Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stewarts Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 452 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in The Colony

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, August 15, 2014

The principal Mr. Cockerham is trying very hard to turn the school around, but it's going to be difficult to encourage all the teachers and most importantly - the PARENTS! We would attend class PTA meeting where no more than 3-4 parents would show up, very sad! the test scores continue to reflect the student population of this blue collared neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

This school is HORRIBLE. I will be taking my child out and to another school as soon as this year is complete. I would do it immediately but I would prefer my child completing the year and starting fresh. Not to mention teaching her to follow through. Communication is HORRIBLE, whether it be between teacher/parent, teacher/student, office/parent, principle/parent...communication is clearly something NONE (teachers and office) know about. If you have concerns, or hear, or even see something yourself that shouldn't take place....if you bring it up, it's nothing but excuses. They say "we'll work on that", but that's a lie. I've heard it more than once, more than three times and it continues. I have heard NUMEROUS times that teachers down talk the children. With the way I have been spoken to, it does NOT surprise me. Office staff seems to be flat out MISERABLE!! Never enthusiastic, seem to hate their job. You can walk in the office and stand there for a minute before you're recognized or acknowledged. Needs A LOT more upbeat and fun things for students to do....MORE HANDS ON!! Make the suggest and it's just shrugged off! My only advise, do check ratings at schools, ratings tell a lot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

There is such a lack of communication here in this school!!! Front office people never seem happy and never address you when you walk in. There has been some "issues" with my child, and when I have tried to address them with the teacher you pretty much get a "I'm only here for my paycheck I really don't care about your childs needs" attitude. I've talked to a few other teachers and they have all directed me to somebody else to handle the problem. Yet when I leave my name and number, emails and voicemails NOBODY ever calls back!!! Its SO frustrating when you are trying to address a problem and handle it nicely and go through the correct chain of commands and nobody seems to care! The people at the school actually seem to become more irritated when you are involved with your child's education! I am SO through with this school and pulling my children out! My advice would be to actually hire teachers and staff that actually care about the children's education and welfare. And be happy that some parents actually want to be involved and help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Everyone was very helpful. I was skeptical after I read the previous reviews about this school but the teachers are very friendly and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

I can't believe I'm saying this, but I'm THRILLED that my son will be OUT of this HORRIBLE school, and that we are moving to another school district. This is the third year the principal has been there and it's evident that under his leadership it's gone nowhere but down. For a once "Exemplary" school to slip to "Acceptable" status under new leadership is ridiculous. The front office staff is rude and completely unorganized, as is the rest of the administrative staff. Clear communication is sorely lacking. As a parent whose child was a first-time student, I'm so disappointed and frustrated with his first year of school. His teacher was great, but the rest of the stuff - completely awful. I would never, ever, EVER recommend this school, call it a "good school," or speak highly of this school, our experience was so bad. I knew from the time I enrolled my child, when I heard a teacher berating her students in the classroom next door, that this was going to be a bad experience and I should have fought for my transfer. So glad that we will be in another school district next year so he won't have to suffer with such a poor learning environment again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILDREN TO THIS SCHOOL!!!!! My children are treated poorly. Today my son was "lost" and they thought it was a laughing matter. I DO NOT THINK SO!!! A child with Autism who is left in the care of someone who he does not know is not a laughing matter. He was almost put on a bus, which he has NEVER rode on for the entire year. WTH??? I am so beyond fed up with this school it is unreal. I am about to pack shop and move to a better school where I know he will be treated better and SAFER!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

Had a chance to work in this school this past summer (2012), and the Principal is an A+ man with a vision. School is old, but has charm and they keep it clean. Besides, older schools have class! They offer many programs for an elementary school too! Most of the reviews here need to be more postive to foster a better community feel for their local schools that work so hard to educate the kids. GO STALLIONS, and best wishes in 2012/13!!!!


Posted August 5, 2012

Every day when my child back home and I asked about the day in her school (PK), she answer -The teacher was busy talking with other teacher and chewing gum. So, no matter what the kids are just three hours, the teacher have to put 100% attention in their classmate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

We are very pleased with Stewart's Creek. We were transferred there due to rezoning. We were very skeptical at first. Our daughter also had a difficult time transitioning.However, her teachers and the Principal have been readily available to discuss any questions or concerns. The principal is enthusiastic and knowledgeable regarding current trends and research in education. He also takes pride in relating this information to the teaching team. I work in Early Childhood Education. I plan classroom management programs and have helped implement a developing the "whole child" approach to preschool curriculum. This school "gets it"! Their top priority is ensuring that every child feels that they have accomplished something positive each day. We are no longer skeptics.... we are Stewart's Creek Stallions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

This is the worst school in The Colony! I am looking into home schooling my child. The teachers are very rude. The principal seems not to care at all. I woud never recommend this school to any of my friends or family. I would tell them to run scream the other way. They still have not done anything about the bullying issue. horrible communication issue between staff. JUST PLAN HORRIBLE SCHOOL OVER ALL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

There were a few things about this school that bother me. One it is an old building, which isn't bad, it's just dirty. I don't know how else to say it...just dirty. Another thing is that the teachers' morale is horrible. They don't smile when they pass you in the hallway or go out of their way to be friendly in the hallway when you are lost. The front office staff is just plain rude. The principle is very nice and is really trying to turn things around here. The problem is that the teachers complain that he micromanages and they resent the change. Parent involvement is horrible. To the point that it was just like pulling teeth to get info from the teacher about what was going on. She flat out said that she is just not used to a parent wanting to know all this stuff. Some faculty members have even pulled their own children out. We stayed as long as we could, but my initial gut feeling just never went away. It just wasn't for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

Stewarts Creek is the absolute GREATEST school, as a mother of 3 Ive had lots of school experiences and if all schools were ran as well as this one there would never be an issue with comfort. The principles, staff and teachers have been supportive of all my children and have been extra caring with my ADHD/PTSD child. They have went above and beyond to help insure a great education is recieved.I would recommend this school to everyone that once their child to have the best education.Money at a private school or another public school couldnt offer what Stewarts Creek offers their students.I would vote this the best school in not just Texas but the nation. If your looking for greatness look no further than Stewarts Creek Elementary..They are the BEST
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

This is one of the worse schools I have ever encountered. The principal is incapabile of speaking honestly and direct to situations as well as the assistant principle. The district reps have no interest in speaking with parents or addressing issues which helps to explain why the school operates as it does. I would not recommend anyone looking at relocating to The Colony, Tx move into the district of this school. Leadership and organization is poor, communication is rare and inaccurate and there is no real concern for working with parents as it relates to students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

This school is very unorganized and the office staff seems to have anger issues. The good thing about this school is that school seems to be very secure. You have to have a teacher let you in past the front office to get into the actual school. All other doors are locked.


Posted June 25, 2010

Stewart's Creek has developed into an impressive school over the past few years. The 2009-2010 school year resulted in SCE being an Exemplary school due to the amazing job of the teachers, staff and students. The kids are receiving a solid education which is all any parent could ask for. The school offers several extracurricular activities for the students including choir, environmental club, chess club, art club and bluebonnet reading club. My children are also part of the LEAP program for gifted and talented children where they use their creative minds to the fullest extent. SCE is a wonderful school.


Posted December 1, 2008

I hate this school! The office staff and principals are horrible to deal with and all have the attitude that they dont even like kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

I have had my kids in Stewart Creek for 3 years, and each year the school is becoming worse and worse. Since Mrs. Land has become principal she makes the school like a prison for the kids and parents. The office staff is very unfriendly and does not even greet you or acknowledge you when you come in and if you ask for email address or direct number for your child's teacher they will refuse to give that too you. I continue to ask for help for my kids and every year I am refused and they would rather your children fail and lose their self esteem before they will consider helping your kids. I am considering trying to move or pull my children from this school. The teachers my kids have had have been great but administration is difficult and unfriendly. LISD should seriously evaluate the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

My son had been in this school since kindergarten but we pulled him out this year. We always had outstanding teachers until last year. Communications seems to be a major problem and the staff all seems angry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

My family has been involved with Stewarts Creek for 4 years now and we are very pleased with the overall progress that seems to be taking place here. The teachers are great and care about the children very much. We have had nothing but great experiences with the staff. This is our final year at Stewarts Creek as our youngest will be attending Middle School next year. We will miss everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

I would like to say that Stewarts Creek Elementary is an excellent school that encourages children to learn. I moved to the neighborhood that is with in the schools boundries because I had heard many good things about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

46 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

46 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

48 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

48 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

47 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

47 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

46 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

47 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education88%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students85%
Female86%
Male84%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education75%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female89%
Male86%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students90%
Female79%
Male97%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students98%
Female95%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female86%
Male88%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students80%
Female77%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students72%
Female65%
Male78%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education60%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Female61%
Male84%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students38%
Female28%
Male42%
Black or African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Special educationn/a
Not special education40%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted35%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Female74%
Male63%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students41%
Female40%
Male42%
Black or African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Special educationn/a
Not special education44%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted39%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students66%
Female67%
Male65%
Black or African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted63%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Female65%
Male76%
Black or African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education60%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students60%
Female65%
Male56%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special education60%
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted60%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students64%
Female70%
Male60%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education60%
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted62%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 29%
Hispanic 31% 52%
Black 21% 13%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 9%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 10%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • ERIC COCKERHAM
Fax number
  • (972) 350-9145

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4431 Augusta Street
The Colony, TX 75056
Phone: (469) 713-5960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT