Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
128 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 18, 2016
- a community member
Nobody here is worthy. Happy that after a while, I saw what this school was really like and removed my only child from this horrible, classless school.

Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 18, 2016
- a community member
They are partial to the rich, high society kids. Only they are exempt from some of the stuff. Like the kid whose parents went out of the country with him, in the middle of the school year for a weeks long, vacation, while all other students had to attend or face legal action for not showing up to school.


Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 18, 2016
- a community member
Only if yu have money and if you are the child of a councilman or related to the town's mayor or other high society person

Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 18, 2016
- a community member
No nurse on staff; if a child gets hurt, there is nobody on staff who knows first aid or CPR

Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School 1

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
This must be the Our Lady of Fatima way of doing things. My children attend OLOF in Galena Park, Texas. Our experience with our first grader and with the school mirrors yours. I will go in and rate them now for their unprofessionalism, inability to return change unless asked, noncertified teachers and counselors, retaliation against students when parent complaints are made, inability to speak with the principal in a timely manner, confrontational verbal and physical stance, excessive fundraisers, and inability to explain policies when asked.


Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School 1

Posted September 14, 2011
- a parent
New to OLOF this year. Our child is in the first grade class/ pros: small class size total of 11 students, nice buildings and gymnasium. Very proactive principal. Good coach. cons: Lack of information and organization. the mandatory fundraising seems excessive. NO teacher parent communication in the first grade class. NO feedback from first grade teacher, NO notice or explanation for punishment. NO weekly objectives or information on what is happening in first grade. First grade teacher is rigid and uncompromising. We were very happy enrolling our first grader here. But many concerns have come up. in the past week with the first grade teacher and there is no system in place for resolution. The teacher has targeted one student who is punished and disciplined daily which we reported to the principal and now our child is also suffering the same type of abuse. Phone calls and letters had had little response. I am not sure if the other grades have these issues. We did not think we would have any concerns with a private school but it would seem that it is worse as there is no recourse or accountability when teaching methods are in question.

Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School 5

Posted February 08, 2007
- a student
Our Lady of Fatima is a really good school because it is Catholic,and when we are there we live in the christian way.We learn many things and our teachers are just wonderful.We have P.E.,and we also have Spanish class.My favorite subject is library,because in our library we have lots of different books to read. This is the best school I've ever heard of,or been to, because I go there,so read more about it and get involved!

Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School 5

Posted January 16, 2007
- a parent
Awesome School...!!! My kids love it.


Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
Ten thumbs up if I had that many. My nine year old daughter has never been happier. I transferred her from public school last year and oh my what a difference. A lot of one on one, low teacher/student ratio and great teacher/parent communication. If at all possible, seek the school out and join the family!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School
1600 9th Avenue North, Texas City, TX  77590
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (409) 945-3326
Last modified Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top