Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Step By Step Christian School

Private | K-7

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tomball

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $136,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2012

My kids went here and while I can agree that hours are good for working parents, my children have never been so belittled by such a group of narrow-minded "educators" as at this place. If you want your child sheltered and learning material so irrealivant to everyday life, send em here. It all begins at the top- the principal is extremely narrow-minded and when challenged by knowledgable parents, she proclaims the school is a "step by step" learning process. What it is- a facility which children have an extremely advanced, complicated and disorganized curriculum placed in front of them setting them up for failure, thus leading to undue stress on children and recommended "hold-backs" of kids not learning or achieving up their lofty standards. Best move, getting my kids out of this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

Step By Step has been a huge blessing for our family. You can tell the curriculum was planned to developmentally progress children from child-care through 8th grade. We like that it's a small school in a larger city and everyone is looking out for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

Overall this school has been a tremendous disappointment. It was interesting to see the negative 2007 review. It is exactly what I would write today of my experience at SBS over the last 5 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2010

Being a public school teacher, I knew my daughter would go to private school. Step by Step was the answer. The hours are great for working parents, and the staff is very loving. They combine a good balance of rigorous academics and fun! I researched the curriculum and when compared to public school, she was 1.5 years ahead! It is a small school, which means your child will get that one-on-one attention when they struggle. Although she is just in kindergarten now, I anticipate keeping her there through 8th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

SBS is the most woderful experience we could ever have! They are like a great big family that loves and cares for each other. The administration is very profesional and the teachers are very good and loving with the kids. The expectations are set high and they make sure the kids reach them. My kid have a blast at the same time he is learning. The classes are small so the teachers have more time to work one on one with the kids. Every single penny you pay to this school is worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

Step By Step is the best thing that ever happened to our family! The whole facility from the ground up is filled with love, care and concern for the well being of your child. It is the only place I have ever taken my 3 girls and as long as they need a school or daycare, Step by Step is where they will be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

Older school - facility is not shiny and new but the administration really cares and the teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

SBS came highly recommended, however, was very disappointing. The faculty, although they have been there for many years, can not think out of the box. They can not resolve problems or issues with students and parents. Their solution is to remove the child from the school! Wow! One would think that if your going to pay that much money for your child's education, they would have better solutions! The teachers belittle the children and degrade them. They also strip away your child's identity of who they are and what makes them who they are! I'm sorry I ever submitted my child to this type of environment!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 31%
Black 13% 13%
Hispanic 6% 51%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1119 South Cherry Street
Tomball, TX 77375
Phone: (281) 351-2888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Comquest Academy
Tomball, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT