Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Travis County, TX
Students enrolled: 886

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Del Valle Middle School 5

Posted June 03, 2013
- a community member
Fine And It Is a Very Good Learning Environment. I Have A lot of Friends and they help me with my school and i don't like the teachers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Del Valle Middle School 1

Posted March 17, 2012
- a parent
My granddaughter is borderline MR she was bullied and beat up on more than one occasion the school dismissed it. Her face was black and blue she was called retarded on campus and feared for her life. She is being taken out on Monday in addition she did not get the extra help in school work she needed I feel she was a bother for the school I would rate this school a big zero!!!!


Del Valle Middle School 3

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
This school is too strict as far as I am concern, my son got 2 day in school suspension for having his shirt un tuck...I think that they need to focus on teaching kids instead of looking who is tuck and who it not. I was never made aware that there was an issue until he was referred to the office. When I asked to speak to the teacher who had referred him I was told that she would call to schedule a conference call and it never happened.

Del Valle Middle School 2

Posted August 17, 2010
- a parent
When I attended school functions with daughter, we were both ignored the entire time. Also they were unresponsive to any type of communication on my part. My daughter was being bullied by other students and I repeatedly made phone calls about my concerns and was transferred and left many messages to which were never returned-I guess they had more important things to do. We have been a minority in other public schools before but at this one we were treated like unwanted minorities-so if you are white you may want to find another school system to take you!

Del Valle Middle School 3

Posted June 17, 2009
- a parent
This school performs average for me. Although I believe the rules are too strict and some of them unnecessary. Also, it is in need of parent involvement and more funding. Not to be racist or sexist, but in all my years of teaching in Austin and having two children enrolled in this school, whom constantly both complain and brag about it, I have noticed older Hispanic boys tend to get into the most trouble. So, I believe we should not concentrate on what could happen and making more rules, but on the childrens' well-being and establishing trust and safety with them. Of course, you cannot do this for everyone. But it would be intelligent to think more about the struggling and troublesome students and trying to help them, rather than think about the TAKS and such. Also, my daughter recommends more activities for the 8th graders, they get uninterested easily.


Del Valle Middle School 1

Posted April 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Del Valle Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 23, 2009
- a parent
I am not happy with Del Valle School District. I feel it is the worst district in the state of Texas. If you transfer your child from AISD or a low scoring school the district will label your child and treat them unfsirly.

Del Valle Middle School 4

Posted August 04, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Del Valle Middle School 1

Posted April 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Del Valle Middle School 3

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Del Valle Middle School
5500 Ross Road, Travis County, TX  78617
(512) 386-3400
Last modified Del Valle Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Del Valle Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top