Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mitchell Intermediate School 2

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
I am a public school teacher who has taught both middle and high school. I have also taught college English and Teacher Education courses. As a professional educator and a mother, I found Mitchell to be an unhealthy environment for students and parents. The administration and staff adhere to outdated and dangerous conceptions of childhood development and lack the pedagogical knowledge to adjust instructional design and implementation to the needs of the majority of the students. Instead of improving their own practice, they prefer to blame student character or ability. They are quite happy to imply that poor-parenting, not their own failed practices, are the cause of student distress. A review of the reviews on this cite shows that the problems are long-standing, structural and accepted. The administration is simply unwilling to consider that parents' perceptions about their children's academic and emotional well being have merit. The refrain is, "we are getting them ready for high school or college." Yet, neither my fellow high school or college instructors would support the kind of narrowed curriculum or controlling, manipulative instructional practices present in this school. Nevertheless, the fine arts program is outstanding and the school does adhere carefully to the laws and regulations regarding students with learning differences. If possible, avoid this school. If you must send your children here, be wary, engaged and get all communications with the school in writing...even if, as is common at Mitchell, you are simply documenting the school's failure to respond.

Mitchell Intermediate School 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
Mitchell Intermediate is a fantastic school. The overall acedemic standrds are high; teachers, staff and students work very hard to meet these expectations. Mitchell has an outstanding family- friendly environment. Parents feel welcomed and are encouraged to be a part of their child's education. Students, parents, and visitors feel appreciated; this is an important key to success for all schools.


Mitchell Intermediate School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
This school has amazing different ways of teaching children. They teach them how to be independent and do their own work so those parents that are saying they don't remind them to turn their projects need to grow up your kids need to learn how to be independent because you won't be there for them forever it's also a great introduction to McC

Mitchell Intermediate School 5

Posted March 25, 2014
- a community member
although I respect those opinions I have to strongly disagree. I was a previous student of Mitchell intermediate and I loved my LC (LC 8). In that LC I made many friends I still hold dear to my heart today. The work load at times was challenging there was no way I would have possibly been prepared for McCullough without going through what I did. With all do respect, stop babying your kids. You have to accept bullying is likely to happen in all schools and the teachers can't always be around to stop it. The woodlands is a highly poplulated area that's just going to keep growing to give the teachers a break they can't watch everyone at once. I was bullied briefly and I just had to learn to stand up for myself and it only made me stronger in the end. Sure some of the teachers aren't exemplary but the majority of them are. Of course you always have the option of homeschooling but homeschooling doesn't prepare your child for the real harsh realities of the world and the few homeschoolers I know are very sheltered and babied. They don't get the same kind of exposure I believe is essential to growing up. Yes, homeschoolers often finish school faster but they often cover the bare minimum.

Mitchell Intermediate School 3

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
My 5th grader tells me the following about his math teacher: she eats during class, talks with the food in her mouth, sends and receives text messages while teaching. I have sent this math teacher several emails asking for clarification on certain matters. In every email response from her there are a least 2 significant spelling errors. My son tells me she often criticizes her students. He finds it difficult to accept criticism from a teacher he does not respect.


Mitchell Intermediate School 1

Posted February 17, 2014
- a parent
Mitchell is by far the worst school to me that my kids have gone through. My 12 year old daughter has been getting bullied and of course no one has noticed. If you don't live in a home that's bigger than the next you are made fun of. Money money that's all the kids here seem to care about. If you don't have much of it sadly you won't be a "cool" kid. Just ridiculous!

Mitchell Intermediate School 1

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
Everything stated is true and is not slander of any sort. It sounds to me like this review comes from someone on the inside and if it is from a parent - you must have bullies at home! Probably the over sized red shirted ones that were held back for a sports and academic advantage. If we liked living in the dog eat dog world with people talking behind our backs, we certainly would not have chosen to live in The Woodlands. You are darn right that I am entitled to my opinion and my review was mild considering my horrible experience.

Mitchell Intermediate School 5

Posted June 22, 2013
- a parent
My three children, who have completely different learning styles excelled at Mitchell Intermediate. We were so impressed with he care shown by every staff member. anytime I had a question, I received an email or phone call immediately. I read every review on this site and find it sad that anyone can write whatever they want. That almost seems like slander. Yes, everyone has a right to their opinion. I am here to say that my children have been to elementary, intermediate, junior high and high school in The Woodlands, and hands down, their best experiences were at Mitchell. Mrs. Klapesky, as the school principal and visionary, has led an incredible staff of talented teachers. I appreciate what the school is doing to address disrespectful children. As we know, we deal with "mean people" our whole lives. Those playground bullies are now the same adults cutting your car off on the road or still gossiping about you in the neighborhood. We have to teach our children how to inform bullies that their behavior is inappropriate and that is doesn't bother them. That can only happen at home. It isn't the school's responsibility to shape behaviors. A BIG high five to Mitchell-an AWESOME school


Mitchell Intermediate School 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a community member
I think that the school is great and really go all the way to help the students

Mitchell Intermediate School 2

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
I have been very disappointed with this school - the teachers cannot teach - one quote, "this is math not logic so do it my way, not the way the book is telling you..." I have had to spend countless hours outside of school with my child teaching them the subject material in all four core subjects (I am doing the teachers' job). After numerous meetings, I find it is hopeless to get the attention of anyone that cares. The fine arts department is outstanding however, and is the one shining light in a dismal educational environment. The parent involvement is minimal as they prefer parents to stay uninvolved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mitchell Intermediate School
6800 Alden Bridge Drive, The Woodlands, TX  77382
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (832) 592-8500
Last modified Mitchell Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 5-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top