Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
125 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Effective April 21, 2014, the Abercrombie family regained full ownership of Abercrombie Academy. Founded in 1977 by Cathy Abercrombie, Abercrombie prides itself with high academic standards, highly qualified and trained teachers, and a small student/teacher ratio. As a private accredited school, we do not have to "teach" to a state-mandated test but rather teach the whole child. We look forward to continuing our traditions of hands-on learning with our STEM-based curriculum, field trips, guest speakers, musical performances and extracurricular activities that set our school apart. Abercrombie is accredited by the Texas Alliance of Accredited Private Schools (TAAPS) and affiliated with PSIA academic competitions, Duke University's Talent Identification Program (TIP), STEM Education Coalition, Scripps National Spelling Bee, and the Anti-Defamation League as a "No Place for Hate (R)" campus. We are proud of our students' exemplary Iowa Assessment scores that continually rank in the top of the nation. We encourage our parents to become involved in our PTO and PSIA competitions. Our STEM and Lego WOW summer camps are a great way to keep minds sharp, have fun and prevent the summer slide. GO ABERCROMBIE ARMADILLOS!
May 12, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
Homework should help to reinforce concepts taught in the classroom and not implemented as "busy work."
Posted June 02, 2016

Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
Students are taught through hands-on learning, to engage in thought-provoking classroom discussion and challenge themselves outside of the classroom through academic competitions and involvement in after-school groups.
Posted June 02, 2016


Abercrombie Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Bebe is the PreKindergarten aftercare teacher at Abercrombie Academy. I have observed, Ms. Bebe over the past year. How privileged my children are to have been in her care! I am so grateful for her kindness, gentle guidance, interesting and fun educational activities, and her great affection for all the kids. My family, as are all the other families at Abercrombie Academy extremely fortunate to have this wonderful woman take care of our children.

Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
We are thankful for our parents and families, for we would not have a school without our precious students. Additionally, we would not be the school we are without our amazing staff who work tirelessly to educate and nurture our young learners.
Posted May 12, 2016

Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
Our teachers are required by TAAPS to complete at least 16 hours of professional development each year. The school provides the majority of those in-service hours before the start of school year so our teachers do not have to attend staff development days over the holidays. We encourage our teachers to attend relevant educational workshops, webinars and any additional professional development so they can share with fellow teachers and staff.
Posted May 12, 2016


Develops respect:
SCHOOL LEADER
Each year we draft a Resolution of Respect that all students and staff members review and sign. It is a constant reminder and an invaluable resource when there is a need to settle differences or issues.
Posted May 12, 2016

Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
Through our "No Place for Hate" initiative, we constantly find new school-wide activities and topics of discussion to help maintain an environment of inclusion and embrace our diversity. We also involve our students in age-appropriate community service activities like singing at retirement homes, writing holiday cards and letters to the elderly, collecting food and clothing for the needy in our local community.
Posted May 12, 2016

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Effective April 21, 2014, the Abercrombie family regained full ownership of Abercrombie Academy. Founded in 1977 by Cathy Abercrombie, Abercrombie prides itself with high academic standards, highly qualified and trained teachers, and a small student/teacher ratio. As a private accredited school, we do not have to "teach" to a state-mandated test but rather teach the whole child. We look forward to continuing our traditions of hands-on learning with our STEM-based curriculum, field trips, guest speakers, musical performances and extracurricular activities that set our school apart. Abercrombie is accredited by the Texas Alliance of Accredited Private Schools (TAAPS) and affiliated with PSIA academic competitions, Duke University's Talent Identification Program (TIP), STEM Education Coalition, Scripps National Spelling Bee, and the Anti-Defamation League as a "No Place for Hate (R)" campus. We are proud of our students' exemplary Iowa Assessment scores that continually rank in the top of the nation. We encourage our parents to become involved in our PTO and PSIA competitions. Our STEM and Lego WOW summer camps are a great way to keep minds sharp, have fun and prevent the summer slide. GO ABERCROMBIE ARMADILLOS!
Posted May 12, 2016


Abercrombie Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a teacher
Our students and staff truly care for one another. We have kindhearted students who love their teachers, peers, and administrators. Those feelings are most definitely reciprocated.

Abercrombie Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a teacher
Our students are wonderful and are treated with respect and shown to treat others with respect as well. We are a No Place for Hate School and each child willingly signed our Resolution of Respect, to make our school a safe and fun environment!

Nearby schools

Abercrombie Academy
17102 Theiss Mail Rd, Spring, TX  77379
(281) 374-1730
Last modified Abercrombie Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top