Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rose Garden Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 464 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2013

Awesome staff n administrators, very active beyond duty. Very comfortable school with lots of charm. I am very thankful for my kids to attend such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2012

Small class size, wonderful teachers, and a clean school. It's WAY better than the schools I went too lol
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2011

Just another school with a curriculum based entirely on the low standards set by "no child left behind." Looks like a trailer home from the outside. On the inside, a very mediocre curriculum geared towards getting children to pass the minimum standards. Because other schools in the district do not have so many children who need to have the entire curriculum geared to them, there is more leeway for acceleration. Very Strict environment which I suppose is necessary considering the kids with special behavioral needs and low academic ability funneled to the school. I home school rather than send my 2 kids here. They are an average of 2-3 years above grade level in every subject. My 11 year old is doing algebra, my 6 year old has the reading ability of a 4-5th grader. There was nothing for them at Rose Garden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

Schools are a lot like people in some respect. You can't judge a person's character or abilities by the clothes they wear or the neighborhood in which they live; but some people do. Yes Rose Garden has a high percentage of economically disadvantaged and at risk students. It is now the oldest school in the district, but there is a charm about it and it still feels like a neighborhood campus. A school is not just about the demographics of its student population or the surrounding real estate; it is about the caring people who see the potential to learn in all children. The teachers and staff at Rose Garden do a wonderful job of teaching those children. The fact that Rose Garden received an exemplary rating is proof all children can be academically successful if they are given the tools to learn by teachers who inspire their students to reach for the stars. I raised 2 sons through this district many years ago and Rose Garden was their elementary campus. My house won't make the Better Homes and Gardens magazine and I don't wear designer clothes. But my husband and I instilled in our children the importance of education and to never judge people by their economic standing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2010

In these times all school are geared to teach and pass the TAKS test, but these guys make it some how fun. I have had 4 children go through this school and all have approved of it to include The Wife!!. My spouse has asked to be involved in our kids classroom and has been invited to come back several times. Some parents today want the school not only to do the teaching but also the parenting of their children. I find it that the more that you seek to be involved with the school the more of a greater and happier experience you will have here. Sincerely, A Dad
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

I went for a month and cried every day. strict and boring. kids were not very smart, my mom said it is a feeder school for kids with problems. soooooo glad I left.


Posted December 17, 2009

I have 3 boys who are attending, or have attended this school, and I have one more boy that soon will be attending this school. We love Rose Garden Elementary, now rated exemplary by the state. The teachers are excellent, the principal and support staff are outstanding, and they all take the time to know our children names, and their siblings names. I am not sure why the other posts said that parent involvement is not encouraged, because I am very involved and volunteer all the time. There are also a lot of other parents who volunteer as well. My boys not only have teachers, they have lifelong mentors who take in interest in them after they leave. I would not want my boys to go to any other school, because they receive the best education right now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

Curriculum is geared to the minimum knowledge needed for the TAKS. Kids in 1st greade were learning numbers 1-10 for 2 months! Talking was discourgaged at lunchtime, and the environment seemed very strict. My son was very bored yet made to do a lot of repetitive homework which was tedious because he knew the concepts. Parental involvemet is discouraged, i asked at least 3 times to be involved in the PTO and never received calls back, and then heard that the officers had been elected. I would not recommend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

Horrible! horrible! horrible! The admin. staff do not truly care about the children just recieveing money from the state! This school did not teach my children anything that i already did not teach them at home! do not send them to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

This is an excellent scholl with excellent staff. Most teachers in all different grade levels know my children's names. I have a child in Kinder & 3rd and have nothing but highest regard for the staff & principal of this school. The comments in the previous post regarding the TAKS test has nothing to to with this school. That is a state mandated test and requires the school to prep the students. Also, the gifted program has nothing to do with, if your child can regurgitate facts and count. That aside, I appreciate all the care and effort extended to my children by the more than capable staff. I wouldn't want them to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

Horrible! TAKS is paramount, nothing but teaching to the test. My 1st grader was overwhelmed by tedious homework. He could read when he was 3, count to 100 by 2 3/4, at 5 could identify every state of the US without labels, knows all the flags, on and on, yet didn't qualify for their meagre gifted program. The sad thing is that it is a 'recognized' school! No parental involvement they say they want it because they have to, it is the law, but they really don't. Good luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I don't have a great deal of experience with this school being that my child is only in kindergarten but what I have experienced with it to this point I think has been wonderful. The teachers (at least on the kinder level) seem to put great effort into teaching the children. The extra activites are just enough, if not more, than what is necessary to maintain a healthy balance for children at school. Also, the level of parent involvement (again at least on kinder level) seems to be pretty good. What's best of all, in my opinion, is that the current principal is amazing. She just seems to put great pride into each and every one of her students. She shows tremendous care and involvment in everything, which to me is an awesome plus. She is also incredibly kind. What more could you want!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

57 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

57 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

58 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

58 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

58 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female94%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education80%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students88%
Female86%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education80%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female96%
Male89%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students93%
Female91%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Female91%
Male76%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education82%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students61%
Female56%
Male64%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Special education50%
Not special education63%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant62%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Female76%
Male79%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education40%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students68%
Female62%
Male75%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education60%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students80%
Female76%
Male84%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 49% 52%
White 36% 29%
Black 9% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • SHERRI SCHLATHER
Fax number
  • (210) 619-4369

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

506 N Blvd
Universal City, TX 78148
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 619-4350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Dreamland Christian Academy
Universal City, TX


Randolph Elementary School
Universal City, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT