Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Abercrombie Academy

Private | PK-5 | 125 students

Abercrombie Academy prides itself with small class sizes and academic excellence
 
 

 
 

Living in Spring

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $174,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted yesterday

We are looking forward to a fabulous 2014-2015 school year! Open House will be held Monday, August 18th for students and parents to meet and greet your child's teacher. Preschool Open House will be at 9:00 a.m. for 3 year olds, 10:30 a.m. for 4 year olds and the Elementary Open House will be at 1:00 p.m. The first day of school is TUESDAY, AUGUST 19th. Go Abercrombie Armadillos!!!!!

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2014

My son has been in preschool and preK here in Abercrombie and we couldn't sing enough praises for Mrs Marsalis, Mrs Risdal and the rest of the team in the preschool building who nurtured the students like their own. My son loves going to school and has learnt so much from academics, to social skills and general knowledge. They organize fun activities and get parents involvement in field days, school performance and special lunches. I will be sending my son to K Abercrombie and transferring my 1st grader into Abercrombie in the next academic year. I believe as long as parents get involve, give constructive feedback and build good rapport with the team, this is the right school and environment for the kids. As for the plummeting student enrollment - this is quite possibly also due to the economy - in any case, a small class size means more one to one with your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2014

The new owners of the past 3 years, which recently packed their bags and ran, drove the school into the ground. Student population plummeted - for the 2013-2014 year, grade K had about 6 kids, 2nd grade dropped to 9, 4th and fifth grades had about 4 and 5 kids. The newly hired teachers (grade 3, 5 and art) were fantastic, but none of the teachers know now if they will have a job for 2014-2015 year. The original owner's son has now taken over, the principal was fired, and other changes are in the works, but it will take the school years to recover, if it can. So many parents pulled their kids out this year, and many more are not planning to return. Hopefully the new administration will listen to what parents have to say and deal with the hard issues, and fire those who need to be fired, even it they have been with the school for many years. It's obvious that it's just not working!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

The teachers are great and so is the after school staff. The students must work hard (lots of classwork and homework) and learn quite a bit. Class sizes are quite small. The librarian/secretary is also great (not sure why she was criticized in another review). The after school programs are a mixed bag--lousy Spanish and computer programs, but good art, PE, and martial arts programs. The problem with the school is entirely with the administration--the principals and the headmaster. (This very small school has two principals and a headmaster. The headmaster is the owner and one of the principals is his daughter.) There is zero input sought from the parents about changes made to the curriculum or to school policies (the hot lunches are gone now and the uniform & backpack requirement is stricter, but with cheaply-made polyester shirts--bad for the kids, good for the school's finances), or how tuition is collected (through a 3rd party, with big late fees) or how many "half days" there should be. (The half days are great for the staff but terrible for the parents). But the teachers are dedicated and succeed despite the administrators. That's the best thing about Abercrombie.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Abercrombie seems to be a school that does some things really well and others really poorly. The teachers at the school are excellent. From preschool to 5th Grade, the teachers are strong. They need more training for their specialties but mostly, they are great. The administration in the elementary building is terrible! The front office, from the secretary to the principal, are rude and seem to forget that the people are their customers. For a school that is shrinking in class size, no one seems to listen to parent concerns. Unless there are some changes, this school may close.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

My child attended Abercrombie for 2 years. I feel that because of this he was able to excel at his new school. He is currently GT in all his subjects and taking part in the Duke University TIP. His teachers at Abercrombie helped him thrive and learn, in education as well as socially. The teachers there are excellent and the academics are above schools in the surrounding area. From the core classes to the specials everything is taught with a much more detailed understanding than the basic principles. I have also witnessed the teachers and staff go over and above for students who may need extra help or even just a hug. They are all very caring and understanding. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for an outstanding private school in the Spring (and surrounding) area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2012

Well my last review in 2011 is no longer here so I will repost with more info. My son attended in 2010. We foond the teacher was very un-approachable as though she felt she was better than anyone else. The staff I believe really cares MUCH more about the school than the children. This is not the scholol for parents that want a "working partnership" between school and parents. This year my son opened up more about his experience at aercrombie and I am sick to my stomach that we took him there everyday. He was treated disrespectful and humiliated by teh teachers for a handicap. If we had know and were still living in Houston I would have been suing them, not for money but to pull the accredition so other children would not be subject to the staff. Maybe if you are wealthy and can contribute additional money to teh school beyond teh tuuition, you may have a better relationship. Bottom line is they are a BUSINESS for money, not children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

My child attended pre-k and kindergarten at Abercrombie until we moved away. It's one of the better private schools in the Spring area. His main teachers were experienced, kind and gentle but firm with the kids. My child left kindergarten a very strong reader and ahead in math. Half the class would go to an elective, such as computer and half the class would stay for reading. With 6 kids, his teacher would listen to each one read and note down where the child needed help. My child later attended an extremely competitive school where he was near the top of the class in reading and spelling and I think going to Abercrombie was a big reason why. The only drawback I found at Abercrombie was art class- I think mainly because of the teacher. My child told me the art teacher would frequently get mad and yell at the kids. Other than that, we loved this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

I have had a child at this school for 2 years. They did not go back this year. The staff lacks the ability to communicate with parents effectively. Also, I read the now somehow deleted negative review by the parent back in April 2010. Right on the money about several issues at this school. Mrs Abercrombie is wonderful with the children. Some of her lower grade teachers need to remember that they are adults and behave as such. Last year one of the teachers for one of my children was embarrassed of their active energy in ART so she told them to put heads on the desks and she threatened to hit their desks so hard with a ruler they would go deaf if she heard a peep out of them. NOT WHAT I WAS PAYING FOR! IMMATURE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

Our family has 2 children that currently attend Abercrombie and we are so pleased with the entire school. The administration is accessible and friendly, the teachers have a love for children and a love to teaching. The support teachers - computer, PE, spanish, music, art, library - suppliment the children's education. I believe that Abercrombie takes the task of 'growing the whole child' to a level that many schools cannot hope to achieve. If you are looking for a school for your child, you should consider Abercrombie Academy. This school is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

My children currently attend Abercrombie Academy and we have had nothing but an exceptionally positive experience with the Preschool and Elementary. I am thrilled with the well-rounded and challenging academic program the school offers and especially the low student/teacher ratio. I know for a fact that the teachers who are employed there are well qualified and are there because of their love of teaching. The current principal and administrators have incredible educational backgrounds and tenure. We are so fortunate to have the school's founder involved on a daily basis. It was disheartening to read the unhappy parent review from April 13, 2010 as he or she must not have been aware of parent/teacher conferences as this is the norm at any private or public school. This is an amazing private school where students can truly soar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

Both my son and daughter attended Abercrombie Academy and I would highly recommend the school for any age. The intangibles that they offer are priceless! The administration are professional and organized! The teachers are not only teachers but care about building relationships with their students and their parents. Go Armadillos!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

excellent well-rounded curriculum, wonderful staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

I absolutely love Abercrombie! Both of my children have gone through their pre-school and elementary.I will have been involved with them for 12 years when my son graduates in 2 yrs. They offer a program that is solidly centered around strong academics, small classes, and a whole lot of love! I only wish that they would extend their school to include Middle School. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2004

I have one child in first grade and one child in the pre-school program of Abercrombie (on Theiss Mail Route). We have been here for the summer camp programs and for almost two school years. I love this school, and my children are very happy here. The school has 2 first grade classes; one has 9 students and the other has 10. Both first grade teachers are excellent and really care about the kids. We also had a great experience with the kindergarten. I feel like both of my children have received an excellent education. And Mrs. Abercrombie is at this campus. She is always around and accessible if you have anything that you wish to discuss with her. The school takes a parent survey every year and is very receptive to responding to the survey. If you are in our area, you should check out Abercrombie!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Terry Abercrombie
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • TAAP

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Computer
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Phyical Education
  • Tae Kwon Do
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Substitute Teachers
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17102 Theiss Mail Rd
Spring, TX 77379
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 374-1730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Klein Annex
Spring, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT