Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
The Woodlands, TX
Students enrolled: 993
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The John Cooper School 3

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Cooper is a good school if your child is already very academically talented , wants to be able to play sports but isn't good enough for one of the public school teams. While there are some good opportunities and good teachers, it isn't worth the very high tuition. Our oldest attended from K to 6th, was an A student and then went to McCullough. The academics at Cooper were not materially better, certainly not enough to justify the tuition. If your child is a bit rambunctious (as our youngest was) and not the top of the class or you aren't a wealthy donor to the school, this is an awful school. The lower school administrators looked for every tiny opportunity to punish our child and ultimately made our youngest feel like a complete failure, even though our child was a solid B student. It is very hard to believe how poorly the administrators treated a young child who was never mean but a bit mischievous and rambunctious. We pulled our child out and put our youngest in public school, which has been so much better. It took a year or two to overcome some of the social issues which were exacerbated by the Cooper environment. The academics in The Woodlands public schools are almost the same as Cooper. Therefore I suggest you save your money and avoid the overprotective parents of Cooper and the administrators who just seek to weed out students who aren't top of the class or children of wealthy donors! One mother called the school and was absolutely outraged that our child had told their child Santa wasn't real when directly asked and they actually sent our child to the office for this. Cooper was good to get our kids off to a good start in K and 1st but we are so glad to have our 40k a year back and our youngest out of that unhealthy environment.

The John Cooper School 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Our son has attended since Pre-K (entering 5th grade this fall). Standards of education are first class, with well qualified, highly engaged teachers and a stimulating curriculum. There is excellent provision for sport, liberal arts, music as well as core curriculum. The atmosphere in the school is supportive and nurturing. We are so pleased we made this choice for our child.


The John Cooper School 1

Posted April 30, 2015
- a community member
I interviewed for this school. Despite being told twice while I was at the school, "we'll definitely be in touch", I was never contacted. If you didn't want to hire me, fine. But at least have enough respect to follow through with communication. In the business world, not letting potential applicants hear back after an interview is just plain rude. #blessingindisguise

The John Cooper School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
The John Cooper School is EXCELLENT. Our daughter has been a student there since kindergarten and she absolutely loves the school and her teachers. The environment is warm and welcoming and the resources are second to none. If you live in The Woodlands metro, it is common knowledge that Cooper is the premier school in the area. My husband and I are both attended Ivy League colleges and feel confident that our daughter will be well prepared for to attend any top caliber college based upon her Cooper education.

The John Cooper School 1

Posted June 18, 2014
- a community member
This school is the worst. I recommend you look somewhere else. JCS has been the worst years of my life. The kids are horrible. Many of the teachers don't do their jobs. The spanish teachers are terrible! The school teaches the same education but makes everyone believe they're being taught higher. This makes the students then think they're superior. The tuiton is not worth it. The small amount of kids in each grade is annoying. There's a reason why no one would go to JCS. They don't win anything either. This school is overpriced and HORRIBLE... If you are moving to The Woodlands do NOT even consider this school.


The John Cooper School 1

Posted May 17, 2014
- a parent
They say admission is competitive on their website. During the admissions we were asked how much money we are willing to contribute to the school above and beyond already high tuition. No surprise the rich kids get accepted, if you are from average income family, the competition is in affluent folk's favor.

The John Cooper School 3

Posted March 02, 2014
- a parent
Like most schools, this one has great features and some not so great. For the tuition level, there shouldn't be so many not so great features. One of the recent hire teachers in the high school does not even know some of the material being taught (tells the students to go ask the other teacher if they have a question she can't answer!) The administrative staff treat you like you are wasting their time if you have a question. Definitely not a warm/fuzzy place.

The John Cooper School 1

Posted October 04, 2012
- a parent
Good basic education....but not as nurturing as need be....would think very carefully before sending my children again.....


The John Cooper School 1

Posted July 28, 2012
- a parent
FYI they will have this review removed, they removed my last review. Go anywhere else but here four terrible years.

The John Cooper School 1

Posted June 23, 2012
- a parent
overpriced, staff are rude and didnt think that matched up to qualifications. I expected more. My child doesnt want to go to school everyday,I want a loving nurturing environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The John Cooper School
1 John Cooper Drive, The Woodlands, TX  77381
(281) 367-0900
Last modified The John Cooper School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
The John Cooper School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top