Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Herman Furlough Jr Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 08, 2016
- a community member
Mr. Thompson has taken HFMS and turned it into an institution that is churning out top-notch students, and even more important, top-notch human beings.

Herman Furlough Jr Middle School 5

Posted April 08, 2016
- a community member
Herman Furlough Middle School is full of teachers who are not only top of the line in their content, but who build relationships with their students. Over the past several years, the bar and standard at HFMS has been raised and the proof is in the product. Love this school and their staff!


Herman Furlough Jr Middle School 2

Posted March 06, 2016
- a parent
This school has caused my blood pressure to go up numerous times throughout this school year. It is true the communication is horrible. The staff members do not communicate to the kids or parents about events that are going on. My daughter was in basketball and she was left at school because no one told her and another student it was time to go. Instead of the coach which to my knowledge has no experience taking responsibility he blamed the student. Unfortunately, this is the only middle school in Terrell so the staff members and principal takes advantage of this because if you want to stay in Terrell they know you have to put up with them.

Herman Furlough Jr Middle School 1

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
Mean principal to my family and granddaughter. Unfair treatment and using her as scapegoat. Prayer is needed for Mr Thompson.

Herman Furlough Jr Middle School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
This is my third child to go through HFMS. I will say it just keeps improving. The school district has seen huge changes in the last couple of years, from a new superintendent, new administration and new teachers. I shadowed my daughter at school today. The teachers were great, they were very invested and involved in each students education. I seen a lot of one on one time to make sure each student understood what was being taught. I loved seeing the principle pop in and out of the classrooms and standing in the halls talking to the students between classes. Great job on rebuilding the schools TISD..


Herman Furlough Jr Middle School 5

Posted December 29, 2014
- a community member
i love HFMS it is so awesome the teachers are great some parent think its bad and stuff but really they grow up with mean teachers were growing up to nice teachers and i dont care what yall say about our middle school it rocks its just that u cant always be learnig u have to have fun in some point and that is what our middle school do for us and i miss all my friends and teachers but dont worry i well be back HFMS

Herman Furlough Jr Middle School 2

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
It seems Terrell ISD has MAJOR communication issues. Despite an automated call out system- POOR overall comunication with parents.One incident involving a student occured and horrible Rumors circulated. The district took 4 days to address the issue with a blanket statement. Buses ran over an hour late one day and no notification to parents. This in freezing weather as my child stood outside waiting on the bus. The Pre-AP classes were ok according to my student. Dress Code too strict when they tell you what color socks to wear. Horrible cussing by students on the buses ( according to both my students) . I arrived one day at lunch to see my student and I walk in to the cafeteria area to hear a female ADULT screaming at the kids in the cafeteria over the microphone. Not acceptable! I WOULD SUGGEST SCHOOLING YOUR CHILDREN ELSEWHERE IF POSSIBLE.

Herman Furlough Jr Middle School
no rating

Posted December 21, 2009
- a student
Best school ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! my teachers are ms.Wood ws. Wong mrs.Candler mr.Goodson mr.Daniel ms.Miles!!!!!!!!!!!!!<3 luv yall lots it k.B.


Herman Furlough Jr Middle School 3

Posted November 30, 2007
- a student
This is my last year here at HFMS and I can honestly say I am going to miss this school alot.Even though some of the rules we have to follow are unacceptable and dumb I still love it here. The teachers are great and they have great dicipline skills.

Herman Furlough Jr Middle School 4

Posted June 26, 2007
- a student
My name is calvin kennedy there not too great but they are good and they dealt with my discipline problems and thats why i gave them above average my teachers was great especially my teacher mrs.Hutson she was my favorite teacher.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Herman Furlough Jr Middle School
1351 Colquitt Road, Terrell, TX  75160
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (972) 563-7501
Last modified Herman Furlough Jr Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top