Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Colony High School 4

Posted May 31, 2016
- a community member
My son attended The Colony High School and obtained his high school diploma. He made lots of friends there and felt it was a very safe school.

The Colony High School 5

Posted April 12, 2016
- a teacher
I retired from teaching mathematics at TCHS after being there for 22 years. I feel that 90% of the teachers at this school are dedicated teachers and want the best for their students. The staff is also very conscience of safety at the school. The administration is supportive of the teachers and the students. TCHS has a wonderful fine arts program, athletic program and a great JROTC program. The administration and staff continuously strive to learn and use the best teaching methods and to structure their curriculum to meet the needs of ALL students. The science and mathematics departments are filled with high dedicated and enthusiastic instructors that prepare students in all aspects of STEM subjects. The AP program and AVID programs are also outstanding. Overall, if a student is willing to come to school to be successful in academics, prepare for college and be socially responsible, this is the place to achieve those goals.


The Colony High School 1

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
Bullied by kids Disrespected and embarassed by teachers Bad food I am torchered in this school, i hate it as much as campers in games

The Colony High School 1

Posted February 11, 2012
- a student
I attended this school for four years. As each year went by, I became increasingly irritated with this "school." There have been parent comments on this site in regards to "other aspects besides education" getting far more attention than the education itself. This is so very true. When I was a senior, about 60% (give or take) of the students in all of my classes could barely read at a 3rd grade level. These students were never assisted. However, despite my grades being very low (I was VERY lazy), it was my appearance that received the attention. I was suspended once for wearing a shirt my principal felt was inappropriate (it had an anarchy sign). Although it was illegal for him to suspend me for it, i was suspended for "insubordination" when I put it back on. They are absolutely biased and do not care about their students succeeding. The counselors would tell students that they could not test out of classes. Yes, yes you can. But then how will the school make money? Hmmm... overall, I was smarter than all of my teachers, save a short few. Do not send your children to this school. Charter schools are the way to go.

The Colony High School 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
We moved to The Colony four years ago as our daughter was entering high school, specifically for this high school. We have not been disappointed. The education she received has been excellent, she had teachers who not only taught their subject well, but went well beyond to make learning fun and build relationships with their students. Our daughter took 5 AP tests, and passed them all, thanks to the wonderful faculty and staff at TCHS.


The Colony High School 5

Posted August 10, 2010
- a student
As a current student who will graduate in 2011, I find that TCHS stands out as a school with countless possibilities for students. The school provides various sports teams (football, baseball, softball, track, swimming, etc.), as well as fantastic arts programs such as band, orchestra, and theater. As an orchestra member, I've found that the music programs are top-knotch (TC Orchestra is considered one of the best in the region). Besides extracurriculars, the classes are diverse and the teachers are excellent. For the most part, the staff works with the students individually to help guide and expand their knowledge. With such opportunities as gifted and AP courses, students are sure to find their experience at TCHS both enriching and challenging. For those who struggle, TCHS also offers after-school tutoring through the HELP program, and teachers often hold their own scheduled tutoring before and after school. Overall, a great school!

The Colony High School 4

Posted June 25, 2010
- a community member
I had good teachers and enjoyed the AP classes. The staff was helpful while working with students. Several clubs avaliable.

The Colony High School 1

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
This school has been a horrible experience for my child. After countless parent teacher meetings and meetings with staff they have done little to show they care about anything other then attendance and testing. Several of my childs teachers wait 3-4 weeks before putting grades in the books, so if there is a problem or missing assignment by the time you find out its too late to fix it. Tardies over 5 minutes are counted as full unexcused absenses and get 3 of those in a 4 week period they send you to court! Everytime we have gone up to the court there has been 50+ kids up there waiting for their turn. This is quite a lucritive business for them. As for clubs if your not into sports you are compleatly out of luck. There is no A/V, computer, art, or pop culture clubs. Overall horrible.


The Colony High School 5

Posted June 17, 2009
- a parent
This school is really great, my daughter really excelled and was in the advanced program. She was very happy with her teachers.

The Colony High School 1

Posted November 11, 2008
- a parent
TCHS does nothing to challenge its students. Graduates leave school with remedial reading & comprehension skills, and their required math assesment levels are close to 5th grade achievement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Colony High School
4301 Blair Oaks Drive, The Colony, TX  75056
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (469) 713-5178
Last modified The Colony High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top