. Bicknell was awesome! Wish they had more teachers like her. BEWARE! Next year, he's going to go to another school with smaller classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

We have had children at Metzler since 2006 and are finally pulling out our youngest two. Initial years were OK, but it has declined sharply since. On behalf of a growing number of parents who have been trying to get administrators to listen to needs of the children, we are left in frustration. This is mainly due to suppression of normal child behaviors and an unfriendly front office staff. Our concerns are shared by countless parents. We've seen teachers scorn kids in the hallways for simple things like getting out of line or normal talking, which makes us worry us what happens in the classroom. When asked if we can observe our child's classroom from the hallway, the administrators strongly discouraged us. The regular crackdowns we have witnessed in the cafeteria (one of the few moments of play the children have during the day) is also concerning. The amount of "time filler" class work and homework the students are given, rather than focus on learning, makes schoolwork needlessly hard on the children and parents. On the plus side, they have some outstanding teachers, which we appreciate.. One day we hope the administration move out of apathy and back to trying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

I am so impressed with Metzler. This was son's first year here and he is in Mrs. Livecchi class in the 2nd grade and she has helped so much with his development and she is very prompt with responding to the children and parent needs and requests. I have another son that attends Pre-K with speech and it has been one of the best experiences to see him develop. I would recommend the school to anyone. I am going to hate to see my kids grow and move to middle school. Thank you Metzler for putting me at ease everyday that I drop my children off at your campus
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

We love Metzler! The teachers and administration are fabulous! Our children love attending school! Go Huskies!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Both myself and my daughter love Metzler Elementary. The staff and the school are great. Go Huskies!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Awesome teachers and administration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Metzler has a loving and caring staff that strive to get their students to reach their maximum potential, and Metzler has the best students ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Great teachers and lots of programs to get involved in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

My son is now going into his fourth year at Metzler and loves going to school. It has been a terrific experience as a parent to witness the incredible teaching and guidance and support Metzler provides. The environment there is very positive and supportive and my son has always been in the top of his classes with excellent grades. This being said, the only complaint I have, (and, unfortunately, I don't seem to be the only parent in this boat) is that the approach that Metzler has toward developmental services for students in need is not so fastidious. My son was approved for speech therapy (in school) to address a speech development issue, and we have yet to see any feedback. He has only been seen 4 or 5 times (he was approved for 24 weeks) and is pretty much left to his own resources (us, at home) for help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

I am so sad we have to move out of state. I love Metzler Elementary School. My daughter attended Kindergarten with Mrs. Taylor. It was my daughter's first school experience and Mrs. Taylor made a positive, happy , lasting impression that will be with my daughter forever! I could not have asked for better administration, PTO, you name it. This school is awesome! I wish we could take Mrs. Taylor and Metzler with us to Nevada!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

I couldn t be happier. My son is in the 6th grade. When he enrolled at Metzler (dyslexia) he could barely read. Because of Metzler he is excelling in Middle school with all A's an the occasional B. My daughter also attends - she is so happy and well adjusted, he self esteem has flourished due to the positive experience of each and every member of the Metzler Staff. Thank you for all you give.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2005

Outstanding, Ms. Rigia has to be the best principal I have come in contact with. She is completely in the education business for the kids, not to be an 'administrator'. The PTO is strong and the activity level is outstanding. Being a brand new school doesn't hurt either, as they have the latest and greatest teaching aids and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

118 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

127 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

125 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

130 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

126 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

127 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

132 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

132 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female93%
Male89%
Black or African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students92%
Female96%
Male87%
Black or African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female91%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students94%
Female95%
Male92%
Black or African American89%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students94%
Female93%
Male95%
Black or African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education100%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Female78%
Male69%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special education50%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted72%
Bilingual38%

Math

All Students65%
Female62%
Male68%
Black or African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education22%
Not special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant65%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted63%
Bilingual67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Female84%
Male73%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education20%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted78%
Bilingual29%

Math

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted89%
Bilingual81%

Writing

All Students72%
Female80%
Male63%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)6%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted71%
Bilingual0%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female88%
Male78%
Black or African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education67%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted83%
Bilingual20%

Math

All Students86%
Female88%
Male84%
Black or African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education38%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted85%
Bilingual50%

Science

All Students88%
Female86%
Male91%
Black or African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education67%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)46%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted88%
Bilingual45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 29%
Hispanic 30% 52%
Black 9% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 6%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8500 West Rayford Road
Spring, TX 77389
Website: Click here
Phone: (832) 484-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT