Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Tomball, TX
Students enrolled: 450
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 45 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

40 reviews of this school


The Woodlands Preparatory School 1

Posted May 13, 2015
- a student
Most of my friends are leaving this school this year as their parents can not take it any more.I once loved this school ,the teachers and all that went with an IB environment.We no longer,have that great school.We do virtually no work,I have had no homework in months.The teachers who are left are only concerned about finding another job.the friends I have in public school are doing far more than us.Never mind IB ,we are doing nothingMy parents are putting us in the public system even though we have only ever done IB as expats.Better doing that than no work at all ,but saying its IB.

The Woodlands Preparatory School 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
Ok, so the school has gone through massive changes. But, with great change comes... Great change. Some new wonderful people are being hired and the renovations being made are state of the art. The new owner is set to take a back seat & starting to let his staff take over. Things are looking up!


The Woodlands Preparatory School 1

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
If you care about your child's quality of education and well-being, do not enroll them at WPS. Negative environment for students and teachers since new ownership took over a year ago. Teachers and administrators are leaving or being fired in droves mid-year, promises are mostly unfulfilled, outrageous tuition hikes for next year, for-profit business model which does not focus on the quality of learning experience but instead on superficial things like the school's facade and uniforms, disregard for parents' input, are just some of the issues. We are also pulling our child from this school after four years, as are most other parents in our child's class. Do your due-diligence on owners as they call all the shots, see if you like what you see (or can't see).

The Woodlands Preparatory School 1

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
Como WPS-padre en una gran ciudad y el barrio que esperamos que todo sea grande. Pagamos mucho para que nuestros hijos vayan a la escuela prestigios en la esperanza de obtener una educaci n bien por encima de las normas. Todo se ve muy bien desde el exterior. S que se est n haciendo esfuerzos para avanzar en la escuela. Hace a os que el personal y la oficina de administraci n eran tan alegremente emocionados de trabajar con mis hijos. En los ltimos meses, la oficina de administraci n aparece bajo estr s y haber soportado tantos maestros que faltan, es abrumadora. Los profesores ven cansados y faltan las sonrisas sinceras. Yo siempre trato de felicitarlos porque quiero que sean felices. Yo no s qu problemas son verdaderos o no, pero lo que s s es que muestra en la cara de todos.

The Woodlands Preparatory School 1

Posted April 22, 2015
- a student
This is one of the worst schools I have ever been to. I have been to four different school and never have I experienced such a lack of organization. Teachers are getting fired left and right and us students are just slaking off because all our teachers are gone. The new teachers have to pick up where the other left off with just one week of school left. I also have to mention I have been here for two and a-half years and everything was perfect before they started changing things. As a student of this school I strongly recommend NOT going to this school. This should be a last resort option. Sincerely, Student


The Woodlands Preparatory School 1

Posted April 21, 2015
- a parent
"One, two, three...silence!" How many of us have experienced this brash and rude response from the WPS CEO lately? We have had our child at WPS for a few years and when new ownership showed up, we were very supportive of the changes and vision of the school...well, no more. We have also decided to pull our child out and not risk further declination of the education offered. Between the absurd contract for next year's enrollment and the significant hike in tuition without a hopeful return in our child's education, it's no wonder others are following suit. We are saddened by the way so many strong educators have left WPS and are doubtful things will get better without a sincere reevaluation of their philosophical views in running a proper school. We envisioned our child graduating from WPS and now we are excited that we have found a quality school that prioritized a strong educational foundation and a creative approach to learning over everything else. WPS has to learn that superficial renovations designed to mask the weakness in retaining and attracting strong educators is not what our families deserve and want. Wake up WPS!

The Woodlands Preparatory School 1

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
We are also leaving at the end of the year. What a mess this school is! They formed a committee of parents and staff and asked for their input on candidates interviewed for the head master position. Unbeknownst to all, he was already hired- and he was the only candidate that no one wanted. So now they an unqualified person for the CEO job. Staff morale is low and families are all looking elsewhere.

The Woodlands Preparatory School 1

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
Everybody is concerned about what has happened to the standard of education at woodlands prep, even the kids. We have to pull our children out, we can not risk another year of rotten education, resulting in pitiful Stanford scores. The owner offers no reassurance at all, just silence, it is quite insulting. The lack of concern is unbelievable.


The Woodlands Preparatory School 1

Posted April 18, 2015
- a parent
I would never have believed a school could change so much within a year. It has gone from being a great school to an awful school with the demise mainly because all the good teachers have left or have been shown the door . The new "establishment" seems to have strange ideas on how a school should be organized and what kids and parents expect from private education. The turnover of teachers is so great , one grade class has had 6 different teachers to date from August 14 . I wholeheartedly agree with other parents comments about the problems in the school although 1 star is generous. I have yet to meet a parent who can give any positiveu points about the school. I can therefore only assume the positive posts listed on the site are from one source . The school is pushing IB status education to entice International students but the system and education they provide is unlike any other IB school in the world . The standard is so incredibly low that students cannot possibly expect to maintain academic levels should they transfer to another IB school. My advice is stay away from this school even if you have no other IB choice .

The Woodlands Preparatory School 1

Posted April 17, 2015
- a parent
Like most families, we are pulling our child at the end of the year. Here is the scoop: sadly, the school has fallen under the control of the owner's inner circle of incompetent, anti-education advisers. Yet another headmaster and respected long-time employee resigned today. Earlier this month, the owner himself picked a fight with a respected long-time teacher in the hallway and the teacher, who responded calmly, was suspended and then fired. The HR department runs the show, antagonizes teachers and even deals with parent concerns directly, despite the fact they (by their own admission) have no experience in the field of education. The new "CEO" is another profit-based anti-education type who was hired after an interview panel of teachers, students and parents unanimously supported other candidates. I hope the owner realizes when his school loses most of its teachers and students that the real problems start at the top. He needs to hire experienced American educators and trust them or this school will cease to exist within two years. We're pulling our child, and almost all other families in the grade claim to be doing the same. Our advice: stay far, far, away.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Woodlands Preparatory School
27440 Kuykendahl Road, Tomball, TX  77375
(281) 516-0600
Last modified The Woodlands Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
The Woodlands Preparatory School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top