Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mccullough J High School

Public | 7-8 | 2254 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2014

I am a current student at this school and it is a great athletic school. Teachers are quick to pick their favorite students. So if your child is an active participant in athletics this is a great school for them. Now i get to the arts. Really from my point of view the orchestra is overlooked while band and choir get all the praise. So if your child is an active participant in athletics or band this is a great school. But if your child isn't in any of these program or outgoing they will hate this school as most of the students in this school do.


Posted May 7, 2014

I have had two of my three kids go to McCullough Jr. High. I pulled the second one mid-way through her 8th grade year. Before attending this school both of my two older kids LOVED school and were in advanced classes. That all changed here. Others are not exaggerating when they say it is CROWDED. There are thousands of kids in this school. There are lots of issues with this school. I found out that several of the kids were cutting and self mutilating, vomiting and restricting calories to fit in. Try to bring this stuff up to the staff and they will nod in agreement at your parent meeting and then do nothing when you leave their office. The teachers spend more time yelling at the class than actually teaching in the level courses. Once when I went to pick up my kid for a dr. appt. they were about to perform a "lock-down" drill and the office staff threatened to lock me in the cafeteria until it was over! I called my kid on her cell phone and told her to RUN to the office, I pulled her the next day. My neighbor's kid is in athletics and their experience is completely different.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2014

I am currently a student at this school, and I am trying to find a way to convince my parents to NOT ALLOW me to go to this school. From a popular, rich, or athletic child's point of view, this school would be "AMAZE" because the teachers are, "SO NICE TO ME." Sure, from their point of view, this school is great, and if your child is a social butterfly, and currently has TONS of friends, yeah, allow your child to go here, they'll do great. If your child is NOT a social butterfly, and has few friends, and is awfully quiet, I would reconsider. I am one of those students, that lacks in social building skills, and is awfully quiet. The teachers are awfully selective over their favorite students, choosing the "outgoing" students as their favorite. I've found that we're the trouble makers, and that the teachers ignore every misdemeanor the social students make. And to put it bluntly thetestsscoresareonlygoodbecauseofthefeederschools,.


Posted June 26, 2013

I just finished my two years at McCullough and I am SO happy that its over. The teachers punish you for every little thing and give you so much homework its nearly impossible to finish in one night. I would have loved to be in a sport here but you have to be like a professional to make a team. And don't even get me started on the students. If your not rich and act like everyone else, your going to be looked down upon. The kids are so snobby and rude. The principal and staff only pay attention to the star athletes and A plus students. My 3 siblings have attended this school before and all transferred out before 8th grade. Unfortunately I didn't get that option. Overall, if your thinking about having your child attend this school, please reconsider. Unless he/she are any of the above.


Posted June 3, 2012

This is very large, upscale, white, suburban, overachieving junior high school. It is the largest of its kind in the State, with nearly 1,000 kids in each grade. Its families are the cream of the upscale crop of the Houston area. Principal Chris McCord is an extremely successful manager, although very old-fashioned in many ways. McCullough is run with a obsession on just 2 areas: academics and athletics. And in those 2 areas, McCullough is on its way to breaking every record in the book. Their test scores are consistently excellent, especially amazing for a school its size. And the school is a best-in-state athletic powerhouse in every sport, and could easily compete with most high schools if given the chance. And that's about it for life at McCullough. Things like arts, poetry, environmentalism, cultural expressions, social service, technology, and other "progressive" agendas aren't really on the radar much. At McCullough, it's a tight ship - the bells run on time, the doors are locked, the kids are safe, and everybody gets their shot at the test scores and the starting lineups. Students who aren't jocks or brains will need to look around a little more to find a niche.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

This school is amazing! as a kid that moved all the time before moving into the woodlands i can say that McC IS THE BEST! kids are nice and teachers are outstanding! all sports teams are amazing(we always win!;) Learning is great all new technology in EVERY classroom!!!!!!:D i am so sad to say that i have to move again after 2 years at mcC and cant seem to find a school near as good to me now that i have gone here! if you are going to go to this school you should be ready for an amazing time overall! go highlanders!:D


Posted May 11, 2012

This is an overall excellent school. They use an older style approach--hard core studying, testing, and homework. Do your best of fail---no spoon feeding or pampering at this place. It's a breath of fresh air in my opinion. My daughter has experienced a challenging and somewhat competitive environment, and we have worked with her to acheive her best in academics and extracurricular. Some parents will complain on this site, because this type of strategy will be intimidating. If you are looking for a school to baby your kid and just process him/her through the system with little to no worries or if your kid is lazy and you lack the will to discipline, then I suggest a different school....look into a local charter or private school.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

I just moved here and making friends was so hard not everyone was nice to me and I barely have friends still!! I do not like it yes they have smart students but we get a lot of hone work and I am not just saying that because I do not like it I am up until 12 o'clock doing my home work even with some help I do not like it my friend cried because of it and so have I and I'm way more than half the year and I still do. Kids here are not nice to me I feel like an outcast


Posted April 8, 2011

The teachers and staff are great at their jobs. Tthe school has a lot of choices for extracurricular activites and wonderful coaches over these programs. The teachers prepare the students academically for higher education in a way that is enjoyable for the students. The school's atmosphere is friendly and safe even though the school building is very large. Mr. McCord, the principal, does a great job of interacting with the students and making sure things run smoothly in the classrooms, hallways, and outside the building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

