Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Woodlands Preparatory School

Private | K-12 | 210 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tomball

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $136,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2014

This school is wonderful! Highly recommend it. The teachers in this school are the best. They had the best communication with students and the front office is so kind. The programs they held are amazing and the small classes make every student learn more and make friends more easily. My daughter was so happy and will always remember the Woodlands Preparatory School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2014

New owners and administration leave much to be desired. Many staff either quit over the summer or were fired. New headmistress has minimal background in education. Our child's teacher last year was more of a babysitter - I had to have my child tutored this summer to bring him up to grade level so he could enter another school not at a disadvantage. New owners seem more focused on "flash" and "image" rather than content. A brick wall and guard gate at the entrance? How pretentious... They seem to have little grasp of the realities of building new infrastructure either - where 's the brand new building that was supposed to have been completed by now? Mowed down the forest last year and then... Nothing. Yet another broken promise from this school. Try the public schools in The Woodlands and Tomball - much more opportunity and diversity than here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2014

I love this school, the new owners however... Not as much, they have completely "revamped" the system by giving the children laptops, but my child tells me some kids just play on those macs in class and hit Command+H whenever a teacher comes around, however the academics are spot on and the athletics are fun for the children. If your child is a social kid this school is great, if your kid is shy and hard to open up... not so much. My children who are social butterflies love this school, so will take their word for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2014

The culture of education and community that once existed when this was a not-for-profit educational institution has been lost with this year's purchase and privatization. A good diversity of international students still provides a unique environment for some, but better options now exist in the area including those within the Tomball and Montgomery public school system. New buildings, new gates, and a new owner have done nothing to improve education - and a differentiated education is the only justification for the cost. Becoming for-profit shouldn't have meant losing sight of the shareholders and customers - the parents - and their input and interests. Ask other parents before making a decision for your own children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2014

There are other schools in the area that offer more for your child(ren). Do your research and ask people in the area what they've heard!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

My kids LOVE this school, and are excited and proud to go to WPS. I have a 5th and 6th grader. They are challenged, but not over their heads. The teachers make learning fun, and seem to enjoy educating our children. I am shocked when my kids get in the car, and talk so positively about what they learned or experiences they had each day. We were at a public school the past 2 years in CCISD, and my kids never had this kind attention in education. They also provide help after school if needed, and it is looked upon by other students in a positive not a negative. We have not used this yet, but it is nice to know it is available. There is homework, but it is not busy work, they actually apply what they are learning. It has not been too overwhelming. My kids both play sports and are able to complete homework, and have some free time. The teachers and staff at this school are so amazing!! I can't say enough positive things about each one of the teachers. The biggest change is from my son, who is wanting to learn and apply himself. As well, grades do not correlate with financial donations. My kids are excelling and we have not given any extra money to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

Excellent school. Let me explain you something that could be very useful, specially if you are an expa family. This is a small school with an excellent education specially if your son/daughter is in PAP classes from 5th grade which is for smarter students. It was hard at the beginning because they have too much work, but then they learn to manage their time wisely. We have been in this school for 5 years and we love it. You have all the necessary support for any concern you could have regarding teachers, students or anything else. During these 5 years they have been improving in education, if for any reason you don't like a teacher, you can talk about it and they do whatever they can to help, from searching the best teachers each school year. The main purpose of this school is clearly to offer the best educational program. We like the environment and I aasure you that the education is much better than other American International schools of different countries like Italy, Peru, England, Venezuela, Colombia, Egypt. etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

Excellent school and teachers. The front office staff is wonderful. Great academic program. 299 students and 45 teachers, so great ratio! One of the best private schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2012

Not the best. Nice area and extra curricular Programs but the general education is a little dumbed down for my daughter. Sorry to say she will be going to a more challenging school next year with a better overall more balanced curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

I was not pleased with the teachers. Most of the teachers show high levels of favoritism. The staff, on the other hand, is great, very nice people. If you are rich and are willing to be a favorite this is your school. Most people will receive bad grades on projects/tests if they do not make big donations to the school, they are not rich, or they are not a favorite!!


Posted December 14, 2010

We are an expat family who came to Woodlands Prep six years ago. We have been so pleased with the level of education, extracurricular activities, student-teacher ratio, and quality of teachers. This is a world class school with a focus on academic excellence. At the same time, the social opportunities and the sports and arts options have also provided for a very rounded educational experience. My children love school and have benefitted greatly from the small class sizes, the rigorous academic program, the gifted and caring teachers and all the extras provided by WPS. We would highly recommend this exceptional school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Excellent school.Great academic program and teachers, great soccer fields, tennis courts and gym! We are an Expat Family, the school made us feel very welcome when we arrived. For my son the move from a big American school in Europe to a small private school in the Woodlands was a huge change, but he loves it. Thank you Woodlands Prep!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

Excellent Arts Program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

Great school, lots of communication and parent involvement, great electives begining at the elem. level.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 31%
Hispanic 17% 51%
Black 4% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ASCD
  • ERB
  • SACS
  • TANS
  • TIBS
Fax number
  • (281) 516-1155

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27440 Kuykendahl Road
Tomball, TX 77375
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 516-0600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT