Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Anthony of Padua School 2

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
My child went to this school. It is okay, but not great. We decided to try one of the public schools in The Woodlands. My husband and I were very pleased. The reason there is a waiting list for this school is because it is the only Catholic School in the area. I did hear rumors that there might be a new Catholic School / Church developed in the future. Many people are asking for a new Catholic Parish in The Woodlands. That might change St. Anthony's smug and elite attitude.

St. Anthony of Padua School 3

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
St. Anthony of Padua is a good school academically. The students are challenged daily and there is more creative learning than found in public schools. Unfortunately, if your child does not fit their ideal student profile, it will be a very challenging environment for them. The school does not look at individual strengths and does not try to bring out the best in each student. The children who do not fit in their "box" are reprimanded repeatedly in a way that breaks their spirit. The school is very controlling and rigid and they do not care to consider any feedback. The principal is rarely seen. Despite many families leaving to go to other schools in The Woodlands, there remains a wait list so the school does not seem to be concerned with turnover. It is unfortunate that this is the only Catholic school option in The Woodlands.


St. Anthony of Padua School 5

Posted March 12, 2014
- a parent
St. Anthony of Padua is an awesome Catholic school. The Catholic Identity is strong and is found throughout the school from classrooms through extracurricular programs. Administration, teachers, and staff care about students. You feel welcome when you walk through the doors. I appreciate the new security features added to the campus to keep everyone safe. I think the education at St. Anthony of Padua is a great value for the tuition paid. My three children are who they are because of the great experiences they have had at this school.

St. Anthony of Padua School 5

Posted February 01, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing! It is Christ centered and students are surrounded by their faith throughout the day. Character education, exceptional academics, caring and nurturing staff and teachers make this school one of the best in the Woodlands. Administration do an excellent job leading the school and creating an environment for children to develop in mind, spirit, and heart.

St. Anthony of Padua School 5

Posted January 30, 2014
- a teacher
In September 2012, SAOPCS was recognized as a National Blue Ribbon school, selected because of their standardized test scores in reading and math which placed the school among the top 15% performing schools in the Nation. In 2013, the school earned another accreditation, this one from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Council on Accreditation and School Improvement, an accreditation division of AdvancED. SACS CASI provides nationally recognized accreditation, the purpose of which is continuous school improvement focused on increasing student performance. To earn accreditation, schools must meet SACS CASI s high standards, be evaluated by a team of professionals from outside the school and implement a continuous process of school improvement.


St. Anthony of Padua School 2

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
There is a lack of warmth and true compassion for others at St. Anthony. Children are being educated in an environment that is teaching snobbish behavior, bullying, mean girls, mean boys behavior and to hate jews and blacks as they don't have hardly any blacks there. I am white and feel outraged at what my child is learning in regards to diversity. Things need to change recruitment for more diverse teachers and students need to happen so our children are prepared for the real world and not a lily white snobbish atmosphere. God help our school spiritually we are ok academically.

St. Anthony of Padua School 5

Posted February 03, 2013
- a parent
This is my daughters first year as a fifth grader. She attended Galatas elementary and was then zoned to Mitchell middle school. Mitchell is too large, and had mean girls who enjoyed bullying. We quickly enrolled her into St. Anthony's and she loves it. They really teach children compassion and a non judgemental love for each other. Everyday my daughter tells me how nice everyone treats her. I missed the signs and the extent of the negatively and cruety that exists is in the public school.

St. Anthony of Padua School 5

Posted December 22, 2012
- a parent
This is our third year at the school and we absolutely love it! It is academically rigorous as exemplified by their recent recognition by the US Dept of Education as a blue ribbon school. By all accounts the surrounding public schools are fantastic as well - they just can't incorporate the religious aspect as we desire for our children. It is a huge financial sacrifice for us to attend (no fancy vacations or new cars in our driveway) but it is completely worth it. It is very fairly priced for a private school making it available to a wider cross section than other private schools. Also - financial aid is available to make it as accessible as possible to those desiring a Catholic education. If you are looking for a great Catholic school - this school is for you! It has a very nurturing environment. The principal is incredibly competent and has been at the school since its beginning so she has a good handle on short and long term perspectives and the blue ribbon speaks to that. The other parents are very friendly, welcoming, and most importantly involved.


St. Anthony of Padua School 1

Posted March 02, 2010
- a student
At this school, I found it's lack of discipline and strict rules on dress code to be unjust. The middle school staff is excellently trained in their subject of choice, but are limited by the head staff members. Also, some of their best teachers are frowned upon because they speak the truth, not what the principal is listening to hear. It would be an amazing school if they could just see that discipline is much more important then dress code, and staff should be picked on skill, not their willingness to tell them what they want to hear. They seem to think that everyone is made of money, they over price everything, thinking that they can rip people off. On a better note, I did enjoy the school trips and the students. Honestly, just send your child to public school, it will save you money for the same education.

St. Anthony of Padua School 5

Posted February 07, 2010
- a parent
This school provides great instruction and education but most importantly, builds character, develops self-esteem and confidence in children. It is very demanding, however my daughter attends and I've never seen her so committed and happy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Anthony of Padua School
7901 Bay Branch Dr, The Woodlands, TX  77382
(281) 296-0300
Last modified St. Anthony of Padua School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Anthony of Padua School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top