This is our second year at McC and we are VERY pleased! The administration is out in the hallways at every class change and during drop off and pick up. It is a large school; however, it is ran very well and trully prepares each child for highschool. There are many activities for students to be involved in including amazing fine arts. The only draw back is the stiff competion, but that is the way the entire area is and life for that matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

Most of the reviews of McCullough on here don't give you the whole truth. Yes, the school is crowded. But what would you expect of a school in such a big town? And yes, we are focused on sports (especially footbally), but this is TEXAS for crying out loud! All schools here are! For the most part, this school is AMAZING!!! The classes are all very good and the teachers are passionate about their subjects. There are a wide varity of classes on many different levels. Even with so many people, it is not difficult to excel. You can at least pass if you DO YOUR HOMEWORK!! People always complain that they're failing, but none of them do the work! The principals are a bit tough, but aren't out to get you; they want to help. Most people who go here tend to love it! GO HIGHLANDERS!!


Posted August 21, 2010

Mccullough is the most organized and most efficient at teaching i have ever attended. They give you a whole SEVEN minuites to get to class, which is MORE than enough time to use the restroom and visit your locker if your pace is faster then that of a snail and you use time wisely. The advanced classes are excellent, the teachers are very firm, but i cannot advise on the 'level' classes, for I have never been in one. They have a great before school tutoring program, and I have attended it multiple times, all with very good results. If you study hard, pay attention, and use time wisely, you will most definitely succeed in this wonderful learning environment!


Posted June 10, 2010

This school is so large that the students walk shoulder-to-shoulder between classes, and are expected to cross the school in minutes (a former high school, huge campus). There is not enough time given to use the restroom and go to lockers and the next class, and kids are not permitted to use the restroom during class. The entire focus of the staff is on managing behavior, so even the slightest mistake (forgetting your pencil or perhaps leaving homework in your locker) is deemed under the wide umbrella of "disruptive," and calls for detention. Everything the kids do, short of remaining silent, is punished. The school is full of teachers hired merely to whip the kids in line (shouting, and sending to principal). At orientation, the principal said not to consider sports there unless your kid was already in that sport for years. They marginalize the students. Daily. Very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

My grandchild went to school here. Read between the lines of the other reviews: This school will be glad to work with the child who is already excelling and needs nothing; but at some point any child may need extra consideration or help, not just special needs children, and this school will not give it. Note that the other reviews confirm this. They may promise minimal accommodations after years of begging, but they will not even follow through or follow the law on those. They are just moving students through and taking credit for the ones who test well.


Posted April 29, 2010

McCullough is one of the most organized schools I have ever seen. The academics are wonderful both challenging and rewarding. Not too much homework, there is plenty of time for outside activities. I do wish there was more in the way of sports there are so many football teams, It would be nice to see Tennis or a Track team be part of the schedule year round not just in the spring. Overall we could not have asked for a better education and the principal truly cares about his school and his students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

We are moving to the area and recently had a tour of McCullough. An 8th grade boy who volunteers to work in the main office was there when we walked in and he was asked to give us a tour. The school building was clean and well laid out and seemed well organized with a large library, and lots of computer facilities, and science labs. I was impressed with the wide range of classes offered. Mostly, I was impressed with our tour guide! He was articulate, polite, intelligent, and very poised. If he's an accurate representation of the kids at McCullough then the school is doing an excellent job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

This school was not very friendly or welcoming to my child when we moved here from another country. Making friends has proved difficult as they are not allowed to talk in class and she was not introduced to anyone in her classes; just given a seat. A huge focus is place on sports and there is loads of homework. It s a very stressful environment and their main goal are to have the children pass the TAKS testing. My child has been in numerous school systems in many different countries and I am not at all impressed with this school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2009

I've had two students at McC and both have always found time to complete most of their homework at school or on the ride home. Our current student took all preAP core classes last year and even he had time to do the majority of his homework at school Sure, there were outside projects in each of those classes which took up larger amounts of time outside of class, but the other homework didn't seem excessive at all. He still fit it in his schedule even with his sport and orchestra.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

i am a student at Mcc and it is 'school' with homework and all which is not cool. however i was new to the state and made a ton of new friends. academics are crazy good! Football and basketball programs are some of the best in houston
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2009

I am a student at mccullough. I am also new to the state. I made new friends right away. It was great. The teachers are amazing. I am part of the choir there. The groups are great.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

984 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

977 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

978 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

988 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

982 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

976 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

969 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American97%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
White98%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education88%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
White98%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education80%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
White98%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education76%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American96%
Asian99%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education86%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male99%
Black or African American91%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education92%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African American91%
Asian90%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education68%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)87%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

1102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

588 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

1104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

1101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

1135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

1098 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

1098 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female95%
Male92%
Black or African American90%
Asian94%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education71%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students95%
Female96%
Male93%
Black or African American100%
Asian95%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education88%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)91%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students92%
Female96%
Male87%
Black or African American81%
Asian95%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education45%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African American93%
Asian93%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education86%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)77%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American88%
Asian98%
Hispanic97%
Multiracial96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education87%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students92%
Female90%
Male94%
Black or African American83%
Asian95%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education61%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)69%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black or African American83%
Asian95%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education75%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 29%
Hispanic 21% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 4%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • CHRIS MCCORD
Fax number
  • (832) 592-5116

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3800 South Panther Creek Drive
The Woodlands, TX 77381
Website: Click here
Phone: (832) 592-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Cunae International School
The Woodlands, TX



Collins Intermediate School
The Woodlands, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT