Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lake Belton Middle School 4

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
Over all, a very positive experience at this school. However, the school administration should get involved in the selection process for the PALS program or just eliminate it all together. My child is a straight A student and very loved by the teachers. He couldn't wait to apply to the PALS program. When he finally got the chance, the Teen Leadership teacher rated him with all one's (lowest) on the teacher assessment, while other teachers rated him the highest. He was automatically eliminated from the process and wasnt allowed to interview. He was very hard on himself since a teacher rated him so low, and a little depressed about losing his chance at the PALS program. He would have been more understanding if eliminated by his peers following an interview. In the end it was a valuable learning opportunity but hurtful, none the less.

Lake Belton Middle School 3

Posted October 20, 2013
- a community member
The teachers are in general pretty good, but some are hard to get along with. My counselor, Mrs. Tepera, was absolutely wonderful. She seemed to take an interest in every one of her students, which is no easy feat since that's half the school. I did not particularly like the principal. The PALs program was wonderful for me. I felt like I was really making a difference. When Mrs. Street retires it will probably lose most of its greatness and become like it is at the other middle schools. They didn't seem to be able to do very much. Their no tolerance bullying policy is WONDERFUL. It makes the school a safer place to have your awkward stage;-) Academics are all right. I was able to sail right through with no struggle in anything but 6th and 7th grade math. The algebra teachers are just fantastic. They made it seem so easy, and they have a 100% passing rate on the EOC. No small feat for such a large school. All in all, a pretty good school. One more note on the PAL program: be a little wary of it. Depending on the kids, who have a very large hand in picking the next years PALs, sometimes the right people are chosen, and sometimes not. It is typically harder for the less-confident.


Lake Belton Middle School 4

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school, we had a great experience here for three full years but this school would be improved if they got rid of the PALS program which is hurtful to so many kids that are qualified to be in the program and get rejected so easily for all the wrong reasons, Also, Tennis and Swimming are not part of the athletics program and students in these sports have limited access to certain facilities and very little recognition. These sports are highly athletic and individually challenging and the school could do more to build these students up. Academics at this school is excellent, teachers and leadership is also excellent! We are very pleased with our experience here.

Lake Belton Middle School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
Excellent experience at this school for three years. Plenty of opportunities for advanced students. There is one particular sixth grade science teacher that almost ruined my child's love for science because she is just an angry person but otherwise teachering staff have been wonderful, leadership is excellent, and vice principals are always available to help resolve any concerns.

Lake Belton Middle School 3

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lake Belton Middle School 5

Posted November 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lake Belton Middle School 5

Posted October 25, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lake Belton Middle School 5

Posted May 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lake Belton Middle School 2

Posted February 28, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lake Belton Middle School 5

Posted October 28, 2007
- a parent
We moved from Kisd to Bisd this school year and what an improvement! Grades can be viewed online to date and I am even notified if a grade falls below the average I have set for notification! Teachers are wonderful about contacting parents and responding back very quickly if I contact them. This is the best move I feel we could have made for our daughter.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Belton Middle School
8818 Tarver Drive, Temple, TX  76502
(254) 215-2900
Last modified Lake Belton Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lake Belton Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top