Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop Tk Gorman Regional Catholic School

Private | 6-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tyler

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2012

This school is run by a principal who cares about each child in his school. Mr. Franz is like no other school principal I have ever worked with. He goes the extra mile to mingle with students and get to know them and will tell you that a student meeting is much more important than any business or school meeting he might have that day. He is there for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

I believe Bishop Gorman offers the best preparation for college in Texas. The awards, scholarships, and success of it's alumni speak volumes about the outstanding education received by Bishop Gorman students. Most important of all the Gorman community is a family shaped by values, character and involvement of parents, students and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

I like this school so much because this school keeps the students and give the dtudents a well education.


Posted September 7, 2009

As a father of several children, I high recommend Bishop TK Gorman over any private or public school in Tyler. I have made many mistakes in trying to find the right school environment and setting for our children. I finally got it right - according to my wife and happy kids. Gorman is the way to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2009

Extraordinary school that puts children first. We have been exceptionally pleased with Gorman, its teachers, its leadership, its commitment to strong academic and strong Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

Positive attitudes, eager learning environment, respectful atmosphere, positive students and staff. This is exactly where my children belong. Gorman provides a Christian atmosphere welcoming students of all faiths.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

I am so pleased that we sent our son to Bishop Gorman. All but one of his teachers were excellent, suportive, and helpful. The principal, Mr. Franz, is THE BEST administrator I have ever met. He is a master teacher and fine example of Christian scholarship, discipleship, charity, patience, and wisdom. His door is almost always open (I don't know how he does it) and he has reached out to troubled parents and students. He encourages teachers to be the best they can be, and leads them by example. My son is a better person having had Mr. Franz as teacher, coach, and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2008

An incredible school which is thoroughly under-appreciated by current students that soon realize its profound impact later in college and beyond. The faculty care about each student that passes through their classroom.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2007

Gormam's the best because they act like one big family and students get to have one on one time with teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2006

I graduated from Gorman in 2005. I have to say that I entered college extremely prepared for the work involved in this level of education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 16, 2005

Bishop T. K. Gorman provides a quality academic program in a Catholic environment. Parent involvement is particularly strong and it is easy for newcomers to join in. Extracurricular activities are plentiful and students have the opportunity to belong or get involved with a variety of activities if they choose. The Fine Arts & Academic Council supports the band, theater, and academic competitions. The Booster Club supports the varied athletic programs. Cross country, soccer, football, volleyball, basketball, baseball, cheerleading, track & field, & wrestling are available. This school has prepared my children well for college and provided opportunity for enrollment in some of the finest universities in the country. Virtually all of the graduates in this college prep program are accepted into college programs throughout Texas and the U.S. I have been very pleased overall with the education as well as the environment at Gorman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

Academic programs seem to be good. Theology and spiritual growth along with support for all students is wonderful.. parents could be more involved..This is a very special school, my daughter loves it..she has been here since sixth grade and is now in the ninth grade..she is active in arts, music and sports..she loves her teachers and the school seems to address any problems with students head on...however, with Bishop Gorman having such low enrolment, it makes it hard for those comming in to make friends and form a group they can enjoy outside activities with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

Bishop Gorman has a great group of teachers, students and parents. All work well, in spite of the principal, to make this a great place to learn. Mr. Franz is closed off and not willing to negotiate. He runs the school more as a dictator than an educator. Part of the reason we chose private school was to have more of a say in curriculum and policy and you will not get that with this principal. However, the students and teachers make up for his narrow views.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 31%
Hispanic 12% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Black 4% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (903) 561-2645

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Tyler
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1405 East Southeast Loop 323
Tyler, TX 75701
Website: Click here
Phone: (903) 561-2424

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT