Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shekinah Radiance Academy Abundant Life

Charter | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2012

Discipline unevenly enforced. Person in charge changes daily. #1 Rule is "Don't complain." Few good teachers but they are too afraid of loosing their jobs to risk complaining or trying to change things. Few parents enroll if there is another alternative but local school district is worse so it is the lesser of the evils of public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

Shekinah Radiance Abundant Life Campus in LaMarque has moved to a new school located in TOMBALL at 612 Malone St. . A new tuition free open enrollment charter school serves students in grades K-6 and is committed to providing academic excellence through high quality standards-based curriculum. Emphasis is placed upon teaching students skills to help them develop healthy life choices thereby creating a positive social environment that fosters a sense of deep respect for themselves, each other and the community. Submitted by a teacher
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 23, 2011

We are very excited that a new charter school, Premier Learning Academy, will be moving into the campus that previously housed the Shekinah charter schools. Premier Learning Academy (PLA), a new tuition free open enrollment charter school serves students in grades K-12 and is committed to providing academic excellence through high quality standards-based curriculum. Emphasis is placed upon teaching students skills to help them develop healthy life choices thereby creating a positive social environment that fosters a sense of deep respect for themselves, each other and the community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 29, 2011

For the record the school is run by a group out of San Antonio not by Abundant Life Church. The church has no input on the daily operations and part of the reason things are changing. I understand the new school has top rated Teachers and Adminastration hired and will operate completly different than Shekinah Radiance. I think the community will have a school to be very proud of once everything is put in place.


Posted May 16, 2011

I always thought it to be the right thing to do when a student hears that another student is making threats against the school to report it. According to the administration there it's "only gossip" unless it's heard directly from the one making the threats. And the children who report these things shouldn't be going home and telling their parents there were terroristic threats because "how would they like it if someone were saying something like that about them." The teachers are afraid of the kids and don't enforce any kind of discipline or control. The academics are a joke. The few good teachers they have don't stay because they aren't taken seriously and aren't allowed to do their jobs properly. I hope and pray things turn around next year when the church takes it over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

My child's class is way too big. There is 27 kids in there. That is alot more than her friends who are in the same grade in Dickinson. Also her teacher has changed again, this is her third one. And the pricipal and vice principal has changed again...It doesn't surprise me that there is alot of behavior problems there. I regret my decision to switch my daughter from Mainland Prep. The education, stability and discipline is much better there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

I was horrified at the parent meeting last night. Every question we asked was avoided, danced around, or lied about. There are two teachers in every class? LIE. There are enough books for every student? LIE The fire escape doors haven't been broken for three months? LIE. The AC wasn't broken all last year so kids sat sweltering in 100 degree heat? LIE . You people should be ashamed to call yourselves Christians
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

This is just another example of low income children being used to make more $$$ for rich folk. The state gives this school tons of money but none of that money goes towards teachers (they fired half of elementary), supplies, or fixing the building (none of the doors work) but the so called christians next door seem to be rolling in gold. Well you may be getting away with it but God is still watching you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

I give up on the school formally notifying me that my child's kindergarten teacher is gone and why. I know why from other parents, its because they lied to us about small classes to get us enrolled and then cut half of all the teachers to half days to save money and crowded all the kids into one room thinking we wouldnt notice......Since my son really likes Mrs. hawkins and is already reading some I know he will be fine this year but after that we're leaving and so are many others
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2010

Well it seems we have no choice but to withdraw my kids- my 3rd grader is not gonna be in no room with 30 kids half of who are 4th graders! You can t teach 3rd AND 4th together! That don t make sense at all. And my 2nd grader love her teacher, and is now getting moved to another class with 26-27 kids? I dont believe for one second that they dont got enough money I think the truth is the church is taking back over next year (praise God) so Shekinah wants to save every penny at the expence of our kids education. Shame on yall owners! Teachers your in our prayers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2010

Apparently that school doesn t understand how fast word spreads through our community. A child on my son s football team told me she wanted to move her son to a different charter school because the one he s at gives ridiculous amounts of homework every night and I suggested Shekinah. Well she called me and asked had I seen this site. So I called and it is true. They are combining each K-2 class into one, and 3rd & 4th will be together. The school was going so great finally ,many teachers came back, they have a new principal who is doing excellent as far as I can tell, my kids are no longer complaining of fighting, bullying, cursing, stealing and such. So what is going on? I understand hard times, and lack of funding, but this seems very fishy Submitted by au
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

I would never recommend this school to anyone. There is no Library, no computer lab for elementary, the have doors broken that can be used mold growing in the ceilings and the food is cold. I was informed yesterday that teachers have been cut and there will be 20 -25 students in every class k-5. The appeal of a charter school is small class rooms for more 1 to 1 instruction so much for that! This place didn t tell me this was going to happen. The teacher had to tell this had already happen and the just found out. I have liked all of my children s teachers in the past and this year but I just can t look past all the faults of the school. I give 5 stars to the teachers and negative 5 stars to the school and the people who run the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

This is all so incredibly wrong. Children are not handbags. You don t put their education at risk to make a profit! Dr. Washington, and I highly doubt you are a doctor anymore than Dr. Dre is, although he has far more class, ethics, and integrity than you will ever have; you need to find something else to do because you shouldn t have anything to do with educating children. There are always jobs for greedy business people, why don't you partner with Kenneth Lay? You seem to have much in common with him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

Well I've really seen some improvements this year, were getting progress reports every 3weeks!thats a big plus for me. I notice more communication with us from the teachers and my children aren't bombarded with homework that takes them all night. I think the staff is starting to communicate so things are running alot smoother...can't say to much about the food though my children complain everyday it's aaaaaaaallllways cold!So all in all I'd say keep up the good work we might just stay another year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

This is our first year in this school and so far we have seen improvement in our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

I feel since Kay Lair set in as principal the school has turned around a great deal. As a teacher, I feel bless to work with a great staff and students. Work is a pleasant place to be at vs last year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 17, 2009

Hello.. I really though maybe I was doing a good thng by enrolling my son in that school. I know that most school have negative vs. positive however this beat the odds. I have only 2 things to say, my son will not return and will never recommend that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

Communication seems unimportant at this school. I am constantly calling and going to the school because no one is letting me know about upcoming events,school programs or other activities. When I request a teacher conference, it takes several days for a response. If my child is doing poorly in class no one seems to think it's a problem. I get no calls or graded papers. If I didn't stay on top of things there would be no way of knowing what my child was doing in school. That is scarey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

I totally agree with this person. I also have to say Mr. Walker stepped into a big mess and I really think he is doing a fine job getting it back to being a real school. My prayers go out to you. Also I think Mr. Wheatherspoon is doing a wounderful job getting these children back on track. My heart goes out to you both.I really wish some of these parents would open their eyes and quit putting these children on a peddestal and get a little more involved and really find out what they are like when your not there. Some of you parents would be surprized at what your little angels do behind your backs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

I fully believe in the vision for a school of excellance for the children. My children have been in this school since the beginning of it as a charter school. I had to pull one out due to the lack of efficient teaching and will probably pull the other two out for the same reason. Don't get me wrong, there are some excellant teachers there and some that are not degreed or who want to teach as a career.... makes for a poor learning environment for the kids. My hat is off to the Principal for his efforts to increase the provision of this school, yet a long way to go though. If the parents will step up to the plate and help, it would make up a lot from the shortfall from lack of finances to provide a better learning environment for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

18 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

18 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

26 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

26 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
14%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

26 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

22 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

22 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

21 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

30 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

29 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female93%
Malen/a
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students94%
Female93%
Malen/a
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Female57%
Male33%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White33%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education48%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Non-migrant46%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students46%
Female43%
Male50%
Black or African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Special educationn/a
Not special education44%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English42%
Non-migrant46%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students58%
Female64%
Male50%
Black or African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Non-migrant58%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Female64%
Male36%
Black or African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education50%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English48%
Non-migrant50%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students36%
Female36%
Male36%
Black or African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education36%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Non-migrant36%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students24%
Female18%
Male30%
Black or African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education24%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English20%
Non-migrant24%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Female71%
Male56%
Black or African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special educationn/a
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Non-migrant63%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students62%
Female69%
Male56%
Black or African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special educationn/a
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Non-migrant62%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

7 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

7 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education57%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students29%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged0%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education29%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted29%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 13%
Hispanic 27% 50%
White 20% 31%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Francisco Longoria
Fax number
  • (281) 516-2813

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

612 Malone St
Tomball, TX 77375
Phone: (281) 516-0993

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Great Oak School
Tomball, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT