Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Universal City, TX
Students enrolled: 458

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Olympia Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2014
- a parent
Olympia Elementary is an amazing school that I HIGHLY recommend!! I had both my kids attend from Pre-K through 3rd grade. We had to move out of state, and it was REALLY sad and hard to leave. Olympia feels like home! You walk in and everyone knows you. You are treated like family! The teachers and the staff are amazing with the students. Their programs and activities are great and it is an exceptional learning environment!! MISS the SO much!!

Olympia Elementary School 1

Posted June 08, 2014
- a parent
My daughter first year in this school. She was discriminated upon the first day. Teachers and staff at this school favor kids of white background If you are a multi race do not send your child here they WILL be treated different.


Olympia Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
my school is Olympia, teachers that care, my granddaughter had some problems and they took the time to work with her and give advice on the way she could focus and improve , specially I want to thank miss Saunders she is a teacher that cares.

Olympia Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
My children have attended Olympia for 4 years now and I can't even begin to say enough good things about it. The teachers and staff are wonderful and so caring. The kids run in the door giving hugs and high fives every morning with smiles on their faces. The teachers academically have been outstanding. The reviews regarding the unfair tardy punishment are ridiculous with the news only reporting half of the story as always. The parents refused to get their child to school on time after many warnings. The strict tardy policy we have is because of parents like this who think they are an exception to the rules. Oh and the punishment of the child sitting alone at lunch was approved by her parents. The student and parent could have stayed after school instead but then they couldn't have alerted the media about that. The child was joined by her family members so she wasn't alone and the table facing the wall is also where parents sit with their children to eat lunch, not nearly as horrible as they made it out to be. I think their child was more traumatized by the unnecessary news cameras. I would highly recommend Olympia, it is a great school!!

Olympia Elementary School 5

Posted May 24, 2013
- a community member
Excellent memories of an excellent school. I grew up in Olympia on the northeast side of San Antonio and have nothing but outstanding memories of my time at Olympia Elementary. I hope my future children are able to attend a school like Olympia. The only downside is the fact that Olympia feeds into Judson High School. I would have been much happier attending one of the magnet schools around San Antonio.


Olympia Elementary School 3

Posted April 19, 2013
- a community member
Punishing the child for the parents is like cutting teachers salaries for their students failing classes. Wait....the teachers are adults. they are responsible for the product they produce. So, why not reduce the teacher's salary by the amount of expense to the parents for the child having to repeat a grade? It's just as fair as what they are doing to the children. Sounds about right.

Olympia Elementary School 1

Posted April 18, 2013
- a community member
RE: Well you made the national news for the punishment you dished out to a six year old girl. Do you have any idea of how you have damaged this student? Your punishment is humiliation. I'm 52 and still fighting the bad memories of elementary school. Food should NEVER be use with punishment. I do hope that for the sake of all of the children you'll stop this kind mental punishment. Feel free to contact me.

Olympia Elementary School 4

Posted March 06, 2011
- a parent
My kids attended Olympia for over 2 years before we moved. We moved right when a new school opened which alleviated the overcrowding but was too late for us. No school, public or private, has 100% fantastic teachers; however, Olympia overall has a very good staff and I was generally happy with the teaching staff and the curriculum. They are understanding of the military as both Army and Air Force are close by. Parents should know there is an early start time ..7:30 and also a strict dress code. Music and Art occur about once every two weeks but is not "non-existent" as one parent noted. Non existent is what we have at our current school, which is no art teacher at all so count your blessings for the fabulous art teacher at Olympia and the big art show they have at the end of the year. We are on our third elementary school and have found that parent involvement is based on the teacher....some teachers want it, others do not and I respect that but there are many areas to be involved in the school if you accept you will not always be in the classroom which is what a lot of parents want. Overall we were happy with Olympia.


Olympia Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2010
- a parent
There are a lot of Great Teachers in Olympia! I have been so lucky with my daughter's education.There is a nice enviroment and lot of special events and parent involvement.

Olympia Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 15, 2008
- a parent
I have 1 child left at Olympia but 2 others have attended Olympia. This is a great school. Teachers are involved with the students. My 3 children have had nothing but great teachers. The TAG program in place this year is wonderful. The leadership of the school is finally right on track. As for parental involvement - I have been very active 5 years in the classroom and the library or wherever they need me, I have never been discourgaged to come up and help where needed but you as a parent must make the effort. My children have received a great education at Olympia.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Olympia Elementary School
8439 Athenian Drive, Universal City, TX  78148
(210) 945-5113
Last modified Olympia Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Olympia Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top