Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Broadway Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 867 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

This school is wonderful. The teachers continue to go above and beyond for the students and I don't feel they are only teaching to a test. As a parent they have listened to my concerns with open ears. I am very happy with this school because of the teachers and warm friendly environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

This school is a good school with teachers who love their jobs. My child had a great experence. She was challenged throughout the year. She always felt welcomed and accepted from day 1 even when she started mid-year. It was very positive and parent involvement is encouraged. Administration is always available to answer questions. Teachers are available to meet with parents whenever the need arises. We are very happy to be here and would recommend this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

This school is not as good as it seems. Third graders are given a very large amount of homework and tested frequently, as if testing will somehow make them smarter (it is like measuring your child every day to see if they are getting taller as opposed to focusing on diet, exercise, etc). I sincerely believe the school is working hard to improve its test scores / funding as opposed to understanding what it takes to help a child be successful and like to learn. My child has reading issues and I was told by his teacher that this was due to English as a second language. Although my wife is Mexican, my child does not speak anything other than English!! My child's teacher also mentioned that she was unaware of his reading issues. This was a surprise to me since he has been at this school since Kindergarten. Communication and record keeping are obviously not strengths at Broadway. As we discussed options to help my child's reading. it became obvious to me that teaching techniques were limited. Later I discovered that as long as my child is classified as ESL he will not get extra help. This is not a great school especially if your child needs creative techniques/extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

Great school, lots of vivant and intelligent teachers excited to teach our children and just as excited to see them learn and be challenged just as we are. Couldn't have picked a better elementary for our children to be apart of. And I love the open door policy that all the principal and assistant principals have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

My familiy moved to the area this school year, and am very unsure what all the hype is about this school. Has everyone lowered their standards in what they expect. My kindergartener got written up for not sitting in his seat on the bus with the threat of not getting to ride the bus. A few weeks later my 3rd grader got physically attacked on the bus never hitting back( bus driver confirmed this) yet that student never missed a day riding the bus. I feel that's unacceptable. As far as curriculum the school may be making the grade with the state, but neither one of my kids are challenged. They came from a school that makes it a point to have each and every student doing their best. It's hard as parents to be the only one pushing and challenging your kids to do more and do better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

Excellent School, my children love being here and a great place to volunteer. Excellent area to live. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

My child is doing great at this school 3rd-4th grade. She loves the teachels and the councelor's dog Mocha. She's not ready to go to Tom Cox yet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2009

My child just finshed Kindergarten and has done very well especially in reading and spelling. School has an excellent reward system of Gold Stars which lead them into the Hall Of Fame. Also a great area to live.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

School is Great! we just move from Florida My son is going on his second year Riding the bus, wea are really happy my son likes it alot,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

Great school, my kids love it, and they get lots of individual attention
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2008

This is a brand new school within the subdivision of Spring Trails. We have liked the school, energy of the staff, and activities. I have felt that parent communication is what you make of it, if you are involved (volunteer) you hear about stuff going on... if you don't you really won't. I feel like my child could be challenged more.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

136 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

135 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

126 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

126 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

128 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female93%
Male97%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education100%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
Black or African American94%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
Black or African American81%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students98%
Female100%
Male95%
Black or African American94%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Black or African American77%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education78%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students91%
Female89%
Male93%
Black or African American77%
Asian100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education67%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female94%
Male85%
Black or African American73%
Asian83%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education57%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education57%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students88%
Female94%
Male84%
Black or African American87%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education29%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 29%
Hispanic 21% 52%
Black 8% 13%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 6%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2855 Spring Trails Bend
Spring, TX 77386
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 465-2900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT