Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dr Bruce Wood Elementary School 5

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
My son attended Wood Elementary for his 4th and 5th grade school years and I am so pleased. Jackie Cooper is such a jewel. She is so comfortable and genuine and honestly loves the children at Wood. I can tell that she wants to see each and every student succeed and encourages them to work hard and be respectful and kind. I love the way the staff rewards the students for their behavior. Anytime I have visited the campus it has been orderly and their is an atmosphere of happiness. I love Wood Elementary and so does my son. Thank you !!!!

Dr Bruce Wood Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
Jackie Cooper is a wonderful principal. Thank you for loving the kids so well. You are so appreciated!


Dr Bruce Wood Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
There have only been a few times where homework was too lengthy. For the most part my son can get his homework done at school.

Dr Bruce Wood Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff set the example for the students. I think it's just contagious at this school.

Dr Bruce Wood Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Awesome teachers! All the teachers my son has had are communicative, caring, thoughtful, always willing to help you in whatever you might need. For any child to succeed parents need to be involve in all they do! ;) GREAT PRINCIPAL TOO!


Dr Bruce Wood Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Teachers,staff treat each and every student with respect. And teachers will always keep u updated on your child's progress.

Dr Bruce Wood Elementary School 1

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
Do not like this school, nir the vice principle turner. My son use to love going to school but dreads going now. My wife and I are constantly at the school we've threaten to go to the superintendent sincr then my child has been having problens out of his teachers. Please don't send your kids here. As a maytet of fact vuew the ratings for the school, its low.

Dr Bruce Wood Elementary School 2

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
Poor parent Communication. We had a teacher change in the middle of the first semester in 5th grade and we still have not received a note or anything home about the change or an introduction to the new teacher. Email addresses are old on the website and included teachers/Staff that retired last year and it didnt have new teachers for this year listed. As of Jan 1, one teacher had not had access to her voice mail( 5 months of school year had gone by). I feel the principal is making an attempt to improve things and she has been the fastest at returning calls and emails. I am disappointed in many of the assignments being worked on by the students as they are not addressing the objectives but seem more just busy work. I have had no communication as to progress in reading level or lexile level. I fear that my student will do very poorly on the standardized test as I have seen no growth this year.


Dr Bruce Wood Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2013
- a community member
The new principal is doing a great job working with teachers, students, parents, and the community!

Dr Bruce Wood Elementary School 1

Posted June 02, 2011
- a parent
In my opinion this worst school ever. We have had nothing but problems .. My daughter was loving school until now .. Can't wait move and have fresh start somewhere else..

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dr Bruce Wood Elementary School
121 Poetry Road, Terrell, TX  75160
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (972) 563-3750
Last modified Dr Bruce Wood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 3-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top