Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ethridge Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2009
- a parent
Only been at Ethridge for one semester, but we love it! The school seems determined to raise well-rounded, confident kids. Individual attention is given as much as possible, and a real family environment is evident.

Ethridge Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
My daughter has attended this school for 5 years and she has had a wonderful experience--great teachers, wonderful art and music, and PE program that keep the emphasis on life long health. My husband and I are both college educated (he has a PhD) and we have nothing but praise for Ethridge.


Ethridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
It is only day 2 but I am already impressed. We had our children transferred from Stewart's Creek (no small feat) because of the nightmare we had experienced over there. Ethridge has a brand new principal this year and she seems genuinely eager and capable to make this school a positive environment for the students (the exact opposite from Stewart's Creek.) The teachers I have met have been extremely friendly and helpful. Our children are actually happy to be here. We are looking forward to a great year.

Ethridge Elementary School 3

Posted January 15, 2008
- a parent
I have had 3 kids either going through or still in Ethridge Elementary. There are some wonderful teachers there who want to see your child succeed and are willing to go out of their way to make sure it happens. There are others who seem to make it their life mission to redicule and demean your child until the only thing they care about is escaping the teacher. (And good luck with that, the teachers switch the grades so often it wouldn't surprise me if you could have the same teacher for all 6 years.) The extras are great, but I'd rather see them put a little more emphasis on good teaching instead of 'letting a kindergardener play chess'.

Ethridge Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2007
- a parent
I have found the school to be quite stellar. The staff is serious about educating the students and the parents are very involved. We are actually in the process of looking for a new house but are containing ourselves to a house in this school's district because we have been so pleased thus far.


Ethridge Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2007
- a parent
We have 2 kids there; K & 2nd. The majority of teachers are highly qualified and in love with teaching and being around children. EVERY staff member seems to know every child's name. Many grades team teach to work with the strengths and passions of each teacher. The extras are great and almost 100% VOLUNTEERED time by the teachers. The cleaning staff is impeccable too - its always clean. Where else can Kindergarten-level kids try chess? But my favorite part is the behavior of the students: they are all so respectful. Fifth graders protect the younger grades, not pick on them. Kids hold doors for ladies pushing in strollers and say thank you when you hold a door for them. Respect for each other is the central theme not just on paper but in what they teach through action.

Ethridge Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2007
- a parent
My daughter loves this school. The teachers are some of the best and they are truly involved with their students. This school does offer many more in-school and extracurricular activities than other schools in The Colony. It is a great place to send your child!

Ethridge Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2006
- a parent
My child loves this school. Ethridge offers a lot of 'extras.' This school has teachers that go above and beyond offering after school activities such as a writing club, choir, a jump rope team, a running club, tutoring and more. There is also a great PTA at this school and they provide a birthday table for the kids as well as buy needed items for the school. My child has also started learning sign language which is taught to the whole school on the morning announcements that are aired on TV in each classroom. I have found that every concern I've expressed to my child s teachers the last few years have been addressed with professionalism and courtesy. Over all, my child is having a good experience at Ethridge.


Ethridge Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2005
- a parent
This school was excellent! The principal is one of the greatest. She is truly involved with all the children and knows and cares about each one of them. All of the teachers I had dealings with were more than I could have hoped for. Special subject teachers (art, music, physical education and library) were above and beyond. Physical education was so much more than gym; children learned about health and fitness as well as many other areas. All of the teaching staff was dedicated to making your child's education be the best. Parent involvement was good and always welcome at the school. What a wonderful introduction to education for my child to experience.

Ethridge Elementary School 2

Posted June 13, 2004
- a parent
The principal at this school loves going thru the motions of hugging kids, etc however is useless for any investigations as is the LISD exective adminstration. Also if you child attends this school be prepared to not only pay your $1000's in taxes but have 3-5 fund raisers and umpteen other things for your child to do to raise more money. Avoid it if you can, unfortunately the rest aren't much better.

Nearby schools

Ethridge Elementary School
6001 Ethridge Drive, The Colony, TX  75056
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (469) 713-5954
Last modified Ethridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top