Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Tomball, TX
Students enrolled: 450
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Woodlands Preparatory School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter's kindergarten teacher and first grade teachers were both world class. Effective educators and caring role models. We have lived in a number of countries and would rate the WPS teachers we have met among the top 5% we have observed for lower school (cannot comment on upper school).

The Woodlands Preparatory School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter is in the lower school and regularly brings school work home (daily). The assignments are not lengthy or tedious; rather, they are designed for students to make connections between school and home and provide a vehicle for parents to more deeply engage in their child's education. Just right.


The Woodlands Preparatory School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
WPS provides an excellent balance of IB program structure while encouraging creativity, initiative and independent thought. Students are respectful, curious, and intelligent.

The Woodlands Preparatory School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
WPS has caring teachers and staff supported by an enriching IB program. The small class sizes and high quality teachers make for a close-knit experience for students and parents alike.

The Woodlands Preparatory School 5

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
After a somewhat rocky transition in ownership, Woodlands Prep is back on it's feet and looking great. The new administration have made some recent changes and brought in some fabulous new staff. We've been very impressed by the new Lower School Principal and our daughter's first grade teacher in particular. Very happy we stayed the course and impressed with the changes in the school!


The Woodlands Preparatory School 1

Posted August 17, 2015
- a teacher
As a previous teacher at this school, I can tell you that the lack of support from the administration was astounding. The owner had no experience in academic settings and made incredibly poor choices when allocating resources. He was more interested in the appearance of the students, teachers, and buildings than in what was being taught. We were told that he only wanted to see students working quietly on their computers when he came to our classrooms. If that is your idea of a successful classroom, you are greatly mistaken. Students should be talking and collaborating in order to learn. Teachers were never allowed to attend workshops out of the IB system and no money was spent on classroom supplies. Fancy interactive whiteboards were placed in each classroom while teachers were told to spend their own money on glue sticks and construction paper. No wonder there are only 7 teachers returning this year. This school is a joke!

The Woodlands Preparatory School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
There was a time when the teachers were very effective because there was a school built for students. Now, most of those teachers are gone and so are most of those students. Now, it is a vehicle for ownership hubris.

The Woodlands Preparatory School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
The students seem to have time for extracurricular activities, so the homework does not appear to be out of line.


The Woodlands Preparatory School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
These qualities are seriously undermined by the ownership and admin. Owners have their own agenda so possessing these qualities only means that you have the persistence, grit and determination to leave or celebrate that you were asked to leave.

The Woodlands Preparatory School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
The ownership and admin do not demonstrate respect for teachers, parents, or students. How can a student develop respect when teachers and parents are not respected by the ownership?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Woodlands Preparatory School
27440 Kuykendahl Road, Tomball, TX  77375
(281) 516-0600
Last modified The Woodlands Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
The Woodlands Preparatory School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 98 reviews. Top