Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spring High School

Public | 9-12 | 3451 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2012

Spring is your average suburban high school. The main problem is the overcrowding. Once they build the new high school, Spring will be excellent again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

I pulled my child out of the school. I spent two days at the school. It is wild in the halls. The fights are really bad. I know of 10 kids that have been pulled out this year for home schooling. I know the kids hate the rules but its because the kids can't control themselves. I think that for a few months that the kids need to walk in lines like the little kids have to. No talking. Take everything away. The better they are the more they get back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

They waste so much money, like, they dont have enough money to have enough teachers so we can have small classes, but they have enough for every teacher to get and ipad, and have 4 unused flat screen TVs. Ive never seen them on once. And we cant wear hoodies, even though they keep the school 2 degrees all day. And they moved our times so theres alot of trafic getting to school, and the cops dont even direct traffic. They leave as soon as all the busses are gone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2010

I have been at Spring High school for over 10 years. The school has definately changed. The leadership has shifted in many ways giving the instructional staff the tools to require students to be engaged in their education, not just sit back and wait for information delivery. The student population has also changed in this time period. For the most part when the students are in class they willingly participate in activities. Sure crowinded halls are a problem and there are always going to be behavior issues and the rare teacher irritated on a bad day. But the punishments are handed out with equity. Requirements from district, state, and federal forces shape the focus at various points in the year. SHS has an exceptional fine arts programs and ahigh achieving honors program. Athletics are competitive with the best in the area. I am proud to be a SHS teacher!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 17, 2010

I transferred to Spring after Spring break '09, and, I must say, it's a miracle that I was promoted to the next grade level at all. The teachers didn't seem to really care that I was 'new' and made me do just as much work as other students -- Including projects! It's about to be my 3rd year here, and, I still hate this school. Many of the teachers here are just rude. The rules they have are ridiculous, and, the money this school could be spending on very much needed improvements, they spent on some stupid 'Shattered Dreams' program. Guah.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2009

I transfered to Spring in the middle of my junior year and it was better then the high school i had went to before. A greater percentage of teachers cared for students and their well being. While athletes did get some special treatment, the same teachers that gave a break to the athletes would give the same break to you if you needed it. The TAKS scores were low when i went there and the school was doing everything it could think of to help the students. It is a great school and i am happy to say i graduated from Spring High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2009

Spring High is a very good school.It has many extra-curricular activities to choose from, and an excellent Honors Program.It was very crowded, however, before the new High School was built.I think some of the problems mentioned in the other reviews are problems that exist at all schools to some degree.For ex.: I believe, focusing too much on TAKS scores is NOT just a Spring High issue but a Spring ISD, and a State of TX, issue & needs working on.You will find the same thing at MANY, ISD's in TX.Also, it seems like a lot of kids today (not all!) are not as disciplined as they used to be & are more interested in socializing at school than in their school performance.This makes for a disruptive atmosphere for the students who really care about 'getting the most' out of their high school education so they can get into the best possible
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

The worst part about this school is that nobody seems to care about what my opinion of the 'worst part' is. Do you get me? I'm not a human, I am a tech-know-lodge-ee-kahl career with low TAKS scores. I have never experienced such a restrictive, degrading and altogether arrogant school system in my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2008

I am a current student at SHS and I must say that I do not enjoy it at all. I will say that about 90% of the staff jumps to conclusions as if all the students are the same. It may not seem like much, but it does effect most. An the new principal at Spring, I'm not a big fan of his. I don't like how he is trying to change so much at Spring. I have been begging my mom to let me go to this other school in Aldine district because I feel that there Taks scores are higher than Springs. I feel some of the teachers that teach here, shouldn't really be here. I feel very strongly about giving them 2 stars
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2008

As a former student of SHS, Spring was a good school except for the fact that if you were a football player, you could choose your own grade. Knowing current students and others that would know, the diversity of SHS is changing along with Spring itself and and as that happens, parents' involvement in their kids studies aren't as apparent and the work ethic of students decreases. This brings about the lowering of standards in order to pass and as a result a lack of a better education for students who are there to learn.


Posted January 11, 2007

Spring High School was and remains and excellent school, regardless of what others might say. The school has an outstanding program for students who are advanced for their grade, and the teachers are nice and cordeus. There is, indeed a lack of space, as well as other factors, but that does not make the school a bad one. The only people that i have seen get in trouble are the people who constantly misbehave, and when consequences are given they often overexagerate the actions the teachers took. The school has an exeptionally great music program. The band has been a constant finalist in various marching events, and currently is one of only two bands in the state of texas to win the Grand National Championship (The other band being the sister school, westfield). The band also has had many all-state players. This school is an excellent place. I highly reccomend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2006

My son came to Spring High School from Mc Neil HS in Round RocK Texas. At Mc Neil, he never had a run in with any of the staff members. When my son went to Spring High, he was punished for standing up for himself when he was being bullied by a couple of the teachers who were never held accountable for their actions. This school was a bad experience for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

There has been a definite decrease in the quality of education & the quality of teachers in the last 10 years. Overcrowding is an issue but the new school being constructed should relieve that. I do not like the new rules on dress codes, in particular hair lengh & facial hair. I have 5 children 3 grad from Spring to still in school so I consider my input accurite
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

Spring High School has drastically changed over the past 10 years. There was definitely a 'golden age' for Spring during the early 1990's however, it seems as if Spring is now in a depression. I frequently observe students 'playing the academic game' to get to the top of their class. There is a definitive gap between the 'academically focused' and those who go to school as mandated by law. There are frequent fights, disrespect for authority and students lack motivation. Spring needs a wake up call for its academics, athletics has taken the top priority it seems as all focus lends towards those activities as opposed to academic achievements.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2006

I attended spring high and graduated back in 1984. It was a great school back then. Now the school is overcrowded (God forbid there be a fire in between classes, the halls are packed with students, shoulder to shoulder.) and the school seems to be overwhelmed. All three of my children have attended Spring High. Mydaughter did well, but my boys are slipping through the cracks. Spring is adament about class attendance (Parents are fined and have to go to court if a child skips school.) But if the parent asks for help with a lagging child who is un-interested and hates school, the faculty is unable to help. (I asked the assistant principle if he could reccommend something to encourage my son and he literally shrugged and said 'I don't know.') Bottom line: if your child is self motivated, he or she will do ok, otherwise, they're doomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2005

There is a huge amount of extracarurricular activities students can be involved in. Academic programs are good and the level of parental involvement is outstanding.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 27, 2005

This school is becoming very diverse. There is no emphasis on spelling correctly in the whole district and the only main focus is how to pass the TAKS test. This focus has taken away from learning the fundamentals. There are few degreed teachers. THis was a good district 5 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

This school is too average but it will help students that are willing to study, although I dont known why is to strict.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2005

find FEB04 posting offensive -personal experience and that of others do not find a general academic apathy and mediocrity but rather an inability of many instructors/admin to inspire and include those students who do not fit the stero-type stepford student -thus they get 'kicked to the curb'...though rare and sometimes hard to find, there are a few teachers that do take an interest in and put forth an effort to reach those students who do not fit in the 'middle-class midstream box - Agree with Mar05 posting in that would like to see all teachers demonstrate utilization of the web for their classes, would also like to see SHS get on board with on-line grade tracking so that parents could view same- examples are Humble School and Tomball School districts...while state want parent involvement -find only interested in those that go along with status quo -
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

SHS campus is over populated (2890), the student ratio is too high per class. Lunches keep getting shorter to accommodate the # of students. Block scheduling should've remained opposed to implementing the semester scheduing. Would like to see more utilization of the web regarding classroom work. Look forward to future improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

998 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

983 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

826 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

817 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

806 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

799 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

778 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

783 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

789 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

778 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female96%
Male93%
Black or African American92%
Asian93%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students83%
Female82%
Male84%
Black or African American75%
Asian95%
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Special education36%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black or African American90%
Asian97%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Special education48%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African American95%
Asian97%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

733 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

946 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

499 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

802 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

857 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
38%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

715 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
96%
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

731 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
89%
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
63%
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
45%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
98%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

968 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

779 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students62%
Female66%
Male59%
Black or African American56%
Asian88%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special education27%
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant62%
Gifted/talented91%
Not Gifted61%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students96%
Female96%
Male97%
Black or African American98%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented95%
Not Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students83%
Female85%
Male81%
Black or African American79%
Asian94%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Native67%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education40%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students92%
Female91%
Male92%
Black or African American91%
Asian96%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Native83%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education80%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented97%
Not Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students54%
Female59%
Male50%
Black or African American48%
Asian81%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Native25%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special education12%
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)13%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant54%
Gifted/talented91%
Not Gifted52%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students25%
Female31%
Male20%
Black or African American18%
Asian54%
Hispanic26%
Multiracial17%
American Indian or Alaska Native22%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Special education2%
Not special education27%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English26%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant25%
Gifted/talented62%
Not Gifted23%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students74%
Female78%
Male71%
Black or African American70%
Asian69%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaska Native86%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education27%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)21%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant74%
Gifted/talented92%
Not Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students37%
Female39%
Male35%
Black or African American28%
Asian50%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial11%
American Indian or Alaska Native43%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Special education10%
Not special education39%
Limited English proficient (LEP)6%
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant37%
Gifted/talented63%
Not Gifted31%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African American98%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Gifted100%

English III Writing

All Students85%
Female87%
Male82%
Black or African American82%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Gifted/talented88%
Not Gifted75%

Geometry

All Students86%
Female84%
Male89%
Black or African American82%
Asian93%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education53%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented93%
Not Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students73%
Female72%
Male73%
Black or African American61%
Asian89%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Native60%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education29%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%
Gifted/talented98%
Not Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students65%
Female60%
Male71%
Black or African American56%
Asian77%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial69%
American Indian or Alaska Native50%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education15%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)31%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant65%
Gifted/talented85%
Not Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 52%
Black 29% 13%
White 26% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 3%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DONNA ULLRICH
Fax number
  • (281) 891-7000

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • College/career center
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19428 Interstate 45
Spring, TX 77373
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 891-7003

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT