Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Spring, TX
Students enrolled: 317
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Vista Academy Of The Woodlands 4

Posted May 10, 2015
- a parent
This is the first year my kids have gone to Vista. We came from a very large public school, and we Love vista academy! The staff is great! The school is small and I really like that everyone knows who you are and who your kids are. My kids have learned so much this year ! Best decision that we have made!

Vista Academy Of The Woodlands 1

Posted April 13, 2015
- a parent
This school is utterly ridiculous! Even the teachers LOOK like they hate it there. I challenge you to get one to say that they really like it there. Heck, most of them won't even send their own kids to the school.


Vista Academy Of The Woodlands 4

Posted April 10, 2015
- a parent
Our son is in his second year at Vista Academy and I believe he is receiving a very solid education. One has to realize that the school has only been in existence in this location for a few years, and the principal has made great deal of forward progress since he took charge in the fall of 2013. Yes, the school is on rented property and they don't have everything a large public school would have, but they do have relatively smaller classes and a motivated staff of teachers. They are not perfect, but they do respond to constructive insight and adapt as needed. Yes there are what some may think are draconian rules on not using cell phones nor being absent but those are there for a reason: .the kids need to be paying attention and have to show up to learn. Since it is funded by the state based on tuition, they do need to make sure the kids are present. One of the reasons I do like it is that a parent can get involved and make an impact. Finally, since my wife is a substitute teacher at a few of the local public schools, she has seen that Vista does seem to have an edge in children who are more motivated to learn and parents who seem to care.

Vista Academy Of The Woodlands 1

Posted February 22, 2015
- a student
I want to leave but i cant. Reasons why i want to leave are these; all the teachers dont give warnings, they interact with the parents so much that they actually control your kid they take up weekends tutoring you if you are one of the unlucky 95% of tutoring students, they make you buy supplies the principle will let you get away with everything, because of that there is lots of cursing and vandalisms, even some teachers seem to forget that they need to use apropriate language, there is also bullying, blackmail, and threats. back to the controlling part, the teachers tell the parents what to do and tell parents to take stuff away they also are mean to particular students and if mad at students they will get them in trouble. if you brought a phone to school and they see it they will take it away for a certain amount of time and wont let parents pick up phone either the times are 2 months 4 months 100 days or the entire semester, im not even kidding, i mean is that even legal.

Vista Academy Of The Woodlands 5

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
I love this place. This is our third year at Vista. The teachers have been wonderful with our kids. We took them out of regular public school and never looked back. The teachers put in extra time with the kids even on the days they have off. We enjoy the smaller class sizes. Any school you go to will have issues and Vista is no different. I feel the good out weighs the bad and I would recommend Vista to anyone.


Vista Academy Of The Woodlands 1

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
This is our 3rd year at Vista. The 1st year was great. We chose Vista, because we were sick of test prep at the public school. This year everything is about the test. 80% of the kids are required to go to mandatory Saturday school for STAAR test prep. Disciplinary action and expulsion will result if your child does not attend. If you want to the focus of your child's education to be test prep, then Vista is the school for you.

Vista Academy Of The Woodlands 5

Posted August 13, 2014
- a community member
2 of my clients kids attends this academy in the woodlands an r straight A students .. when they started there they could barely pass the admissions test ...today they are bright scholars!!!

Vista Academy Of The Woodlands 1

Posted December 04, 2013
- a parent
Things to consider - Extremely high teacher & student turn over, Classrooms are tiny, teachers do not get the support/training they need, teach to the state test, they (Responsive Eduction) are all about $$ they get for each student being enrolled & doesnt invest it back in the school (just opening new campuses) Spirit Filled Celebration Church makes A LOT of $$ off the school but won't add things/charges to use the auditorium which the PTO has to pay for, PTO buys most the supplies for the teachers which responsive education should pay for, no real technology or textbooks, tiny playground, no room to run, no school nurse, state test scores are extremely low, PE is on the concrete driveway everyday, jr. High spends 45 minutes of school each day putting up all the folding chairs/tables & vacuuming the lunch room, k-8th share one set of bathrooms and the big thing teachers won't enroll their own kids there.


Vista Academy Of The Woodlands 5

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
This is our second year, at Vista, and it has been wonderful. There have been a few small issues, but the teachers and staff continue to put our children first. Mine is learning a great deal more than what she did in public school. It also teaches them to be more independent as they get older. The PTO is also very involved and do a great deal for the kids and teachers.

Vista Academy Of The Woodlands 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Great School. We are excited to be back and it looks like this year will be the best year yet for my children. We are excited to see all the changes and the staff's genuine enthusiasm even while working on the hot parking lot during pick-up. Great people equals a great school and we feel blessed to be a part of it. Thanks everyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vista Academy Of The Woodlands
6565 Research Forest Drive, Spring, TX  77381
(972) 316-3663
Last modified Vista Academy Of The Woodlands is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vista Academy Of The Woodlands Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top