Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hailey Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 697 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2014

Great School! Teachers and staff are very caring and do look at the individual needs of each child! They are also all very approachable! Both my kids love going to school every day...there is always some activity going on that keeps the kids interested...economic fairs, chili cookoffs, jingle bell run, read ins, carnivals etc...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

best school my son was in 1 and 2 grade love the teacher and very great parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2013

Hailey elementary is a fabulous school with quality teachers trully caring and dedicated for the success of the little ones. Our children feel happy and safe there. They take genuine interest in the classroom material and love the nurturing atmosphere in this school. The program is challenging and far ahead of the other schools in Houston - Spring area, we see out childrens' progress every day and it comes in stark contrast with other public schools. Our children are very well equipped with knowledge to continue their education on a higher level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

Hailey elementary has a wonderful, caring, and involved staff. The principal and assistant principal greet children at the front door every morning and know them by name! I feel fortunate that my children are able to attend such a positive and nurturing environment. Hailey is the role model for what every elementary school should strive to achieve. Kuddos to the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2010

I had 2 children attend Kindergarten at Hailey. I was impressed by the level of caring, concern, and commitment that the teachers, the principal and Asst Principal showed for the students, their education, and the environment at this campus. Overall, there is great leadership at this school. The only weakness at this campus was a large percentage of socioeconomically disadvantaged kids come into Kindergarten with no previous school experience. That meant that a large portion of K was spent trying to catch these children up to the others who already knew their letters, numbers, and were beginning to read.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

I have had three children at Hailey and was thrilled at the level of encouragement and success they experienced. The Principal and Asst. Principle show great leadership and the teachers, that I have met and dealt with, are exceptional people that put the childrens growth and development first and foremost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

We move around states a bit and I've seen a number of very nice schools - this one falls below any we've experienced. It seems that the teachers are overwhelmed. I was a regular parent tutor and I saw teachers yell and behave in ways that I believe any parent would be shocked by, if their child was the recipient. The VP, Ms. Horne, seems to want to make the school better. I cannot say much for the principal, Ms. Nichol.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

The school administration and staff have been without hesitation extremely accomodating to my child's needs in the classroom setting. The school seems very well run and organized, while projecting a positive and friendly atmosphere for the children. My child is quite happy there, and I feel very fortunate that Hailey is our home school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

We had the best teacher for my childs 1st year in school. The pre-K program however is only for low-income was the only draw-back I see at Hailey. They have a well organized program my child made good progress in K, and the teacher worked with me to help my child in learning difficulty area's, through different suggestions for home activities. We look forward to another year at Hailey. The principle & v-principle both addressed concerned I had w/ different matters concerning my child right away. The new playground was a hit with all the students. & the teachers planned fun parties through-out the year for the K classes. K parents be prepared to drop your K-student off at the front door during the 1st 4 weeks & no lunch visits as well during that transition period, per Ms. P.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

Great school. Wonderful environment and supportive teachers. We have nothing but superior experiences at Hailey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2003

The staff and teachers are excellent, my daughter has shown so much improvement in just a short amount of time. We will definitely strive to stay at Hailey, keep up the great work you do !!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

145 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

145 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

151 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

152 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

143 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students94%
Female93%
Male97%
Black or African American88%
Asian89%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education75%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female96%
Male91%
Black or African American100%
Asian73%
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education71%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black or African American83%
Asian67%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education50%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female94%
Male88%
Black or African American85%
Asian80%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education86%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students88%
Female90%
Male87%
Black or African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education83%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Female85%
Male79%
Black or African American57%
Asian100%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education63%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students84%
Female90%
Male79%
Black or African American57%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education43%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students79%
Female82%
Male76%
Black or African American50%
Asian100%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education44%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 29%
Hispanic 29% 52%
Black 9% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 6%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12051 Sawmill Road
Spring, TX 77380
Website: Click here
Phone: (832) 663-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Treetop School
Spring, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT