Advertisement
Advertisement

Houston Learning Academy

Private | 9-12

 
 

Living in Stafford

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 26, 2012

Excellent and understanding teachers. A lot of one-on-one time between my child and the teacher, allowing her to excel in her academics. The competitive, yet non-stressful environment has really helped my daughter develop as a student and as a person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

This school saved my daughter from continued failure in the public school system. It might not be the school for all kids but those struggling with ADHD and a need for more personalized attention could really benefit from this atmosphere. It isn't your traditional high school, it is more like a family. The teachers and Ms. Monn take an interest in each student and get to know 'their story', their stumbling blocks. They understand where the kids are coming from and help them learn at their own pace while providing a safe, family like atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

I guess I should have written this earlier. This school increased my son's math awareness and his experience was positive, at least with learning. the teachers talked ugly to the kids though. The other staff was good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

The focus, as far as I can tell, is getting bodies in the classrooms and making the all mighty $$$$. It is run as for-profit and after doing some researched, is owned by a corporation. After enrolling my child at the end of last semester, and then experiencing their summer school (I use the term loosely) I would not recomend this school to anyone unless all you want is a baby sitter for 4 1/2 hours a day. It could be a great program for a small niche of students but it seems like the leadership of the school is in denial about the type of studnets that are enrolled, and the problems they face.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

My son's experience at HLA was extremely positive and really helped build his self-confidence. The small classroom gives the teachers the ability to work personally with each student. Thanks to HLA my son not only graduated on time but also improved his math and English skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

The classes are poorly organized, and there is no teacher student communication. better off in normal school isd's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2006

Poor leadership, little instruction, minimal resources...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

Fabulous for my dyslexic child for Spanish 1 & 2 Small classes and ind attention and a positive atmosphere made it a pleasant experience for her
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

My high school son was a poor fit in public school, being ADHD, a musician, and a non-athlete. He just never engaged in any meaningful group, and ultimately stopped wanting to go to school. A bad cycle of truancy, ISS, and encounters with a bad administrator seemed never ending. As an involved parent, it was heartbreaking and embarrassing. Houston Learning Academy gave my son a safe place to land. I will never forget my relief at finding adults who understood and cared about how he best learned, and how he could be re-enthused about learning again. Truly, HLA, Diana Monn, and the teachers, changed all our lives for the better. They are to be commended for creating an atmosphere where kids who need something 'more' than public school offers can find a peaceful and structured place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 37%
Black 13% 14%
Hispanic 13% 47%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3964 Bluebonnet Dr
Stafford, TX 77477
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 240-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Dulles High School
Sugar Land, TX


Excelsior Academy
Sugar Land, TX



YES Prep - South
Houston, TX


Iverson Academy
Houston, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT