Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
1,202 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The John Cooper School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
The faculty is first rate, caring, and helpful. They are always accessible to the students. Most have advanced degrees. The student/teacher ratio provides personal attention at a level that is often not provided at very large public schools.

The John Cooper School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
Sometimes the amount seems staggering, but the students value the preparation for college that they are receiving. They tend to do very well in the many different colleges in this country and abroad where they are enrolled. They usually report that college classes are less difficult than their classes at Cooper were.


The John Cooper School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
The academic load is challenging and sound. The faculty know the students and go beyond expectations in order to offer any additional help that might be needed.. Cooper students are heavily involved in athletics, the fine arts, performing arts, and community service. There are amazing opportunities here.

The John Cooper School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
There is a zero tolerance for any bullying. Having never said that, in ten years I have seen very little of anything that could be called disrespectful in the attitudes of anyone involved with this school.

The John Cooper School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
Cooper students, faculty, and administrators are personally involved in each other's lives. Many of the students develop life-long friends from among their classmates.


The John Cooper School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
The student honor code and the quality of students who go to Cooper insure these valuable qualities.

The John Cooper School 5

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
My grand-daughter has had the privilege of attending this amazing, academically challenging school for ten years. I can't imagine a better experience or better environment. She is eager to get to school every day. The fine arts opportunities are second to none, and the performing arts are mind boggling. The Cooper Flying Dragons (aerialists) will astound you. I find nothing negative about this school. We feel that it is more important than even her choice of universities. She will have no problems in that department because of the outstanding preparation given to her by Cooper. It is worth every sacrificial penny! You could not make a more important investment in your child's education.

The John Cooper School 5

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
My son has been at Cooper since pre-K. He has had wonderful teachers each year. Teachers focus on the individual learner. Any discipline problems that we have seen are handled quickly and fairly. The school nurse is quite involved at the elementary level.


The John Cooper School 3

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Cooper is a good school if your child is already very academically talented , wants to be able to play sports but isn't good enough for one of the public school teams. While there are some good opportunities and good teachers, it isn't worth the very high tuition. Our oldest attended from K to 6th, was an A student and then went to McCullough. The academics at Cooper were not materially better, certainly not enough to justify the tuition. If your child is a bit rambunctious (as our youngest was) and not the top of the class or you aren't a wealthy donor to the school, this is an awful school. The lower school administrators looked for every tiny opportunity to punish our child and ultimately made our youngest feel like a complete failure, even though our child was a solid B student. It is very hard to believe how poorly the administrators treated a young child who was never mean but a bit mischievous and rambunctious. We pulled our child out and put our youngest in public school, which has been so much better. It took a year or two to overcome some of the social issues which were exacerbated by the Cooper environment. The academics in The Woodlands public schools are almost the same as Cooper. Therefore I suggest you save your money and avoid the overprotective parents of Cooper and the administrators who just seek to weed out students who aren't top of the class or children of wealthy donors! One mother called the school and was absolutely outraged that our child had told their child Santa wasn't real when directly asked and they actually sent our child to the office for this. Cooper was good to get our kids off to a good start in K and 1st but we are so glad to have our 40k a year back and our youngest out of that unhealthy environment.

The John Cooper School 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Our son has attended since Pre-K (entering 5th grade this fall). Standards of education are first class, with well qualified, highly engaged teachers and a stimulating curriculum. There is excellent provision for sport, liberal arts, music as well as core curriculum. The atmosphere in the school is supportive and nurturing. We are so pleased we made this choice for our child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The John Cooper School
One John Cooper Drive, The Woodlands, TX  77381
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (281) 367-0900
Last modified The John Cooper School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top