Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mitchell Intermediate School

Public | 5-6 | 1163 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

Mitchell Intermediate is a fantastic school. The overall acedemic standrds are high; teachers, staff and students work very hard to meet these expectations. Mitchell has an outstanding family- friendly environment. Parents feel welcomed and are encouraged to be a part of their child's education. Students, parents, and visitors feel appreciated; this is an important key to success for all schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

This school has amazing different ways of teaching children. They teach them how to be independent and do their own work so those parents that are saying they don't remind them to turn their projects need to grow up your kids need to learn how to be independent because you won't be there for them forever it's also a great introduction to McC
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

although I respect those opinions I have to strongly disagree. I was a previous student of Mitchell intermediate and I loved my LC (LC 8). In that LC I made many friends I still hold dear to my heart today. The work load at times was challenging there was no way I would have possibly been prepared for McCullough without going through what I did. With all do respect, stop babying your kids. You have to accept bullying is likely to happen in all schools and the teachers can't always be around to stop it. The woodlands is a highly poplulated area that's just going to keep growing to give the teachers a break they can't watch everyone at once. I was bullied briefly and I just had to learn to stand up for myself and it only made me stronger in the end. Sure some of the teachers aren't exemplary but the majority of them are. Of course you always have the option of homeschooling but homeschooling doesn't prepare your child for the real harsh realities of the world and the few homeschoolers I know are very sheltered and babied. They don't get the same kind of exposure I believe is essential to growing up. Yes, homeschoolers often finish school faster but they often cover the bare minimum.


Posted February 20, 2014

My 5th grader tells me the following about his math teacher: she eats during class, talks with the food in her mouth, sends and receives text messages while teaching. I have sent this math teacher several emails asking for clarification on certain matters. In every email response from her there are a least 2 significant spelling errors. My son tells me she often criticizes her students. He finds it difficult to accept criticism from a teacher he does not respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2014

Mitchell is by far the worst school to me that my kids have gone through. My 12 year old daughter has been getting bullied and of course no one has noticed. If you don't live in a home that's bigger than the next you are made fun of. Money money that's all the kids here seem to care about. If you don't have much of it sadly you won't be a "cool" kid. Just ridiculous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

Everything stated is true and is not slander of any sort. It sounds to me like this review comes from someone on the inside and if it is from a parent - you must have bullies at home! Probably the over sized red shirted ones that were held back for a sports and academic advantage. If we liked living in the dog eat dog world with people talking behind our backs, we certainly would not have chosen to live in The Woodlands. You are darn right that I am entitled to my opinion and my review was mild considering my horrible experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2013

My three children, who have completely different learning styles excelled at Mitchell Intermediate. We were so impressed with he care shown by every staff member. anytime I had a question, I received an email or phone call immediately. I read every review on this site and find it sad that anyone can write whatever they want. That almost seems like slander. Yes, everyone has a right to their opinion. I am here to say that my children have been to elementary, intermediate, junior high and high school in The Woodlands, and hands down, their best experiences were at Mitchell. Mrs. Klapesky, as the school principal and visionary, has led an incredible staff of talented teachers. I appreciate what the school is doing to address disrespectful children. As we know, we deal with "mean people" our whole lives. Those playground bullies are now the same adults cutting your car off on the road or still gossiping about you in the neighborhood. We have to teach our children how to inform bullies that their behavior is inappropriate and that is doesn't bother them. That can only happen at home. It isn't the school's responsibility to shape behaviors. A BIG high five to Mitchell-an AWESOME school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

I have been very disappointed with this school - the teachers cannot teach - one quote, "this is math not logic so do it my way, not the way the book is telling you..." I have had to spend countless hours outside of school with my child teaching them the subject material in all four core subjects (I am doing the teachers' job). After numerous meetings, I find it is hopeless to get the attention of anyone that cares. The fine arts department is outstanding however, and is the one shining light in a dismal educational environment. The parent involvement is minimal as they prefer parents to stay uninvolved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2012

I am very concerned about the bullying in 5th grade. It appears to still going on. My son has different looks, ethnic, than most of the students and I feel for this he is being picked on. The math teacher is horrible. She is not teaching. He started out well and his grades are decreasing. Parents have complained with no results. I feel they are overwhelmed due to classroom size and basically do not teach. The websites are not updated and the newsletter comes on Fridays after the lessons are already done. We are lost on the kids assignments and have a hard time understanding the homework. I hear that families are homeschooling and the kids are excelling. It is not worth my son suffering emotionally for the rest of his life. We will be homeschooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

This is a terrible school..WAY too large as all elementary schools feed into this middle school. Classes are out of control and teachers complain they cannot handle everything and this is why they say they do not have time to give parents feedback. Bullying is a huge problem...especially for boys. My son has been picked on mentally and physically for over a year and the teacher and principal turn their heads. Read previous older reviews and you will see this has been going on for years. Unfortunately I cannot afford private school, but most of my friends can, and therefore have switched to private and are now happy.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2010

I've had one child go through this school and presently have one in the 6th grade. It has been a true blessing and answer to prayers to have my kids attend this school. The teachers and admin truly care and look out for the children. Both kids are 504 and the care and level of education that they receive from Mitchell is the highest of quality. The LC experience , though at first concerned me ended up being absolute genius. The teachers get to know the kids and the way they learn and "customize the experience with that individual child." I Cant say enough good things about the time spend at Mitchell and LC&6. My only regreat is this will be the last year I have a child there. J. Wideman
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

The school is wonderful with all of it's teachers. My student is in LC 2 and we love it there... Improved grades from last year, such nice teachers... They go above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

I have mixed feelings about this school. The G/T program is nothing more than assigning extra work for the child which is truly disappointing. Also, just like all the other schools in The Woodlands, teachers are pressured by admin. to teach to the TAKS. The goal is to obtain or retain an exemplary rating. This is nothing new and we all know it happens across the state. Furthermore, the school tries to keep parental involvement to a minimum unless one is part of the PTA which is somewhat perplexing......these children are in 5th/6th grade! On the other hand, the teachers, at least the ones we've had contact with, seem to be concerned with the child's academic progress and overall well being. The principal is outstanding and quick to address questions or concerns. The fine arts program is top notch. Bottom line: There is good and bad anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

The BULLIES are out of control! Mitchell's bullying prevention PowerPoint is a very ineffective way to stop the harassment. The administration needs to look beyond the PowerPoint and personally supervise the LC classroom exchanges and playground time. Unfortunately, these areas have become the breeding grounds for the bullies. Reducing bullying in our schools reflects an improved school environment that is friendly and welcoming to all students. In schools where children feel protected from bullying, they are free to spend their days learning, building friendships, and dreaming about all the possibilities for their lives, but not here at Mitchell. In contrast, we cannot say enough great things about Mitchell's hard-working counselors and teachers. They are quick to respond positively and are genuinely concerned about all issues related to our child. Our teachers keep us updated with daily assignment websites and send constant schedule and project e-mail reminders. Tip: 'Parents Get Involved!'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

The LCs do not keep up with the website postings for the kids homework and progress reports. They depend on this system, but yet do not maintain it. It is very frustrating and has made it very difficult for my wife and I to manage. We have made several complaints about this and we get the 'we do our best' and 'we try to teach kids to be responsible for their own schedule'. Its easy if you have an organized child - but if you need to help your child stay on top of things, the school sets you up for failure. In my opinion this one downfall ruins the reputation of this school. The teachers are very good other than that and overall we are happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

Mitchell is the worse school in the Woodlands. It is too large so they have broken the school up into learning communities (LC). Each LC has approximately 100 students. The four teachers focus on study habits the first two months of school with excessive planner checks, and complex multi-week projects. They do not remind the students it is due and expect Germanic like precision of 10 year olds in researching, planning, and composing the project. They expect this with no in school work on how to develop these skills. God help the househlods with two working parents and a non-academic background. Additionally, while they inflict this high standard on the students, they are virtually always behind in keeping up with the teacher assignment websites, and glacially slow in responding to questions when asked via email. Even when asked for a parent teacher conference, the teachers delayed two weeks. AVOID Mitchell. Homeschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

Teach the test seems to be their one goal here. Very focused on retaining an exemplary rating on their TAKS testing rather than creating a true learning environment. Kids are grouped into LCs (learning communities) of about 200 students each in an attempt to overcome the problems of a campus that is too big.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

So far, I am not impressed with my 5th grader's experience at Mitchell. My A/B child's grades are plummeting and the teacher's seem much more interested in cookie-cutter rules than in teaching. They do not update their own parent access websites and that makes it very hard for me to help my son be successful. The first semester seemed geared to forcing ten year olds to learn good study habits - something they didn't particularly need in elementary school. Teacher communication is a real struggle. I've waited two weeks for a response to my request for a conference. I want my child to be excited about learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

G/T is ignored. Our student has been tested and allowed to accelerate a year in math, but there is no communication with the parents regarding this - almost like they are embarrassed. All other course offerings for our g/t student are not tailored at all to a g/t student. Our g/t kids are taught using the same methods as any other student...just a little more advanced material. That just doesn't work. Teachers seem to focus on trying to engineer these kids socially and have removed almost all 'fun' from their day. 10 min recess is all the time they have to socialize freely. Teachers focus on red tape, not learning. Fine arts program is excellent and gives our student a reason to come to school - other than that they hate it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

I have had two children attend Mitchell Intermediate. It has been the same with both of them. The fine arts program is excellent, but that is all that is good about it. The teachers do not know how to teach gifted and talented children. They have no idea how to discipline bullies, and really make no attempt to. Their elementary school was really wonderful, Mitchell is really not a good place to be, and completely lacking in comparison.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

603 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

606 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

601 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

641 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

633 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education94%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African American89%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American89%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian97%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education88%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African American89%
Asian93%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education91%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

565 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

567 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

566 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

634 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

629 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African American91%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education73%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African American82%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education83%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male97%
Black or African American82%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education94%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male96%
Black or African American91%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education88%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 29%
Hispanic 16% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 2%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6800 Alden Bridge Drive
The Woodlands, TX 77382
Website: Click here
Phone: (832) 592-8500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Anthony of Padua School
The Woodlands, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT